You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Speaking of bootleg …

My friend Sherry received a very practical gift from her children for Christmas this year. It’s a little coffee warmer that you can leave on your desk to … in fact … warm your coffee.

We laughed earlier in the year when we talked about warning labels because, as Sherry commented … it warned very strongly against placing Styrofoam cups on it.

Well today, as we ate lunch, I glanced down at the coffee warmer. I could barely read on the top the word “Caution”. Only, as I looked closer I realized that it didn’t say “Caution” at all … it said “CATUION”. I asked, “How do you spell caution?” Because I thought maybe I was just off on my spelling.

I ended up looking at the bottom of the warmer out of curiousity, and you will never believe what it said. This is not a joke … it actually said:

TO FREVENT ELECTRIC EHOCK LINFLUG EEFORE CLEAING

What language is that?

Needless to say … we got a good laugh … and decided that it must be some kind-of bootleg flea market gadget … or it is from some alien planet where getting EHOCKED is a reall threat so to FREVENT it you must be reminded to LINFLUG EEFORE CLEAING.

Comments on: "Speaking of bootleg …" (6)

  1. Shows what quality merchandise you can pick up at WalMart during the holidays!! hahaha
    I laughed so hard when you started finding all that gibberish on the back! Oh my stars!
    Now if I only knew what language would state “attention: surface chaude”..I did find out that chaude is French for “hot” But the mixture of English and French? What would that be? Frenglish?? Or Engrench?

    I VOTE FOR FRENGLISH. I JUST COULDN’T BELIEVE HOW MANY MISTAKES THERE WERE … HOPEFULLY THE QUALITY CONTROL INSPECTION WAS A LITTLE MORE ACCURATE THAN THE PROOFREADING.

  2. I like “Frenglish”!

    ME TOO!!!

  3. Perhaps it is for the bilingual Quebec users?

    I will certainly linflug all of my appliances when not using them– I would hate to be ehocked. (That sounds more like an ebay pawnshop than anything else!)

    EBAY PAWNSHOP!!! THAT’S GREAT. THERE’S E-TRADING … ESURANCE … AND NOW EHOCK. EHOCK COULD BE THE SITE WHERE YOU SELL EVERYTHING BOOTLEG THAT ANYONE COULD EVER WANT.

  4. It’s part of the Chinese plot to take over the world. First they start with the all you can eat buffets where we all become so fat we can’t defend ourselves physically. Then they dumb us down to where we can’t defend ourselves intellectually!

    FUNNY YOU SHOULD MENTION THE CHINESE. LAST NIGHT ALL I COULD THINK OF WAS SOME LITTLE CHINESE PERSON THAT WAS IN CHARGE OF TYPING UP THE STUFF TO PRINT ON THAT WARMER. I PICTURED THEM TRYING TO READ SOMEONE’S HORRIBLE HANDWRITING AND JUST HAVING TO GUESS AT THE SPELLING. THEY PROBABLY KNOW 5 OR 6 LANGUAGES SO THAT’S WHY THERE’S ENGLISH AND FRENCH ALL MIXED IN TOGETHER. I WAS STARTING TO FEEL SORRY FOR THEM … BUT YOUR THEORY ERASES MY PITY AND PUTS ME ON THE DEFENSIVE. THANKS SARAH!!! 🙂

  5. You know Obama met with China’s Hu yesterday during the G20 summit and its been labeled as the “G2”. I bet they stuffed him full of MSG and got the football codes out of him and then gave him something to erase his memory. They’ll probably sell them to North Korea…..never trust the communists! Hee hee!

    Who’s been watching too much 24? ME!

    I THINK YOU’VE MADE A WISE DECISION NOT TO GET CABLE.

  6. My folks actually ehocked my little brother Dennis when we were younger. They etraded him for a tank of gas somewhere between Tulsa and Quincy, Il. After that, we’d take him a fruit cake on our way to visit the grandfolks each year.

    Your story made me a bit esad.

    TIM … YOU MAKE ME LAUGH. I THOUGHT WE MIGHT BE ONTO SOMETHING WITH THIS EHOCKING IDEA … BUT APPARENTLY YOUR FOLKS THOUGHT OF IT LONG AGO. HAD I KNOWN YOU COULD TRADE CHILDREN FOR GAS I MIGHT HAVE BEEN MORE WILLING TO BEAR ONE MYSELF. POOR LITTLE DENNIS. AT LEAST YOU TOOK HIM THAT FRUIT CAKE.

Leave a Reply

