You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

GENTE!!!

When I lived in Portugal I had a friend that used to say “My word” or “Oh my word” all the time. We decided that we were going to come up with our own phrase to use instead of that one. Since most of our frustration came when dealing with people and their idiocy … we decided to say, “People”. In this case we were saying it in Portuguese so it was “Gente” … pronounced “jenchee”. Try it out … the next time someone cuts you off in traffic … try “Gente” on for size … it rolls off the tongue quite nicely.

Another favorite phrase of mine is, “I didn’t try to.” I watched with my own two eyes as a student picked up a rock, threw it at another student, and hit him in the head. When I asked why he did that he said, “I didn’t try to”. Well there you have it … if he “didn’t try to” then I guess he was really just as shocked as I was when the other boy started bleeding from the head.

My newest favorite phrase comes from a boy at church. I think he’s about 3 or 4. Last week when his mom told him he needed to get ready for school he replied, “I can’t want to.” I can relate to that … can’t you?! Unfortunately, the fact that “I can’t want to” doesn’t mean that I don’t have to.

Lastly, as I watched cops the other night, I saw a man being arrested. He kept saying over and over “What am I sposed to did?” They were telling him to put his hands behind his back etc. He did nothing, while repeating, “What am I sposed to did?” I … along with the confused officers … never quite figured out if he was asking about “what he had done wrong” or “what they were asking him to do now”. 

I think all the readers of BASE are either … teachers, parents, or spouses … so I know you’ve heard some great phrases … please share.

Comments on: "GENTE!!!" (5)

  1. I have used that “I didn’t try to” several times since you told us about that. And now we have “I can’t want to”!! That one is soooo good!

    I’m sure my kids said things like that, but I am bad at remembering…or is that good at forgetting? hmmm…anyway.

    Once when Brandon was about three I think, we were talking about the kids possibly going to spend the night at Nana and Grandaddy’s house. And Brandon looked up and said “I not” and went right back to what he was doing. No temper tantrum…no tears…just the facts. That’s my kiddo!

    I THINK “I DIDN’T TRY TO” IS PROBABLY THE ONE I USE THE MOST … IT FITS IN SO MANY SITUATIONS. I’VE TRIED SAYING, “WHAT AM I SPOSED TO DID?” AND IT JUST GETS ME GLARED AT.

    AH BRANDON … SO LAID-BACK, AND LOW-KEY … DID HE END UP HAVING TO GO TO NANA’S?

    ONCE WHEN WE WERE ON A TRIP I ASKED MY DAD WHERE WE WERE AND HE SAID, “THE OUTSKIRTS OF DALLAS.” WHEN MY BROTHER WOKE UP … HE ASKED WHERE WE WERE AND I REPLIED, “THE OUTSQUIRTS OF DALLAS.” OOPS!

  2. Oh, that made me laugh! I……gotta……catch……my…..breath! Whew! See Sherry, he started training you early. He learned early on that if you make mom laugh, you can probably get out of a lot!

    One of my favorite Liz Lemmon lines from 30 Rock is “I want to go to there.” I use it a lot, mostly in reference to food.

    I think I’ll stay clear of the outsquirts of Dallas…..I’ll be flying there from now on!

    GLAD YOU GOT A GOOD LAUGH. HOPE YOU HAVE A GOOD WEEK SARAH.

  3. Outsquirts! EEEK…that brings a whole new thought to travel huh? I always got carsick on trips so it was more the upchucks of a place 😉

    I’M NOT SURE IF I WOULD RATHER VISIT THE OUTSQUIRTS OR THE UPCHUCKS … HMMM … I’LL HAVE TO GET BACK TO YOU ON THAT ONE.

  4. One of my students had this response to a directive, “Yes, ma’am! Happy to obey!” Incidentally, obedience is not his forte.

    My boy, Sunshine, is a country music fan and would bring his Garth Brooks CD to school. During his free-time, he would listen to “The Dance” on the computer and even sing with it. Here is a sample: “And now, I’m glad I didn’t know the way it all would end, the way it all would go. Her lips are better left to James . . . ” I always thought that song was about living life to the fullest, but apparently it’s really about a guy being left by a girl for a much better man named James.

    Today is May 5 and during calendar, I asked the kids what was special about today. One child exclaimed, “It’s Mexican Day!!!”

    My one girl announced to me the other day that she had “a horse” in her throat.

    I’m sure I’ll think of a thousand more just as soon as I post this. 🙂

    I REALLY WANT TO BE A FLY ON THE WALL IN YOUR WORLD. YOU DO SO WELL WITH THOSE CHILDREN. PLEASE FEEL FREE TO SHARE ALL THEIR “FUNNIES” AS YOU THINK OF THEM … I LOVE IT.

    “HER LIPS ARE BETTER LEFT TO JAMES” IS A GREAT ALTERNATIVE TO THE REAL WORDS. HE IS RIGHT ON.

    I REMEMBER MY EX-HUSBAND SAYING SOMETHING ABOUT THE LYRICS TO “LIVE LIKE YOU WERE DYING” … HE THOUGHT THE VERSE, “I went two point seven seconds on a bull named Fu Man Chu” WAS SAYING, “In only two point seven seconds I grew a full on Fu Man Chu”. HMMM. I GUESS SOMETIMES YOU JUST HEAR WHAT YOU WANT TO HEAR.

    ANOTHER GOOD BLOG IDEA … “WHAT I THOUGHT THE SONG WAS SAYING”.

    • One of my students just laid a rogue clipboard on my desk saying, “Here you go, Miss Lisa!” As he walked away he said, “Say thank you . . .” Whatever I say to them usually comes back to me, strangely, in my tone of voice. If you’ve never experienced that, it’s a little creepy.

      I HAVE EXPERIENCED IT. I FIND THAT IF YOU WANT TO SEE WHAT THE KIDS THINK OF YOU … LET THEM PLAY WITH EACH OTHER WHEN THEY THINK YOU AREN’T REALLY PAYING ATTENTION. M AND S USED TO PLAY SCHOOL AND I WOULD HEAR HIM TELL HER, “Now do this and take your time. TAKE your time don’t WASTE your time.” THE NEXT TIME IT CAME OUT OF MY MOUTH I JUST STARTED LAUGHING. I NEVER EVEN REALIZED I WAS SAYING THAT.

      NEXT TIME HE DOES THAT TO YOU THOUGH I THINK YOU SHOULD PULL HIS FLOWER!!!

Leave a Reply

