You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

On the season premiere for The Office, Michael Scott makes a comment, “I’m not superstitious, but I’m a little stitious”. I thought that was cute. The following are some superstitious beliefs that I found on an online quiz.

 

According to superstition, it is bad luck to let a black cat cross your path.

Superstition has it that leaving a hat on a bed will bring bad luck.

There is a long-standing belief that walking under a ladder brings bad luck.

Folklore has it that if you break a mirror, you will have seven years of bad luck.

Many people have long regarded Friday as an unlucky day.

Many people believe if you spill salt, you must toss some of it over your left shoulder in order to prevent bad luck.

According to superstition, a broken chain letter will bring bad luck.

Legend has it that if you drink all the bubbles on the surface of your coffee, you will soon have lots of money.

A rabbit’s  foot is thought to bring good luck.

 

I’ve never really been very superstitious myself. The closest I come to superstition is believing that I’ll jinx something by saying it. Like by saying, “I haven’t been sick this whole year.” I will probably be sick soon.

I have had a few times in my life where I lied about something and then it happened. I’m too ashamed to put them on here for everyone to see, but you can ask me and I’ll fill you in. Let’s just say that I missed work “to visit a grandmother that was ill” … not really visiting anyone I was just off having fun. But I jinxed her!!!

I would love to hear some funny “superstitious” type things you grew up with. It doesn’t really have to fit with superstitions … it could just be something funny that you believed that really didn’t make sense.

When I was growing up we had this lamp. It had fishing line all around it that oil would run down. My dad convinced us that if we touched the oil it would turn our fingers green and he would know. There’s a part of me that’s still a little frightened of that lamp oil.

Who didn’t have someone in their life that would tell them their face would stick if they made ugly faces all the time?

What are some things you’ve heard?

Comments on: "Superstitious … little stitious" (7)

  1. Okay, as you know I am hispanic so… these are some things that we grew up hearing. Do not point at the rainbow cause you will get warts. If you lift up your hand to strike an elder your hand will dry up and fall off. If you talk back to an elder your tongue will dry up and fall out. Do not eat to much salt cause you will turn into a donkey. If you admire someone like their eyes , hair or something like that you need to touch them or you will give them ojo (or the evil eye). I am so laughing as I write these down. As little kids if there was a storm with a lot of lightening my grandmother would cover all of the mirrors and wrap our heads in cloth diapers or some type of cloth, cause of the electricity. Oh back to ojo or evil eye, they made some round wooden things that represented an eye of a deer and they would pin that on you with a safety pin so you would not get ojo. If you were pregnant and there was an eclipse you had to wear keys so that your baby would not be born with a cleft palate. My sister was pregnant and all of her in laws kept calling her, so to play a joke she put the keys that my mom carries which more than a custodian. It was funny. Anyway that is a few that I have.

    Cyndi

    OH MY WORD CYNDI … I REMEMBER YOU TELLING ABOUT SOME OF THESE AT WORK … IT SOUNDS CRAZY. BUT I KNOW THAT TO SOME … IT IS SERIOUS BUSINESS AND NOT TO BE TAKEN LIGHTLY. I LOVE THE THOUGHT OF YOUR SISTER HAVING ALL THOSE KEYS. BUT MY ALL TIME FAVORITE ONE WILL ALWAYS BE THE DIAPERS. WHERE DO THESE THINGS COME FROM?

  2. Laughing at the mental picture of Cyndi sitting around with a diaper on her head, not being able to see how it looked because all the mirrors were covered!! heheheh Reminds me of “Signs” and the foil hats.

    I was told that eating too much salt would dry up my blood (would I be a donkey with dry blood??) If you dropped silverware on the kitchen floor it meant someone was coming over. If you sing at the breakfast table you would be crying before supper. The old standbys: step on a crack break your mother’s back. Your eyes will stay crossed if you are making a face. Don’t make fun of babies or yours will turn out just like them. Can’t take a shower or talk on the phone if there is a thunderstorm going on. Then we have: If your hand itches, it means you will be getting some money. If you tongue gets a sore bump, it was because you were craving something and didn’t eat it. (Some of these came from my being married into an Hispanic family).

    The first time someone came up to my baby in the grocery store and wanted to touch them (because they had pretty eyes) I almost freaked out! I was about to start throwing punches!! I hadn’t heard the ojo thing. I learned about it the hard way apparently.

    I’m not really superstitious, but I do relate to your “jinx” thing. I hate to say stuff like “Wow such and such hasn’t happened in a long time” because then it will, or I’m afraid that it will. (knock on wood) LOL

    I’M CONVINCED THEY COVERED THE MIRRORS SO THEY COULDN’T SEE HOW SILLY THEY LOOKED WITH THE DIAPERS ON THEIR HEADS.

    GROWING UP, IF WE GOT A BUMP ON OUR TONGUE IT WAS BECAUSE WE HAD TOLD A LIE.

