You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Trust Me

Today I went through a car wash. As I was sitting in the middle of the wash I see the brake lights of the car two feet in front of me come on and off. I had a momentary thought to hit my brakes as well, but luckily I resisted. Instead I sat there waiting to hear the twisting metal of my car hitting theirs. It never happened and we both came out of the wash fine.

But it made me smile. I had this thought … how many times do I struggle with “trusting” and say I just don’t know how to trust? Hello?! EverydayI trust things. Igo through a car wash … trusting it will wash my car and not kill me in the process. I drive down the street … trusting that the car coming toward me will stay on their side of the yellow line. I walk into a building … trusting that it won’t collapse upon me at any moment.  I don’t worry that the building will collapse, I don’t worry that the car will kareen across the 2 inch paint line in the middle of the road and hit me. Why not?

Because I’ve done these things safely over and over again. I’ve seen others do the same things over and over again … safely.

So why can’t I do the same with God? Why can’t I trust the examples around me … the examples from the Bible … the promises from the all powerful supreme God that created it all? I’ll trust the man-made car wash that’s named after a duck sound … but God … nah, I’ll have to think about that one.

Think about this for a bit … what are some things in your everyday life that you trust?

Comments on: "Trust Me" (2)

  1. Interestingly enough, I have been through a car wash like that and the track propelled me forward into the bumper of the Jaguar in front of me. When I got out of the car after it came through the car wash, I talked to the owner of the Jag and he said he never felt anything, no damage to his car. So I went inside to tell the operator of the car wash and he acted like he could care less. I thought it was kind of a big deal, but I guess until someone’s Jag is damaged, no one really cares.

    I know we’ve talked about this before, but trust is something that doesn’t come easy for me. Once trust is broken, it is nearly impossible to earn back. To say I’m a skeptic is a slight understatement. However, if you can pitch it to me in an infomercial, I’m sold!

    I’M THE SAME WAY SARAH … I HAVE A HARD TIME TRUSTING PEOPLE. THAT’S WHY THIS CAUGHT MY ATTENTION BECAUSE I THOUGHT OF HOW EASILY I TRUST THINGS … PEOPLE, NOT SO MUCH. YET, I KNOW I’VE BROKEN THE TRUST OF OTHERS AND DON’T WANT THEM TO BE AS HARD ON ME AS I AM ON THEM. IT’S SOMETHING WORTH PRAYING ABOUT AND WORKING ON.

  2. You are so right about trusting in things. I trust that the chair I’m sitting in won’t collapse. I trust that the floor won’t fall out from under me at the office. I trust that the roof won’t fall in on me while I sleep. I trust that the car will work, that the doctors are right, that the food I get isn’t poisoned. Okay now I’m starting to freak myself out!! (just kidding)

    I’ve been hurt by too many people that I have trusted and far too many times I find myself thinking the worst of people because of that hurt. And beyond that, I don’t trust God. And He has never let me down. He has always kept His promises and He always will. But I apply my distrust to Him as well. Shame on me. I want to do better.

    WE HAVE COME SO FAR AND YET WE HAVE SO FAR TO GO. WE CAN CLAIM PROGRESS, NOT PERFECTION. I’M GRATEFUL THAT I KNOW HE CAN BE TRUSTED … WITHOUT A DOUBT. NOW I JUST NEED TO TRANSFER THE KNOWING – TO LIVING.

Leave a Reply

