You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

I find myself asking this question way too often. How important is it really? I mean they made us learn cursive and now it seems half the people on the planet can’t write in cursive and can’t read what someone else writes in cursive. 

Today the question revolved around “indenting”. How in the world do you explain this to students? I think I spent more time trying to explain indenting than I did explaining the whole assignment. I asked several times, “Are there any questions? Does everyone understand?” Heads nod up and down.

Minutes after they are working independently I begin to wander the aisles. There isn’t much indenting going on. I try again. This time I show them books. I show them paragraphs. I draw arrows on the board. “Are there any questions? Does everyone understand?”

By the time the papers were turned in,  more students failed to indent than students that indented.  In one class I got so frustrated I didn’t know what else to say. My assistant said, “Guys she’s said it over and over … listen.” I had explained it every way I knew how.

They say you’re not teaching if no one learns. I’m changing the name of my profession to “Mere Talker”. I’ve not taught them anything yet.

I did freak them out a little when I threw the marker. Luckily I didn’t throw it at anyone … I just lightly tossed it into the air in frustration. It was that or strangling someone. The marker seemed like the better choice.

Comments on: "I give up … how important can it be?" (3)

  1. I lost count of how many times my teachers threw things when I was in school. Usually it wasn’t at me, but there was this one time…

    We learned cursive in 2nd grade, were required to use it from 3rd to 6th grade, and the first day of junior high, one of my classmates asked, “Do we have to use cursive?” The teacher looked puzzled– apparently she didn’t get that question often– and said, “I don’t care.” So the only time I’ve used cursive since, except to sign something, was that statement on the SAT about true and correct information to the best of my blah blah blah. You’re right– it can’t be that important.

    Indenting is slightly more important than cursive. But I only do it when writing for school.

    I’VE TAUGHT SPECIAL ED FOR ABOUT 10 YEARS. MY STUDENTS CAN’T WRITE OR READ CURSIVE. I HAVE TO PRINT EVERYTHING FOR THEM SO MY CURSIVE LOOKS LIKE I’M STILL IN SECOND GRADE. I LITERALLY HAVE TO THINK MY WAY THROUGH EVERY LETTER.

    FUNNY ABOUT THE INDENTING. AFTER I WROTE THAT POST I REALIZED I NEVER INDENT ON BLOGS OR ANYTHING. TEN YEARS FROM NOW MY STUDENTS WILL PROBABLY BE WONDERING WHY I EVER EVEN TAUGHT THEM TO INDENT.

    IT ALWAYS MAKES ME NERVOUS WHEN PEOPLE TALK ABOUT THINGS THEY REMEMBER ABOUT THEIR TEACHERS. I’M HOPING MY STUDENTS ONLY HOLD ONTO THE GOOD THINGS, BUT THAT’S PROBABLY NOT LIKELY. GLAD YOU AT LEAST WEREN’T HIT WITH ANYTHING.

  2. Seems like years back the standard business letter form changed from indented to just left justified. I know that handwritten papers are different and that there are so many “right” ways to write college papers…who can keep up!!??!!

    Keep “talking” Paige. You are teaching, I promise. You just need to keep at it longer with the audience that you have been provided!! LOL

    I GUESS IT’S FRUSTRATING BECAUSE I KNOW THEY FORGET MOST OF WHAT WE DO … SO IF THEY’RE JUST GOING TO FORGET IT WHY TRY TO STICK IT IN THEIR HEADS IN THE FIRST PLACE? I APPRECIATE THE ENCOURAGEMENT THOUGH … I HAVE TO BELIEVE THAT SOMEHOW IT’S HELPING THEM. JUST WISH I COULD SEE MORE DAY TO DAY EVIDENCE.

  3. oakesclan said:

    I smell a book…written by this author I’ve heard of…I think her name is Page Turner…about stuff she learned from students she was trying to teach.
    I love your insights…and even if some times (even maybe many times) you are laughing to keep from crying…I love the way you find reasons for smiling.
    Stay at it, teacher!

    HA!!! I ACTUALLY HAD SOMEONE ASK ME IF I THOUGHT CRAZY THINGS HAPPENED TO ME SO I’D HAVE STORIES TO TELL. ENTIRELY POSSIBLE … AND I’M TAKING ADVANTAGE OF IT.

    I HAVE DECIDED THAT INSTEAD OF FINDING REASONS TO LAUGH INSTEAD OF CRY … I WOULD JUST MOVE ON. I’M OFFICIALLY ENDING MY TEACHING CAREER AT THE END OF MAY.

    I WILL FIND OTHER WAYS TO “CHANGE THE WORLD”. ONES THAT DON’T HURT SO MUCH AND MAKE ME CRABBY.

    THANKS DOUG … I LOVE HEARING FROM YOU.

Leave a Reply

