You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

A friend of mine used to pray … “God, I thank you for the the blessings I have received, those I am about to, and particularly the ones I won’t appreciate.”

The holiday season is over and most of us have begun settling back into our routines. I know, for myself, I had a good break. I got a  lot done and worked myself hard enough that I was ready to go back to work so I could get some rest. 🙂

We all had things on our wish lists … some were material things … some were more of a prayerful nature than a wish. I hope you got some things that made you smile, laugh, and even cry. If it made your heart feel good … then my prayer was answered.

We had a prayer meeting on Wednesday night to end the year. One of the thoughts brought up was to think of a person that you would love to see blessed beyond belief in the next year. It was difficult to think of just one to mention … but it was so good for me to think about.

I found myself thinking of each person in my life and what God could do that would bless them beyond all they could ask or imagine. I could ask for them to find someone they could share their life with, a good someone that will be trustworthy and true. I could ask for their children to be safe from harm. I could ask for them to find a job and a car that runs. I might want to ask for their sobriety to be secure in the Lord … so that they can live without wondering when that next desire will overwhelm them. I might ask God to remove their depression … help them sleep. I would be willing to beg God on their behalf if He would allow their heart to have some rest … to have some confidence … knowing He is there, forever. I would really love to see huge smiles this time next year as they all sat around saying … “I would never have believed it but …”

Tell me some things you might ask for someone around you … DO NOT put their name. I’d prefer they figure out who you’re talking about.

Also you could mention … a blessing you have received … one you hope you are about to … and one you probably won’t appreciate.

As for me …

I have received a safe place from God to live. I feel safe in my home and I never drive around avoiding going there. It is a place where I can rest.

I am about to receive the blessing of learning to be more unselfish. I feel it coming in the works … the way you feel a lesson coming on that you probably won’t like. I know I will come out of it on the other side, a better person … a better servant … a better friend.

The one I won’t appreciate is a little harder. I think of this more like something that will be extremely difficult and won’t make much sense, but eventually I will look back and go, “Ooohhh, that’s what God was doing.” I’m not going to predict how this will take shape, instead, I will try to prepare my heart to accept the shaping of my master’s hands.

Comments on: "The blessings I have received …" (5)

  1. The blessing I would pray would be for a friend to be reunited with the family members that are most important to that person. I cannot imagine how difficult it must be to be separated from the people you love most in the world. I want God to floor all of us by the way he provides for this friend.

    Paige, like you I am SO grateful for my own home. Sometimes it doesn’t even seem possible, but I am enjoying it even more than I ever imagined. Having a place where I can host family and friends is truly one of the greatest blessings in my life!

    The blessing I hope to receive would be contentment. I find myself consumed by things in this world. I have been praying that God would allow me to be consumed by him. I want to find the contentment Paul had in Phillipians.

    The last one is hard to answer. I don’t like adversity, but most often those kinds of blessings only come through trials. I don’t want to hurt or be uncomfortable. I want smooth sailing. (Insert pouty face here.)

    I UNDERSTAND YOUR DESIRE TO BE CONTENT IN ALL CIRCUMSTANCES. I GET SCARED ABOUT PRAYING FOR THAT BECAUSE, HOW DO YOU GET IT? USUALLY BY GOING THROUGH TOUGH TIMES IN WHICH YOU HAVE TO STRUGGLE TO BE CONTENT. I NORMALLY HAVE IN MIND THAT PRAYING FOR CONTENTMENT MEANS MY LIFE WILL GET EASIER … PAUL SHOWED ME THIS IS NOT THE CASE.

    YOU ARE A GOOD WOMAN SARAH. I KNOW THAT YOU HAVE BECOME A SEEKER OF GOD’S WILL AND YOU ARE TRYING SO HARD TO MAKE HIM LORD OF EVERYTHING IN YOUR LIFE. YOU REMIND ME OFTEN ABOUT BEING A GOOD STEWARD OF WHAT HE HAS GIVEN US. I PRAY THAT GOD AMAZES YOU THIS YEAR. IT LOOKS LIKE HE’S ALREADY ANSWERED SOME OF OUR PRAYERS REGARDING YOUR CLASSROOM … HE DID EVEN MORE THAN WE ASKED. HE’S GOOD!!! HE’S GOD!!!

