You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Explain this to me …

Every morning after the first bell the announcements come on at school. We do the American Flag pledge, Texas pledge (which no one can say correctly … ever) and then we have a moment of silence. Last week I noticed that once in a while instead of starting, “I pledge allegiance …” I would start to say, “Lubbock Teachers Federal Credit Union.” Very strange. Well today I did it again and realized that it’s only when I’m standing behind my desk. If I’m not behind the desk I can say the pledge fine. What’s that about?

Comments on: "Explain this to me …" (5)

  1. I can’t stop laughing!! The bell reminds you of a phone, your desk makes you think you are still at the office so you answer “Lubbock Teachers Federal Credit Union”. LOL I catch myself at home wanting to answer “Teachers Credit Union. This is Sherry”. I don’t know why that stuff sticks so much in our heads!!

    The Texas pledge changed a couple of years ago…they added the “under God” and whatever it says after that, so it throws me off too.

    You made me cry a little bit in my eyes I laughed so hard!

    GLAD TO GIVE YOU A GOOD LAUGH. IT’S FUNNY HOW THOSE THINGS STICK IN YOUR MEMORY AND COME OUT WHEN YOU LEAST EXPECT IT. I’M JUST THANKFUL THAT I NO LONGER INTRODUCE MYSELF TO PEOPLE FOR THE FIRST TIME BY SAYING, “HI, MY NAME IS PAIGE AND I’M AN ALCOHOLIC.”

    THAT TEXAS PLEDGE NEEDS TO BE FIXED … IT DOESN’T FLOW IN ANY WAY WHATSOEVER. ALSO, IT HAS STIRRED UP SOME OLD FIFTH GRADE MEMORIES. MY TEACHER THAT YEAR MADE US SING “O FAIR NEW MEXICO” AFTER THE PLEDGE. THE TAPE SHE USED HAD ONE SIDE IN ENGLISH AND ONE IN SPANISH. ONE DAY MY FRIEND AND I FLIPPED THE TAPE OVER SO WHEN SHE STARTED IT, THE GUY STARTED SINGING IN SPANISH, AND THE WHOLE CLASS DIED LAUGHING. I NEED TO APOLOGIZE FOR THAT.

  2. lol. i sure did need to laugh today and you are the perfect person to make me laugh when it is needed. i am glad that we had such an impact on you that you have to say that behind your desk. that is too funny. love ya paige.

    cyndi

    THOUGHT YOU GUYS WOULD GET A KICK OUT OF THAT … I MAY NOT BE THERE IN PERSON … BUT IN MY HEART I’M AT THE CREDIT UNION EVERYDAY. MISS YOU SO MUCH!!!

  3. You’re funny. I haven’t been reading blogs lately, but I am glad I picked today to see what you had to say. I’ve missed your thoughts.
    Thanks for making me smile.

    SO GLAD YOU STOPPED BY AND GOT A SMILE OUT OF IT!

Leave a Reply

