You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

How’s that for a title? Hopefully it hooked you in and has gotten you interested.

So the other day I was discussing the word sandwich with my students. We were discussing how words can have multiple meanings. We wrote several meanings for sandwich: “two pieces of bread with something in the middle”, “to stick something in between two objects (I sandwiched the book between the cd’s)”, and “the football players made a Quarter Back sandwich out of him”.

At this point I asked the students if they knew any other ways we use the word sandwich. One of them said, “It could be a name.” I said, “For a person?” He said, “Yes, my cousin is named Sandwich.” I laughed and looked at my assistant like, “Oh these kids are crazy.” We moved on and I basically ignored him.

Well today … I stand corrected. The person that invented the sandwich was actually named Sandwich. He was the Earl of Sandwich so it wasn’t actually his name, but still. I should have given ol’ cousin Sandwich the benefit of the doubt.

I had two circumstances this week that offered up some natural consequences that really made me laugh out loud.

First … I had a student that kept refusing to stay after school to finish his work. He’s off task often and just isn’t trying to do it. He told me that he couldn’t stay after school because he had a football game. I left him alone for the rest of the class. He ended up falling into a very deep sleep. So deep that when the bell rang, he never woke up. I wanted to leave him there until he woke up on his own, but I didn’t want to stay that late. So I called his mom and left her a message then woke him up after about 15 minutes. I thought it was hilarious … he ended up staying after school all right and didn’t even get credit for it, because he still didn’t finish those assignments.

Then today I was going down the aisles quickly grading a little quiz. One of the students saw me grade the paper beside him and noticed he had missed one. He changed it before I got to him. My assistant saw him and told him that he shouldn’t change that … he needed to take the grade he earned. Well after grading all the quizzes I went over the answers out loud so everyone could make sure I graded correctly. Well, I hadn’t. I had actually graded the paper (the one the boy was cheating off of) incorrectly. So because he changed his answer he ended up missing it. He would have had it right if he would have left it alone. We all laughed … probably not a nice thing to do … but it was so perfect.

In true form, he then accused me of doing it all on purpose. Like I planned ahead of time to incorrectly grade a paper, hoping he would see it and change his answer. Sheesh! They make me laugh.

Comments on: "I stand corrected and natural consequences that made me smile a little." (3)

  1. Cousin Sandwich would accept your apology I imagine! LOL

    Isn’t it amazing how these kids can fight so hard against something (like staying after school) and then end up with the same results anyway?? I think I have done that a few times in my life. So certain that I was right in what I was thinking and voicing my objections aka throwing a fit…only to find that I was worse off for the fight…or that my fight had actually had no effect on the outcome other to embarass me! (wow that was a rambling sentence…hope it makes sense to someone other than me!! hehe)

    IT IS A GOOD LESSON … WHY FIGHT IT … JUST DO WHAT IS EXPECTED AND MOVE ON. I DON’T GUESS I CAN EXPECT THEM TO SEE THE PRACTICALITY IN THAT … BUT I HAVE NO EXCUSE. I MUST STOP FIGHTING THE THINGS AROUND ME THAT I KNOW I WILL HAVE TO DO ANYWAY. THE FIGHT NEVER HELPS.

    YOU ALWAYS MAKE SENSE TO ME SHERRY. THANKS FOR THE COMMENTS.

  2. It amazes me that kids think our main objective is to get them in trouble. We have nothing better to do than to come up with ways to make their lives miserable….

    I love natural consequences….poetic justice…and we could never have planned it more perfectly!

    NATURAL CONSEQUENCES ARE THE BEST!!! NOT THAT I APPRECIATE THEM MUCH WHEN THEY COME MY WAY … BUT EVEN I MUST ADMIT … THEY ARE THE BEST TEACHER.

  3. i am glad to see a new post. and i agree with what sherry said, why fight what we will have to do anyway. 🙂

    GOOD TO HEAR FROM YOU CYNDI … 🙂

Leave a Reply

