You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

We got it at Bootleg!!!

When I worked in St.Louis I had a few students that seemed to think that “Bootleg” was a store. I would overhear conversations where they were telling another child about some movie that they got at Bootleg.

Finally one day, a student that was as out of the loop as I was asked, “Where is Bootleg?” The other boy replied, “It’s in the back of the Dollar Store over there on King Street.” Hmmph. Well now I know everything.

I recently swapped bootleg stories with a friend of mine and it’s been on my mind. Here are a few of my thoughts about the idea of “bootleg”.

The secretary at the school in St. Louis used to sell movies to the staff for discounted prices. One of my friends bought a few and found out they were really good bootleg copies. However, one of the movies she purchased didn’t work. She asked me one day, “What are the rules about buying a bootleg movie? Can you ask for your money back if your stolen property doesn’t work?” Anyone have an answer? I didn’t. I told her I kinda felt like all sales were final on that deal.

That same secretary also gave us CD’s for Christmas of various mixes. You could select what you wanted and then she copied them for you. I felt like there was something shady going on there as well.

In all my thoughts on bootlegging I started wondering where that phrase actually came from. I love Wikipedia because I can count on it to answer all such questions. The term bootlegging started when people used to run alcohol illegally. They would often hide the flasks in their boot. Thus the term bootlegging.

Now you know everything.

Got any good bootleg stories?

Comments on: "We got it at Bootleg!!!" (4)

  1. Did your principal know the secretary was running Bootleg? I would think she could have lost her job just for soliciting……but throw in the fact that the items she was soliciting were illegal could have gotten her into major trouble!

    BTW, I am running a campaign for Jack Bauer for president out of my classroom if anyone wants to come to our rally. It will be during school hours, and my kids will be involved. What????? I don’t see nothin’ wrong…..

    OUR DISTRICT WAS PRETTY LAX. IT TOOK A LOT TO GET FIRED … THE SPECIAL ED POSITION I GOT, ONLY OPENED UP BECAUSE THE PREVIOUS TEACHER WAS SMOKING CRACK AT LUNCH AND FAILED TO COME BACK A FEW TIMES. HIS FINAL ACT INVOLVED LEAVING FOR LUNCH ONE DAY AND NOT COMING BACK FOR DAYS. WHEN HE DID COME BACK … HE WAS NOT SO SUPRISINGLY DRUG TESTED AND THEN RELEASED FROM HIS POSITION.

    I TOLD YOU ABOUT JACK BAUER BEING DWIGHT’S FIRST CHOICE FOR ASSISTANT REGIONAL MANAGER DIDN’T I? HE FELT LIKE THE FACT THAT HE WAS FICTIONAL AND REALLY BUSY MIGHT KEEP HIM FROM TAKING THE POSITION. JACK FOR PRESIDENT SOUNDS GOOD TO ME.

  2. My grandparents are both from Kentucky, so they have a variety of stories involving bootleg… the real stuff, that is. I am reluctant to repeat them here. So… a few weeks ago, some of our teens at church were going to get together later in the day and watch a movie, which the LCHS kids do a lot. In the course of the conversation, it came out that the movie they were watching was pirated.

    Me: So, you’re telling me that a bunch of Lubbock Christian students are coming to your house to watch an illegally-obtained movie?
    Teen: Yep.
    Me: And none of you have a problem with this?
    Teen: No, not really.
    Me: And your parents? They’re okay with the illegal movies, too?
    Teen: Yeah, I’m pretty sure they are.
    Me: Well, okay then.

    Moral: Keep an eye on those Christian school kids.

    MY DAD GREW UP IN LUBBOCK AND HIS FAMILY RAN SOME MAJOR BOOTLEGGING OPERATIONS. THAT’S USUALLY THE FAVORITE PART OF A FAMILY REUNION IS LISTENING TO THEIR MAGNIFICENT STORIES. PROBABLY WISE NOT TO TELL ALL YOUR GRANDPARENTS’ STORIES HERE … BUT I’D LOVE TO HEAR THEM.

    THE LAST BOOTLEGGED MOVIE I WATCHED WAS WITH SOMEONE FROM CHURCH. THEY WERE SO UNCOMFORTABLE WITH IT THAT THEY JUST KEPT GOING ON AND ON ABOUT HOW THEY NEVER DO THIS. I BOUGHT THE ACTUAL MOVIE WHEN IT CAME OUT TO ATONE FOR WATCHING THE BOOTLEGGED COPY.

  3. I knew someone that would buy bootleg movies at the flea market…bring them home and complain nonstop about the poor quality. I would just shake my head and walk off laughing. I had to walk off or wrap my hands around his neck and try to choke him to death!! hehehe

    I’ll be by your classroom Sarah. This is America! Surely in this country where everything is possible, Jack Bauer can be president!! I don’t see nothin wrong either! 😀

    WALKING AWAY SOUNDS LIKE A GOOD PLAN … THAT OTHER CHOICE WOULD ONLY LAND YOU IN PRISON AND THAT’S NO GOOD.

    THIS WEEKEND I WAS WATCHING COPS AND THERE WAS A WOMAN THAT WANTED THEM TO GO GET HER $20 BACK. SHE HAD GIVEN IT TO SOMEONE TO GET HER SOME CRACK AND ALL THEY GAVE HER WAS A BAGGIE OF PLASTER. SHE FELT LIKE THE POLICE SHOULD HELP HER OUT OF HER PREDICAMENT. SHE WAS ROBBED. THEY JUST SMILED. SOUNDS LIKE THAT SAME, “I BOUGHT AN ILLEGAL MOVIE AND NOW I’M COMPLAINING BECAUSE IT’S WIGGLY” MENTALITY.

  4. Well, confession is good for the soul right? I have *uh-hum* this copy of a kiddy movie. Someone I know has recently thought that they would be “Blessing” me by giving me these quality copies so I would not have to purchase them. Well, I thought it might be okay if I took that movie to church for my nursery kiddos to watch. I know, I know! But remember I am confessing. But before I took it I wanted to watch it with the boys. So we popped popcorn and sat down to watch it. The quality was really good. Then half way through the movie it said Property of (Movie Company) not for redistribution. Then the wording faded out. It was then that I realized maybe taking it to church was not such a good idea afterall. And now I do not keep any movie this person is “blessing” me with, I just watch them and give them back. And I totally plan on buying that kiddy movie as well, because I too need to atone for watching the quality copy.

    I THINK YOU MADE A GOOD DECISION NOT TAKING IT TO CHURCH. THAT NOT FOR REDISTRIBUTION WARNING CAN BE A LITTLE SCARY TO SEE WHEN YOU ARE ONE THAT IT HAS BEEN REDISTRIBUTED TO, HUH? EEK!!!

Leave a Reply

