You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Is it all in my head?

What do you do when  it looks like a bug, but quacks like a duck … and you’re the only one that hears it?

Saturday, February 7, 2009

Today I decided that I might go ahead and look into getting a new car. Mom and dad really want me to get into something with lower mileage.

Sunday, February 8, 2009

Went by the dealership … I really like that Heavenly Metallic Blue Beetle. I think I’ll put a sign on my car and just see if it will sell.

Monday, February 9, 2009

I have already had several people ask about my car. I think I’ll go by the dealership and talk to them.

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

I sold my car and bought the new one. Yippeee. I pull into the garage. Turn it off, and begin to unload my stuff. I’m now quite a bit further in debt than I was 30 minutes ago. But am feeling good. Wait … I hear a noise coming from under the hood of my car. Hmmm … the car only has 5 miles on it. Probably needs some time to break it in.

Friday, February 13, 2009

My car is still making that noise when I turn it off. I can only describe it as a “quacking” sound. I could have dad listen to it tomorrow when he’s in town, but I don’t want him to think something is already wrong with it. Then they’ll say that they knew I should have waited for them to look at it. Nope … I’ll just wait, maybe it will stop on it’s own.

Monday, February 16, 2009

Still quacking. I’ve spoken to several people about the noise. Most just laugh. I guess it’s not really common to have a quacking sound coming out of your car. Wonder if maybe a duck had babies under my hood?

Saturday, February 21, 2009

Okay, the sound is still there. This is the best way I can describe it: I turn the car off, wait about 20 seconds and then I hear, “QUACK quack, QUACK quack, QUACK quack, QUACK quack.” Eeek.

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Today I hit something in the road and I started laughing. I thought, “Great, now instead of a quacking sound, it will start to make that, ‘wah, wah, wah’ sound you hear when someone gets the wrong answer on a game show.”

Monday, February 23, 2009

I’m going to just bite the bullet and take it to the dealership. But I will not say “quacking” they will think I’m crazy. So I will just let him hear the noise and then he’ll fix it.

Me: “Yes, my car is making a noise when I turn it off.”

Him: “What kind-of noise?”

Me: “Why don’t I just let you see if you can hear it.” I turn off the car … nothing happens.

Him: “Maybe if I get in the car I can hear it.”

Me: “Well, it’s usually easiest to hear up by the hood.” He squats down in front of the hood. I start the car, turn it off … nothing happens.

Him: He is kind-of excited as he says, “I heard a “ziiiiiip” sound, is that it?”

Me: “Hmph. No, it’s actually more of a quacking sound, and it’s more than once, usually about 6 or 8 times.” (straight jacket, please)

Him: Looking at me like I’ve lost it. “Why don’t you bring it in tomorrow and leave it with us, we’ll see what we can find. For your own piece of mind it’s best to have it looked at.”

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

My car is there all day. When I go to pick it up. He looks very proud and says that they finally heard a “thfp, thfp, thfp”  (slurping soup or Silence of the Lambs) sound. “So we tightened this hose and fixed it.”

I don’t feel very confident. Had he heard what I heard he would not have just made a Hannibal Lecter sound … he would have quacked.

I pull into the garage a short-time later … and … you guessed it. The baby ducks are still living under my hood.

AAARRRGGGHHH. What are you supposed to do?!

Some of you will remember the “Oh, THAT light!” story. Here we go again …

 Thursday, February 26

I went to the dealership … hoping they would please hear the ducks. THEY DID!!! Told me the sound is completely normal with that kind of engine.

So now that I know they’re permanent … I guess I need to name them.

Comments on: "Is it all in my head?" (3)

  1. I knew you weren’t crazy…or at least not hearing ducks that weren’t there!! (Oh THAT sound!) Maybe it has something to do with the UK…

    Well written Paige…no one tells a story like you!

    THANKS FOR PUTTING UP WITH MY CRAZY LIFE … I KNOW THAT OFTEN I SEEM TO BE QUACKIN’ UP … BUT I SEEM TO GET SNATCHED BACK BEFORE I CROSS THAT LINE. THANKFULLY I HAVE FRIENDS THAT ARE LESS INSANE THAN ME TO KEEP ME GROUNDED.

  2. Now I’ve never had a quacking sound, but I’ve had some strange ones nonetheless. My dad’s a mechanic so whenever I hear something I freak out because I think it could be this or that or this (he planted the paranoia gene well). I’m so glad someone else listens to their engine. It’s good to become friends with the massive piece of steel. Even if you hear ducks.

    And seeing as how I’ve missed a few posts I just wanted to say…I jumped on a surfer riding a motorcylce because I’m NOT crazy.

    That was too funny.

    WOW GO ELAINE, A SURFER? THAT’S GREAT. I SAW THAT POST ON SOMEONE ELSE’S BLOG AND THOUGHT IT LOOKED FUN.

    YES IF MY CAR MAKES ANY NOISE AT ALL I GET PARANOID. I LOVE TO LISTEN TO PEOPLE TRY TO DESCRIBE THE NOISES … IT CAN GET VERY INTERESTING. ANY MORE PROBLEMS AND I MAY CALL YOUR DAD.

  3. Sarah Floyd said:

    I think you should call in Car Talk on NPR.

    NOT A CHANCE.

Leave a Reply

