You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Boredom is dangerous

I do not do well with time off from work. Without a schedule I can get a but “wonky’, yes, “wonky”. Well, that being said, I have been off work for the last week. I made sure that I had a long list of things to do so that I wouldn’t get bored. Well I was pretty much finished with a big portion of the list by Monday. So I started looking around my house for more things to put on my list.

Over Christmas, I painted my kitchen table. I used the wrong type of paint or something, so this last weekend when my mom was here, she wiped it off and some of the paint stripped off … oops. So I went and bought a table cloth. Well the table cloth didn’t quite match the wallpaper, which I have never really liked anyway (you see where this is going, right?) So, yesterday morning, while avoiding homework, I started stripping wallpaper. What a bad idea!!!

I never really gave a thought to what the wall might look like underneath, or what I might do with that wall. I found that it had no texture on it, and I’m not sure that it’s ever even been painted. So I started painting it with KILZ last night. All the while, knowing I was going to have to do something about the texture.

Today I ran across this textured wallpaper. You put it up like wallpaper and then you can either paint it or leave it white. It should be noted here that I’ve not had much experience with wallpaper. I can say now, as I’m about 1/10 of the way through … I hate it. I’m just praying that I like it when it dries so that I don’t feel the need to paint it.

I love the DETAILED (not) instructions that they give. Here they are:

wallpaper

Any of you that have participated in my IQ test assignment will relate to my horror when I saw that the directions consisted of pictures that I had to decipher. I thought that picture 3 was “applying wallpaper paste” which I didn’t think I needed. So finally, I realized it had to do with scraping stuff OFF the wall, not putting it ON. I don’t have a baby or a cat to dunk so the little picture on 4 was irrelevant … I just dunked the paper. Eeek!

Maybe I’ll put up some pictures of the final result. It should be interesting if nothing else.

~ On a side note: Yesterday I went to donate blood. As I walked in I scraped the door across the top of my big toe and it started bleeding a lot. They gave me a band-aid and proceeded to do my interview. My iron was low and I was not able to donate. After she told me my iron was low, I realized I have two pretty gross looking bruises on my arm and on my toe. I thought it was probably related so I started looking on the internet to see what I should eat to boost my iron. I was surprised to find this statement:  “Cooking with iron pots and pans also increases the amount of iron consumed.” So if I eat my cereal and chips out of an iron skillet will it boost my iron? Also, is pepperoni considered red meat? Hmmm …

Comments on: "Boredom is dangerous" (5)

  1. Ay Paige! Wallpaper is so deceptively EVIL!! I have thought “it’s just a little bathroom. I can do it. I’m not STUPID.” OH MY WORD! I am a complete retard when it comes to doing wallpaper apparently! It always peels…it’s a nightmare getting the pattern to match…going around mirrors or doors? FORGET IT! I have determined I will pay someone a small fortune to do wallpaper for me if I ever decide to change the paper in my house.

    The non-verbal instructions are priceless!! #4..like you would dunk the wallpaper in the tub with a baby..and why a cat?? It’s just good advice in general to NOT dunk the cat in a tub of water. I know when I’ve done wallpaper before, I put the baby AND the pets AND the wallpaper all in the same water. Conservation ya know. LOL

    And the blood stuff~ bless your poor little toe! I saw the bruise on your arm Wednesday night and figured you had gotten that during yardwork (running away from those critters! EEK!) I think you have to COOK stuff in an iron skillet for it to get into the food…so pan fry your oatmeal or something! LOL

    IT HAS GOTTEN EVEN BETTER AS THE NIGHT HAS GONE ON. I RAN OUT OF THE WALLPAPER STUFF AND THEY WON’T HAVE ANY MORE FOR ABOUT TWO WEEKS. WHAT?!!! I CAN’T WAIT THAT LONG … THERE GOES MY SLEEP.

    SO I CAME HOME, CLEANED UP MY MESS AND DECIDED TO FINISH UP THE YARD WORK (MY EDGER RAN OUT OF STRING THE OTHER DAY AND I JUST REPLACED IT). I EDGED FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES AND THE STRING BROKE. I LIFTED IT UP TO LOOK AT THE STRING PART AND HIT MYSELF IN THE EYE. NOW MY EYEBROW IS SWELLING UP. I’M DONE!!! I’M GOING TO GO TAKE A BATH AND THEN SIT DOWN AND RELAX WITH CYNDI’S FLOWERS IN THE ATTIC MOVIE. THAT AUGHTA HELP ME UNWIND.