    AS FAR AS JINXING THINGS … I THINK THAT WAS IS TRUE, BUT ONLY FOR BAD THINGS. IF I WERE TO SAY, “WOW, I HAVEN’T FOUND ANY MONEY LATELY … IT’S NOT LIKELY TO HAPPEN.” SHEESH … THE WORLD IS SO HARD TO MANIPULATE.

  3. I think the “don’t shower during a thunderstorm” thing actually does have basis in fact. Maybe. 🙂
    Anyway, my dad says the white marks that can come up on your fingernails are caused by lying. My grandma always says that an itchy nose meant company was coming. My grandpa believed that aloe vera could cure anything. He was probably right about that. 🙂

    I GUESS MY FAMILY LIVED ON THE EDGE BECAUSE I NEVER HEARD ABOUT NOT SHOWERING IN A THUNDERSTORM. ARE YOU MORE EASILY ELECTROCUTED?

    ALL GRANDPARENTS SEEM TO HAVE THEIR “CURE ALL” WITH MY GRANDMOTHER IT WAS WD-40.

    IN PORTUGAL THEY BELEIVED YOU COULDN’T BATHE RIGHT AFTER YOU HAD EATEN. WE WERE ONCE ASKED TO FEED THIS BOY, AT THE DAYCARE, EARLY SO THAT SHE COULD GIVE HIM A BATH BEFORE HE WENT TO THE DOCTOR. WE FED HIM WITH THE OTHER CHILDREN AND IGNORED HER SUGGESTION. THE NEXT DAY … HE DIDN’T SHOW UP. WE JUST KNEW THAT HE HAD DIED FROM BATHING TOO SOON AFTER HE HAD EATEN. FORTUNATELY, HE WAS BACK A FEW DAYS LATER. OF COURSE, THEN WE JUST MADE FUN OF THEIR SUPERSTITION (BUT FOR A FEW DAYS THERE WE THOUGHT THEY MIGHT BE ONTO SOMETHING).

  4. I have never heard the coffee bubbles one, but as much coffee as I have consumed, you’d think I’d see some cash by now!!!! Oh, well, I didn’t owe on my taxes this year and actually got money back……I guess that counts……

    MAYBE YOU HAVEN’T BEEN SIPPING THE BUBBLES OFF THE TOP JUST RIGHT. IT WOULD BE WORTH LOOKING INTO. 🙂

  5. Thought of a couple more while it was raining today… these are my father’s: If the sun comes out while it is raining, it will rain again at the same time tomorrow. If it rains on Easter Sunday, there will be rain for the next six Sundays.

    Of course, I come from central Indiana, so it was extremely likely it would rain pretty much anytime, anyway.

    As to the shower thing… I think the electricity can be conducted through the pipes if lightning strikes the house. So, it’s not much fact, but I used to hear it on those PSAs we would get during the afterschool specials. And at the end of G.I. Joe cartoons.

    I’M HOPING YOUR DAD IS RIGHT. I WOULD LOVE FOR IT TO RAIN FOR THE NEXT 6 SUNDAYS. HOWEVER, I THINK IN TEXAS … IF IT RAINS ON EASTER SUNDAY … IT WON’T RAIN AGAIN FOR THE NEXT 6 WEEKS.

    I’LL HAVE TO THINK ABOUT THE THUNDERSTORM ONE. MAYBE I COULD STILL TAKE A SHOWER, BUT I COULD JUST WEAR A DIAPER ON MY HEAD.

  6. I always heard the one about the sun shining while raining growing up in Oklahoma. And here in Mexico, our kids are touched all the time. When we go back to the states they wonder why no one is touching them.

    Playing baseball growing up I realized all ball players were at least a little stitiouse. So I decided I wouldn’t be. Looking back, I think my superstition was not being superstitiouse. Follow that?

    I know you had to have a million with as much ball as you played. Did you touch the foul line every time or avoid it?

    I WILL TRY TO MAKE AN EFFORT TO TOUCH YOUR CHILDREN WHEN YOU GUYS ARE BACK SO THEY WILL FEEL AT HOME. 🙂

    I THINK THAT BOYS ARE MORE SUPERSTITIOUS IN SPORTS THAN GIRLS … OR AT LEAST THE GIRLS I WAS AROUND. I CANNOT REMEMBER ANYTHING THAT WE DID LIKE THAT. I READ ABOUT PRO BASEBALL PLAYERS THAT HAVE A ROUTINE THEY FOLLOW WHEN THEY ENTER THE BATTER’S BOX ETC. BUT I DON’T KNOW ANY GIRLS THAT EVER DID THAT STUFF.

    WE WOULDN’T STEP ON THE LINE, BUT ONLY BECAUSE IT WOULD GET CHALK ON OUR PRETTY BLACK CLEATS.

  7. did I just say foul line?

    DO YOU MEAN INSTEAD OF BASE LINE?

    WE ALWAYS CALLED IT A BASE LINE, BUT I JUST LOOKED IT UP ONLINE AND IT LOOKS LIKE FOUL LINE IS THE PROPER TERM. YOU ARE GOOD.

Leave a Reply

