You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

A few posts back I talked about a new student I was “experiencing” in my class. I was rereading that post, and I realized that my perspective has changed after some time getting to know him. I mentioned in that post that he was “wide-eyed and innocent” … wow … first impressions can be deceiving. He does have really big eyes … but the rest of that was way off. He is sneaky.

I can’t even remember all of the experiences we’ve had, but he is a daily challenge. He really annoys people and then looks all puppy-dog-sad when they want to beat him up.

It’s funny how things can be cute at first and then turn incredibly annoying after the 10th or 11th time. One example would be this little habit he has. When he doesn’t know a word, he replaces it with “cha-ching”. So when he reads it might sound something like this, “The boy was cha-ching and then he cha-ching and cha-ching after cha-ching.” My current goal is to increase his vocabulary so we have less “cha-chings” when he reads. If I can do that … I will feel like a good teacher.

Comments on: "I just had to laugh … revisited." (1)

  1. That “Cha-ching” is one of my favorite things. I have worked it into my life. I use if more in place of words I shouldn’t say. I’m walking and my knee hurts really bad? Cha-ching! I shut my finger in the file cabinet? cha-ching! 😀

    You are a fantastic teacher and you have patience way beyond what I have. You deal with so much every day from those kiddos and you haven’t killed any of them yet! GOOD JOB!!

    Hang in there…only a little bit left. During the summer, you will forget how annoying they are and be able to start the next school year with a new outlook…at least for a few days!

    CHA-CHING CAME UP AND GRABBED MY WRIST TODAY. I SAID, “WHY ARE YOU DOING THAT?” HE SAID THAT HE NEEDED ME TO GET HIM WARMED UP. HAVE I EVER BEEN WARM? 2 SECONDS LATER HE ASKED IF I COULD TURN ON THE AIR CONDITER (YES THAT’S HOW HE SAID IT).

Leave a Reply

