You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Do you ever pay attention to some of the expressions we use? There are things we say that really don’t make much sense. I don’t realize how confusing they can be until I try to teach them to my students.

This week we were discussing expressions and the students were each given a sentence strip with one on them. They were supposed to read it … try to explain what they thought it meant to the class … and then write a short story using it correctly.

I would love to hear how you would explain some of these:

“They gave it a try at any rate.”

“He bought the car to the tune of one hundred dollars.”

These were two of the hardest ones. I know what they mean, but try explaining them to some 12-14 year old kids that think a “senior citizen” is when you go to the movie by yourself.

I found that out when I was trying to explain what a “rate” is. I mentioned movie tickets and how they are different prices for different people. For example, children and senior citizens are usually a different price than a regular ticket. A boy on the front row said, “Miss, what’s a senior citizen? When you go by yourself?”

I realized then that if I’m having to explain what these expressions mean … they probably aren’t going to use them much anyway, so what’s the point?! From now on, I’ll probably be skipping that section of our textbook.

Comments on: "They gave it a try at any rate." (1)

  1. We do say some really weird things. “He seemed happy-go-lucky. On the other hand, I was on pins and needles, waiting with bated breath, for the other shoe to fall”. πŸ˜›

    Once upon a time, I thought I wanted to learn Spanish. And I noticed several phrases in that language, that if translated literally, made no sense whatsoever. Because I only knew vocabulary and not the flow of the language, I was lost. So it’s not just English that is difficult I suppose. We take the cake on spelling oddities however!

    I think you are right as far as your kids go…if they can’t understand “senior citizen” then they probably won’t need to know what “at any rate” means. Hopefully those phrases won’t be on their TAKS test πŸ˜‰

    I LOVED READING ALL OF THE EXPRESSIONS YOU USED … WHAT IS BATED BREATH? YOU’RE RIGHT … WE AREN’T THE ONLY ONES WITH A DIFFICULT LANGUAGE. I REMEMBER IN PORTUGAL SOMEONE SAID SOMETHING ABOUT A PERSON HAVING A ROCK IN THEIR SHOE. BUT THEY ACTUALLY MEANT THE PERSON WAS LIKE A ROCK IN THER SHOE … I GUESS A PAIN IN THE FOOT IS THE EQUIVALENT TO OUR PAIN IN THE ____.

    I’M NOT SURE ABOUT THIS TAKS TEST. IT’S FUNNY HOW SERIOUS PEOPLE TAKE IT THOUGH. A FRIEND OF MINE TEXTED ME TO DAY AND SAID HER ROOM WAS CHRISTENED WITH HOLY WATER. THEN AT MY SCHOOL WE SAID A PRAYER IN OUR LANGUAGE ARTS MEETING. I KNOW THE POWER OF PRAYER … AND I WANT MY STUDENTS TO BE SUCCESSFUL, BUT ALL THE HYPE AND FOCUS ON SCORES FRUSTRATES ME. ESPECIALLY ON A DAY LIKE TODAY. SO, THE DAY BEFORE THE BIG WRITING TAKS TEST WE ARE GOING OVER A QUIZ IN ONE OF MY CLASSES. THEY ALL FAILED IT AND IT WAS OVER SUBJECTS, HELPING VERBS, AND DIRECT OBJECTS. I COULDN’T BELIEVE HOW BAD THE SCORES WERE. ONE CHILD ACTUALLY SAID, “WE’VE NEVER DONE THIS.” I ALMOST FELL OVER IN EXASPERATION. THIS IS WHY I CAN’T STRESS OVER THE TAKS … ONE DAY THEY KNOW SOMETHING THE NEXT THEY DON’T. I CANNOT CONTROL THEIR LITTLE BRAINS. I CAN ONLY STAND FIRM IN THE KNOWLEDGE THAT I HAVE TAUGHT THEM THE BEST I KNOW HOW.

Leave a Reply

