You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

I just had to laugh …

This week I had a new student begin my class. He is an experience I’ve not had before. And that’s the best way I can describe him … an experience. I think he has hugged me more this week than any other person in my entire life. Today he came back to my desk to ask a question. He looked down at my hands and said, “You have the most smooth and beautiful skin hands.” His voice was that voice a child gets when they’ve just seen the most amazing thing.

I had to take him out for a while so my assistant could talk to the other students. They’ve been making fun of him and mocking him. We needed it to stop immediately. So we went and ran random errands around the building. It gave me a chance to talk to him some one on one. He really is a great kid. Very innocent and wide-eyed. I said a prayer for him today that God would guard his heart. I also asked God to help me to treat him as the precious creation that he is. Even when he’s invading my personal space … over … and over … and over again. 🙂

Comments on: "I just had to laugh …" (4)

  1. Good thing he is a sweet soul…otherwise you’d have to knock him out for hugging you so much!! LOL Funny that he was in awe of your hand skin. That made me laugh!

    HE ALMOST GOT KNOCKED OUT TODAY … SHEESH. HIS PERSONALITY WAS A LITTLE MUCH.

  2. Paige–it’s been a long time since I’ve blog stalked you!! Is that invading your personal space? Sorry.:D My boys have always been huggers. Mark (my oldest) though, beleive it or not is the worst. Is it bad that I phrase it that way? There are days that I just don’t want to be touched (call it hormones) and it never fails those are the days he wants to touch me the most. Hugs, arm rubs (which drive me CrAzY), hand holding…it seems to never end. But I never would tell him that, I just endure it like fingernails grating on a L-O-N-G chalkboard. I know that is his love language–physical touch. So I am just praying that he marries another physical toucher otherwise, he’s gonna have one empty love tank.

    SO FAR I’VE NOT FELT CLAUSTROPHOBIC ON THE INTERNET YET … STALK ALL YOU WANT. I APPRECIATE YOUR HONESTY ABOUT SOMETIMES JUST WANTING YOUR SPACE. I GUESS I THINK OF MOMS AS ALWAYS WANTING TO BE TOUCHED BY THEIR CHILDREN.

    I THINK THAT LIVING ALONE HAS MADE ME EVEN WORSE, BECAUSE I’M SO USED TO MY OWN WORLD THAT WHEN I STEP OUTSIDE … I GET OVERWHELMED. I’VE STARTED SETTING SOME BOUNDARIES WITH THIS STUDENT. HE IS LEARNING NOT TO COME BEHIND MY DESK ETC. SO AT LEAST I HAVE A SAFE PLACE. 🙂 HE REALLY IS A SWEET KID … JUST OVERWHELMING.

  3. Yay Elaine!! I’m not the only one!!! I feel so much better now! lol I am not as good as you though….I very frequently tell my kids, “You are touching me. Get off of me!” I feel bad, but they know (I hope) that I love them and love their touch but there are just times when it is too much for me. We laugh about it a lot! My Brandon is the best at being able to tell when I’m on the brink….he’s a very exceptionally intuitive kid.

    ISN’T IT NICE WHEN PEOPLE ADMIT WHAT EVERYONE ELSE IS THINKING. WE REALLY DON’T HAVE TO FEEL AS ALONE AS WE DO SOMETIMES.

  4. hey Paige, I just finished a book that I think you’d love. It was by Tina Turner’s little sister (I assume). So great! Made me want to cry in my eyes some, but mostly smile in my mouth.

    Love you friend.

    Tim

    THANKS FOR STOPPING BY TIM … GLAD TO HEAR THE BOOK REVIEW … YOU ARE A GOOD FRIEND, AND A GOOD MAN.

Leave a Reply

