You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Curiosity

Another Story of the Day:

“Can I count on you to be there, no matter what?” she said. 

 I said, “No.”  

She said, “What kind of friend are you?”

 I said,  “The kind who won’t lie to you any time you want.”

I think she kept me around as a curiosity after that.

 

This made me laugh. Honesty really does make you a “curiosity”. I remember one time I went to Home Depot and bought some work gloves. I thought I was buying a pack of about 20 pair. Turns out it was a bag of gloves that needed to be hung up on the shelf. So they were priced individually. When the woman scanned it the price came up to $4.98. This was for a whole bag of work gloves. When I got home I realized that she had made a mistake. When I took them back they looked at me like I was a circus freak.

How ’bout you? Ever gotten that “you must be crazy” look for being honest?

Comments on: "Curiosity" (2)

  1. That happened to me only a few weeks ago at Wal-Mart. I had a basket full of groceries and paid out. When I got to my car I realized that I had Addy’s dog food on the bottom of the cart and forgot to pay for it. I was annoyed at having to go back, but knew it was the only thing I could really do. The greeter at the door looked at me like I was a freak as did the lady at the check out counter. You almost expect people to thank you for doing the right thing, but when you get the “You’re a freak” look it’s kind of a let down!

    I GUESS IF WE’RE GOING TO BE FREAKS IT MIGHT AS WELL BE FOR DOING SOMETHING GOOD, RIGHT?

  2. I used to go to the same Sonic every single day for a coke, so I knew the carhops fairly well. One day the sweetest girl gave me a dollar too much change. I couldn’t get her attention to give it back to her right then so I left, but knew I would see her again. The next time she was my carhop, I gave her the dollar and told her she had given me too much change awhile back. She looked at me with a strange expression and said “I did?” I said “Yep, but I knew I’d see you eventually to make it right”. She walked off with the same flabbergasted expression on her face. The “you must be crazy” expression.

    THAT’S FUNNY. I’M SURE SHE WAS SHOCKED THAT YOU STILL GAVE IT BACK AFTER ALL THAT TIME, ESPECIALLY OVER $1. I’M GLAD THAT I’M NOT THE ONLY ONE THAT IS A FREAKISHLY HONEST WHEN IT COMES TO THAT KIND-OF STUFF.

Leave a Reply

