You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

CAUTION!!!

 

scan00013

I purchased a large pot to use for serving food. I never read the directions on how to use pots, but I happened to glance at this one. When I did I realized it was a good thing because I could have been putting my pet bird in serious danger. Reading this made me wonder about other pets … or even babies. Are bird’s respiratory systems the only ones sensitive to non-stick cooking fumes? 

I read this page and just had to laugh at all the crazy things that are put on labels. Everyone has become quite sue happy these days, but come on. Can I really sue the curling iron company because I stuck the thing in my eye and it burned? Or if I ate the label off of something and it made me sick? Have we just turned into idiots?

I bought a battery operated bush trimmer last summer. I went out to trim my bushes … very excited to use my new toy. The bushes are pretty tall so I’m standing on a stool. Not a sturdy gardening stool of some sort but a wobbly kitchen stool on uneven grass, on a slope. I start to tip over a bit and grab the cutting end of the trimmers with my bare hand. I had released the “go” button but they were still winding down and cut quite a chunk out of my thumb. It’s possible I could have tried to sue the stool company for not making a kitchen stool that can also be used for gardening. I could also attempt to sue the trimmer company because their product didn’t turn off quick enough for me to grab while falling. Would it be worth the money I would get to have to look like an idiot on national television? Not really. I guess I’m just too proud to admit I’m an idiot for money when I can blog about it at my own expense for no compensation whatsoever.

Medicine commercials are the best as far as crazy warnings go. The side effects of most drugs seem scarier than the original ailment. Is it really worth the chance that I could bleed from the eyes or lose my life just to remove a wart?

So what are some of your favorites? Better yet … what’s something stupid you’ve done that you wish you were idiot enough to try to sue someone over?

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "CAUTION!!!" (6)

  1. Oh, heavens, Paige! I’m still flabbergasted at the Today Show’s comparison of saying the Presidential Oath of Office to casting a spell out of Harry Potter. And I’m HUGE Harry Potter fan!

    The other day, I was patching a hole up in my fence with my drill and immediately after pulling the drill-bit away from the screw head, I touched the screw head to make sure it was sound. I felt searing pain in my thumb as the head was hot from the friction created by its encounter with the drill. Ouch! “Warning: HOT METAL BURNS” I’m sure I could have made a case for it. What companies need to do is put one singular label on their products: USE AT OWN RISK. Because in answer to your question, YES, we have turned into idiots.

    MAYBE HARRY POTTER AND HIS SPELLS ARE MORE REAL THAN WE THINK!!!

    “USE AT YOUR OWN RISK” … NICE BLANKET WARNING … GOOD IDEA.

  2. I could be a very rich person if I sued for all the ridiculous, careless things I have done!! My whole life needs a caution label I believe.

    “CAUTION: Laws of gravity do not EVER change.” I stumble over my own feet, fall and rip my clothes, bruise my knee and humiliate myself!! Sue my science teacher for not pressing this point!

    “CAUTION: The 400 degree flat iron may cause 3rd degree burns and blistering of the skin” 400 degrees will burn skin?? Why didn’t someone tell me that BEFORE I made a grab for the stupid thing because the cord got wrapped around the knob on cabinet door!! Who do I sue? The maker of the flat iron or the maker of the cabinet ?

    Now this one is real. My kids recently got me a beverage warmer for my coffee at work. The instructions warn you that it is designed only to keep beverages warm, not reheat drinks that have grown cold. Also, there was a strongly worded statement about the dangers of placing a styrofoam cup on the heating plate!! Heat will melt styrofoam?? When did THAT start happening??? Yes we have turned into idiots.

    THE VOTES ARE IN I GUESS … WE ARE ALL IDIOTS. THEY ONLY PUT THE WARNINGS BECAUSE SOMEONE ACTUALLY TRIED IT … THAT’S WHAT’S SO FRIGHTENING. IMAGINE THEIR DISMAY WHEN THE STYROFOAM CUP BEGAN TO MELT BEFORE THEIR EYES.

  3. Caution: When using epsolm salt as a laxative, be sure to only use 3 tsp not 3 TABLESPOONS in a glass of water……..it tends to clean both ends out for the rest of the day! I just heard someone say they once did that! Glad it wasn’t me…*cough ahem*

    WOW … I DIDN’T KNOW YOU COULD USE EPSOLM SALT FOR THAT. THANKS FOR THE WARNING THAT THE MEASUREMENT DETAIL IS IMPORTANT IN THIS MATTER.

  4. Yay… a forum to list the stupid things I do! I’ve been looking for one of these!

    So in Scotland, we lived next door to a church that had a nice, pretty iron fence around it. I had seen that there was a sign on the wall on “our” side of the building, and one day I told Keely I was going to see what the sign said. It was a warning sign that the paint on the fence was the kind to keep people from climbing it (they said it better than that), and I was all, “What? What do they mean?” So, rather than touch it with one finger just a little bit to see what it would do, I just grabbed the fence and came away with a handful of sticky, oozy paint. Not to mention, I also left my fingerprints behind. Keely was all, “Dummy!” (she said it nicer than that), as I raced home to wash my hands. I don’t suppose I had a case for a lawsuit, though, since there was a sign warning me not to touch the fence.

    Also in the area of warning labels, I love Jeff Foxworthy’s (or maybe it was Bill Engvall) take on the hairdryer’s “Do not use while sleeping” warning. He says, “Never once have I woken up and discovered I was doing my hair. ‘Look, honey, I was sleep-styling again!'”

    SLEEP-STYLIN’ … THAT’S ONE I’VE NOT TRIED.

    WHY DO WE HAVE TO TOUCH OR SMELL THINGS? SEEMS LIKE IF YOU ARE GUARANTEED THAT SOMETHING WILL STINK WHEN YOU SMELL IT OR HURT WHEN YOU TOUCH IT … YOU ARE ALMOST COMPELLED TO DO SO. I WOULD LIKE TO GET MY HANDS ON SOME OF THAT PAINT THOUGH … LOTS OF TRICKS COULD BE PLAYED WITH THAT.

  5. Okay, I have to share something that I have never told a soul. But my newly married husband was witness to it and he STILL laughs about it to this day.

    You know those music displays they have in Wal-Mart, Target, K-Mart that let you preview a selected CD with a simple touch of the button? Well, I saw one in K-Mart one day and it listed an interesting Cd that I wanted to listen to. I pushed the button but nothing happened. I noticed the little number dispaly was not lit up. There was a small hole in the bottom of the case. I put my pinky finger in it becuase I saw a little button. As soon as I got it in there two things happened. One, the sample machine turned on. Two, I realized my little finger was STUCK! Chris said when I ripped it out it made a popping sound like cartoon heads do when they are removed from vases. Of course half of my skin was left in the little hole. And we had to buy bandaids immediately as my finger was oozing blood. But Chris laughed all the way to the pharmaceutical aisle.

    I THINK YOU HAVE CAUSE FOR A LAWSUIT ON THAT ONE ELAINE. ANY HOLE LIKE THAT BEGS TO HAVE YOU STICK YOUR FINGER INTO IT. YOU JUST CAN’T HELP IT. I’M GLAD YOU WERE IN A STORE THAT SOLD BAND AIDS. 🙂

  6. I actually looked at the warning labels on my flat iron yesterday and there was one that said “WARNING: This product will burn eyes”. (there is a picture of an eye with the flat iron pointing at it) I kid you not. Are people straightening their eyelashes with the thing? How many folks have to get hurt before it warrants a warning label?

    LABELS THAT SHOUT LOUD AND CLEAR, “WE ARE IDIOTS!”

Leave a Reply

