You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Summers at the lake

I’ve spent many summers at Brownwood lake. Seems that we’ve gone every summer since I was in elementary school. I like it less and less each year … for some reason I’ve really lost interest in water sports. But, I ran across some pictures that I thought would be fun to share  since summer is beginning.

These are from quite a few years back …

Picture or Video 001

This is one of my favorites. This is Nana, Mammaw, Marshal, and my neice Gentry. I think it’s a classic family photo that shows that youngest generation just fitting right in with the older one.

 

Picture or Video 003

This is me trying to convince Deni she will swim great if she wears this life jacket.

 

Picture or Video 004

Dad lounging and feeding his face.

 

Picture or Video 005

Games of Chicken Foot that last forever and always end up in an argument.

 

Picture or Video 006

Me playing Skip-Bo with Mammaw. Notice she has to sit on TWO cushions to reach the table.

Comments on: "Summers at the lake" (8)

  1. Love the photos. Funny that I didn’t recognize you but did recognize Deni. Ha.

    GOOD OL’ DENI ALWAYS LOOKS THE SAME.

  2. I’m with Tim. I didn’t recognize you in those pics! I would have thought I could have picked you out easily! That’s what I get for thinking apparently…LOL
    I’ve never played Chicken Foot, but I’ve played hours and hours of SkipBo. Love Mammaw’s cushions! She’s cute 😀

    I DIDN’T REALIZE THAT I LOOKED SO DIFFERENT NOW. IF YOU’VE NOT PLAYED CHICKEN FOOT YOU ARE REALLY MISSING OUT. IT’S A SPECIAL TREAT TO PLAY WITH “OLDER” PEOPLE WHO CAN’T REALLY SEE THE DOMINOE’S VERY WELL. I HAD TO BREAK UP A LITTLE TIFF BETWEEN NANA AND MAMMAW ONCE BECAUSE NEITHER OF THEM COULD REALLY SEE WHAT THEY WERE DOING. SO EXCITING.

  3. Email Girl said:

    I love SkipBo!! Great pics…I finally know what you look like….or do I? Sherry and Tim didn’t recognize you…so maybe I don’t. :o)

    APPARENTLY I DON’T LOOK LIKE THAT NOW … SO NOPE YOU PROBABLY COULDN’T PICK ME OUT OF A CROWD.

    GO SKIP-BO … WE NEED TO ORGANIZE A GAME.

    • Email Girl said:

      I’m in!! Your Chicken Foot picture looks more like Rummy-Cube. Another one of my family’s favorites.

      We play Chicken Foot at our family reuion every year…I have some cut throat cousins that are a trip to play with.

      MY ATTENTION TO DETAIL IS SEVERELY LACKING. THAT IS RUMMY-CUBE THAT THEY ARE PLAYING. WE USUALLY PLAY CHICKEN FOOT SO I DIDN’T EVEN REALLY LOOK AT THE PICTURE.

      IF YOU EVER MAKE IT DOWN THIS WAY … WE’LL PLAY SOMETHING OKAY?!

  4. I want to learn to play skipbo and chicken foot. Never played games as I was growing up. Sad huh? Love old pictures. I really liked the first picture. I got to see what Marshall looks like. He is a big man… especially his hands wow!

    WELL WE NEED TO ORGANIZE A GAME NIGHT. I LOVE PLAYING GAMES AND NEVER REALLY SEEK OUT THE OPPORTUNITY. MOSTLY I ENJOY THE VISITING THAT GOES ALONG WITH THE GAMES.

    POOR MARSHAL CAN’T EVEN BEND THOS FINGERS ANYMORE. I DON’T KNOW HOW HE MANAGES TO DO ALL THAT HE DOES.

  5. I love that you shared that part of your life with us! I love Deni in the life jacket!

    WISH THAT SHE WOULD HAVE LOVED IT … SHE HATED THE WATER.

  6. What about a game night next week at my house? We can do coffee, dessert, and skip-bo! What night would be good for y’all? Cindy, you’ve never been to my house! I think it’s time you came over!

    SOUNDS GREAT TO ME … I CAN BRING THE CARDS.

    • I think that it is time that I come over too. I have to watch my niece and nephew this weekend. And then of course I have a husband that needs tending to uggggggg!!!! But he will let me go any time. Why am I the lucky one with a husband??? But I would love to get together and play games with you guys.

      MAYBE WE CAN HAVE ANOTHER GAME NIGHT WHEN YOUR SCHEDULE IS A LITTLE LESS CROWDED.

Leave a Reply

