You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Isn’t it ironic …

This song by Alanis Morissette has been in my head this week.

An old man turned ninety-eight
He won the lottery and died the next day
It’s a black fly in your Chardonnay
It’s a death row pardon two minutes too late
And isn’t it ironic… don’t you think

It’s like rain on your wedding day
It’s a free ride when you’ve already paid
It’s the good advice that you just didn’t take
Who would’ve thought… it figures

Mr. Play It Safe was afraid to fly
He packed his suitcase and kissed his kids goodbye
He waited his whole  life to take that flight
And as the plane crashed down he thought
“Well isn’t this nice…”
And isn’t it ironic… don’t you think

It’s like rain on your wedding day
It’s a free ride when you’ve already paid
It’s the good advice that you just didn’t take
Who would’ve thought… it figures

Well life has a funny way of sneaking up on you
When you think everything’s okay and everything’s going right
And life has a funny way of helping you out when
You think everything’s gone wrong and everything blows up
In your face

A traffic jam when you’re already late
A no-smoking sign on your cigarette break
It’s like ten thousand spoons when all you need is a knife
It’s meeting the man of my dreams
And then meeting his beautiful wife
And isn’t it ironic…don’t you think
A little too ironic…and, yeah, I really do think…

It’s like rain on your wedding day
It’s a free ride when you’ve already paid
It’s the good advice that you just didn’t take
Who would’ve thought… it figures

Life has a funny way of sneaking up on you
Life has a funny, funny way of helping you out
Helping you out

Once a friend and I went to eat at a restaurant. We had a coupon for a free dinner when you buy a dinner. We ordered … turned in our coupon. Then proceeded to wait about 45 minutes for our food. The manager felt so bad that he gave us a free meal. However, we didn’t get our coupon back and so basically we got what we had already received. Ironic!

Over Thanksgiving my niece, who is 6, was showing my nephew, who is 4, how to open a child safety bottle. We walked in when she was saying, “No, you have to push it down and then turn.” Very ironic!

Yesterday in class I had a student that had quite a body odor problem going on. I seemed to be the only person to notice. At one point he was working with a partner and he (the body odor boy) kept saying to his partner, “Man, you got bad breath.” Unpleasantly ironic!

Today as I was driving in to work I started to slide just a little. I noticed a light that came up on the dash … it was a little car with squiggle marks in front of it. Was it trying to tell me, “Hey lady, you’re sliding!” ? As if I hadn’t noticed … Moronicly Ironic.

So what’s ironic in your life?

Comments on: "Isn’t it ironic …" (1)

  1. Maybe I already told you this….the day one of my boys decided to make a water balloon out of a certain prophylactic in the bathroom, I checked my phone and someone posted on facebook something to the effect of “The kingdom of God belongs to such as these…”

    The bible doesn’t say it, but it kind of makes me wonder if after Jesus said the kingdom of God belongs to children, maybe under his breath he mumbled something about them driving you to drink and smoke in the process.

    SEEMS LIKE I REMEMBER GETTING A TEXT ABOUT THE WONDERFUL WATER BALLOON INCIDENT. I’VE THOUGHT OF THAT BEFORE WHEN I LOOK OUT AT MY STUDENTS MAKING THEIR CRUDE BODILY NOISES, AND CALLING ME “A HATER”. AND I WANT TO SAY … REALLY … THEY’RE GETTING THE KINGDOM?!

Leave a Reply