  2. First, what is Cyndi’s flowers in the Attic movie? I always need a good movie to watch,

    wallpaper, the evilness of hanging wallpaper,
    a true test of ones patience and sanity,
    I have not tried it personally, but I have watched it done,
    however, not sure I could figure anything by those instructions
    in this case it is not about “who wrote this stuff?”
    it is about “who drew these pictures?”
    I do not think anyone that can’t read should be hanging wallpaper

    I agree with Sherry, that is something I will pay to have done for me, along with the yard work, and coloring my hair.

    but I do like the idea of the textured wallpaper, that sounds interesting, and you get to skip a step.

    we had one of our bathrooms textured with tissue paper,
    it looked easy while I watched the guy spread tissue paper on the wall and roll it with Elmer’s glue,
    now that is not ever coming off,
    but it did leave a nice texture to the wall.

    Don’t you hate to start a project, and then can’t finish it.
    Cause then you , (I should say I) never seem to get back to it,
    and the enthusiasm is gone.

    so sorry about your iron deficiency.
    I have heard that about the iron skillet,
    does it make your food taste like iron too?

    I do have the product for you to take though
    if you are interested you can ask me about Juice Plus,
    If you are like me and do not like to eat fruits and vegetables by the bowl fulls,
    which are a good source of iron, then this is the product for you.

    FLOWERS IN THE ATTIC IS A MOVIE I BORROWED FROM A WOMAN NAMED CYNDI THAT I WORK WITH. WE HAVE BEEN READING THE “FLOWERS IN THE ATTIC” SERIES AND SHE FOUND THE MOVIE AT A GARAGE SALE. IT’S REALLY NOT VERY GOOD, BUT I JUST HAD TO WATCH IT SINCE I READ THE BOOK. THE BOOK IS MUCH, MUCH BETTER.

    THERE IS REALLY NOT A WORSE THING FOR ME THAN HAVING SOMETHING UNFINISHED. ONE THING I KNOW FOR SURE IS, I WILL FINISH IT AS SOON AS I CAN. LOOKING AT THE UNDONE PROJECT IS MOTIVATION ENOUGH FOR ME.

    I HAVE TAKEN DIFFERENT KINDS OF VITAMINS AND STUFF TO HELP MAKE UP FOR THE FRUITS AND VEGETABLES THAT I DON’T EAT. I USED TO DRINK JUICE EVERY MORNING, BUT HAVE GOTTEN OUT OF THE HABIT. I THINK I’M GOING TO HAVE TO GET BACK INTO IT.

  3. Email Girl said:

    Paige,

    I laughed my head off reading this. Those instructions are priceless. I haven’t ever done wallpaper and can confidently say I will never try it. I’ve watched my dad do it a few times and it is way too tedious for me. I would rip my hair out if I tried. I think its great that you are doing it though!

    I hope your wallpaper thats coming in 2 weeks matches your wallpaper you already have up. You do know about the production lot thing, right?

    HOPEFULLY IT WILL MATCH FINE. THIS STUFF IS ALL WHITE AND IT’S TEXTURED, SO IT MAKES IT LOOK LIKE A WHITE TEXTURED WALL. THERE’S NOT REALLY A NOTICEABLE PATTERN AND WITH IT BEING WHITE I THINK IT SHOULD BE FINE. BUT … LOOKING AT HOW THE PROJECT HAS GONE SO FAR … I WOULDN’T BE WILLING TO BET ON ANYTHING.

  4. ay paige. well i have done wallpaper and i will never do that agin. we didn’t even have instuction my my sister wanted to wallpaper her bathroom… well she was 6 months pregnant and couldn’t climb on anything to reach above the bath tub. well she asked me to help, well she ended up having to climb anyway cause there is no way i could reach. she did not want her husband to help us cause she wanted it ot be our project… huh huh never again. i am sorry about your toe. i will make you stuff to eat in my well seasoned iron skillet. i am really going to miss you miss paige. you will have to eamil all of your funny experiences at school. your a wonderful person and i am glad that we have become friends and that i was blessed having you come into my life.

    cyndi

    YOUR SISTER WASN’T REALLY THINKING WHEN SHE ASKED YOU TO BE THE CLIMBER WAS SHE? YOU ARE LIKE ME … EVEN IF YOU CLIMB UP THERE, YOU’RE GOING TO STILL NEED A STEP-STOOL TO REACH ANYTHING. BUT I BET SHE WAS STILL GLAD TO HAVE YOUR HELP … WALLPAPER IS EVIL.

    WE WILL KEEP IN TOUCH. SURELY BETWEEN EMAIL, BLOGS, AND FACEBOOK WE CAN STAY CONNECTED. I’M SURE THE STORIES WILL BE ABUNDANT.

    I HAVE BEEN BLESSED TO GET TO KNOW YOU AND I WILL NOT LET YOU SLIP OUT OF MY LIFE JUST BECAUSE I SWITCH JOBS. OKAY?!

  5. PAIGE WHAT IS A WONKY?

    THE ONLINE URBAN DICTIONARY DEFINES WONKY AS: weird, whacked out, messed up!!! WHICH DEFINITELY DESCRIBES ME WHEN I’M BORED FOR TOO LONG.

Leave a Reply

