You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Blame it on the eye …

I had eye surgery last Friday. I only had one eye done so it hasn’t been very bad … just somewhat blurry. I’ve been feeling really tired and kind-of nauseous this week and I think it’s probably a result of  the blurriness. It has also had an impact on my teaching.

My students have finished their textbook for this year. They have to take an end of book test before they can move on to the next book. They all failed almost all of the end of book tests. So, what I decided to do is review for a section … retake the test … review for a section … retake the test and so on. So my purpose of reviewing is to ensure that they will pass the test.

Do you think it helps them if I keep answering the question wrong? Today we had this question:

The  _____________ of the fish are big.

(a) gill

(b) gills

(c) gill’s

(d) gills’

The first time I told them it was (c). As I explained it one boy said it should be (d). I reread it and humbly corrected myself. As we reread it I realized the answer was actually supposed to be (b). But by then I was too embarrassed to change my answer again. I decided to count anything right on that one since I had confused them so much.

Can I blame that on the eye surgery?

Comments on: "Blame it on the eye …" (1)

  1. Oh, dear.

    You can always blame the bad spelling on Facebook for addling your brain. That’s what I do.

    GOOD IDEA … I KEEP A LIST OF PEOPLE OR THINGS TO BLAME MY IDIOCY ON … I’LL PUT FACEBOOK RIGHT AT THE TOP.

Leave a Reply

