You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Thanksgiving Memories

This was a good Thanksgiving. But it was not without its awkward moments.

I’ve told several of you already about my Grandpa and the wonderful memories he revealed around the dinner table Thanksgiving Day. Can you say awkward?!

My youngest niece is in that stage where she asks about 9,000 questions a minute. Remember that scene in Uncle Buck? That’s what it feels like. So she’s asking how old I am and realizes that I’m a little older than her mother. In my niece’s mind if her mother is married and has children, then surely I should at least be married since I’m older. I think she’s too young to remember that I was married at one time.

 So she asks, “Aunt Paige are you married?”

I say, “No”.

She says, “Why not? You’re old enough.”

I say, “Yes, but I’m not married.”

She says, “Are you going to get married?”

I said, “I don’t think so”.

Which of course made her ask “Why not?” 

 Which is when her mother kindly called her into the kitchen to get her out of my face. It’s not so much her questions that are awkward. The look on everyone else’s face is what makes it awkward. We sure don’t want to mention the “D” word in front of the children.

What about you? Any awkward or especially memorable holiday happenings?

Comments on: "Thanksgiving Memories" (3)

  1. Oh man! Don’t you just love kids!??! And you are right, it’s not her question that is awkward, it is the reaction of the adults around that makes the situation so strained.

    There are some situations in my life that are just not discussed around family. On the occassions when I have mentioned it, you could have heard a pin drop. Sorry my life isn’t all sunshine and rainbows! hehehe

    Glad you weathered the question storm…just think: it’s only a few weeks until Christmas!! 😀

    YEP … IN JUST A FEW SHORT WEEKS WE CAN DO IT ALL OVER AGAIN … YIPPEEEEE. IS THERE AN EMOTICON FOR SARCASM?

  2. Poor Paige! I think family members can sure make us feel more awkward than any one else.

    Remind me to tell you about an awkward moment over the break…..

    I’LL TRY TO REMIND YOU TO TELL ME ON SATURDAY … I’M SURE IT WILL MAKE ME SMILE.

  3. I am dropping in via Sarah’s blog. I have been here before, but never commented.
    As a mother, I would say that some of my awkward moments are when my children are doing something I have worked with them not to do. I feel like I am on video to see what kind of mother I am.
    Do they use proper respect, do they obey the first time, do I expect too much, do I expect too little, are they tearing up someone’s things, why don’t they look at me when I am giving them the “look at me now” stare, why can’t they just be “perfect”… O yeah they are kids…
    One time they ask my stepdad why his belly button was so big… he had a hernia…. I was glad he didn’t understand what they ask…
    I am sorry about the “d” word…my friend and I say it is easier to be forgiven of murder….. but not by me!!

    GOOD TO HEAR FROM YOU LESLEE. I MISSED SEEING YOU GUYS TODAY. I THINK IT WOULD BE HARD TO HAVE CHILDREN AND NOT WORRY ABOUT EVERY SINGLE THEY DO IN PUBLIC. I TEACH SO I’VE HEARD MANY THINGS THAT PARENTS DON’T WANT TO KNOW THEIR CHILD HAS TOLD ME (i’m sure your children never do that).
    KIDS DO SAY THE DARNDEST THINGS.

    I APPRECIATE YOU AND THE KINDNESS YOU HAVE SHOWN TO ME. WISH YOU LIVED CLOSER.

Leave a Reply