  2. This is going to be generic, but I generally pray for the people I hold dear to be granted the desires of their hearts and if not, then something immeasurably more than all they could ask or imagine instead.

    I have received peace/release about a burden that has weighed on me for years. It is amazing what a shift in perception can do for one’s spirit! Thank you, sweet Lord!!!

    The blessing I hope to receive is self-discipline. I think that I might actually live up to my potential if I could get this duck in its row. I have a lot to do in the months a head and I’m a champion procrastinator. The other night, I fought going to bed as if not going to sleep would stop the next day from coming . . . I’m really bad about procrastinating things that I know are going to be hard. I think about the verse in Timothy that says we’ve not been give a spirit of timidity, but of love, power, and self-discipline. Maybe if I can become self-disciplined, the love and power would be more effective in me.

    I’m going to go with yours and Sarah’s responses on this one. Those blessings generally boil down to the adversities. Although, if I were to name something, I’d have to say opportunity. I can no longer count the number of opportunities I missed because I was too chicken to act on them, too busy procrastinating, or just flat out didn’t recognize them when they were right in front of me.

    YOUR COMMENT ABOUT A SHIFT IN PERCEPTION IS SOMETHING I’VE SEEN IN MY LIFE TOO. I HEARD ONCE THAT YOU CAN CHANGE LIKE 85% OF THE PROBLEMS IN A RELATIONSHIP JUST BY CHANGING YOURSELF. EVEN IF YOU AREN’T THE PROBLEM, WHICH WE USUALLY ARE (AT LEAST PARTIALLY). BY CHANGING YOUR ATTITUDE AND BEHAVIOR IT REALLY DOES MAKE A DIFFERENCE. WE VIEW THINGS THROUGH OUR WOUNDS WHICH ALTERS OUR PERCEPTIONS. ONCE WE BEGIN TO HEAL, OUR PERCEPTIONS CHANGE, AND PEOPLE AROUND US BEGIN TO GET BETTER.

    I PRAY FOR YOU LISA … I DON’T WANT YOU TO BE SCARED OF OPPORTUNITIES. YOU ARE A WOMAN THAT IS VERY INTELLIGENT AND YOU HAVE AN OBVIOUS RESPECT FOR GOD AND HIS WORD. I PRAY YOUR LIFE BEGINS TO CHANGE IN WAYS THAT HAVE YOU STANDING IN AMAZEMENT OF HIM.

  3. I pray for a friend to have some peace in life and resolution to those energy-draining issues that have gone on for far too long.

    I thank God for freedom from my former life and for this new life, second chance to do things the right way. It was such a stinkin’ cesspool of a life before and I felt so trapped and hopeless. Everyday I wake up and say thank you my life now.

    I hope I am about to experience some healing of past wounds. I know the healing has begun…but I hope it just continues exponentially this year. I want it to be so healed that I don’t even think about the wound any longer.

    Something I won’t appreciate is most likely one of those lessons I need to learn and will fight against and try to avoid. But God will have His way in my life…and I want to let Him…and I will apologize to Him for not appreciating His teaching method 😉

    I KNOW THAT YOU HAVE SEEN TREMENDOUS HEALING ALREADY … I LOOK FORWARD TO GOD SHOWING YOU JUST HOW MUCH OF THAT HE WILL CARRY IF WE LET HIM.

    YOU ARE SUCH AN EXAMPLE OF WHAT HE CAN DO WHEN WE TURN OUR WILL AND OUR LIVES OVER TO HIS CARE. HE HAS STRAIGHTENED UP SO MUCH OF WHAT WAS TWISTED AND PAINFUL. I KNOW THAT HE WILL CONTINUE TO DO THIS IN YOUR LIFE, BECAUSE YOU NEVER FORGET TO PRAISE HIM FOR THOSE BLESSINGS.

  4. I would pray for blessings of peace for my friends…. I know they have been through it and I want them to feel the peace that God will take care of them because he always has and always will. And for the courage to jump on oppurtunites that God puts in their lives……

    I KNOW THAT MANY OF US PRAY THE SAME FOR YOU BARRY. I WANT YOU TO HAVE SO MUCH PEACE IN YOUR LIFE THAT YOU CATCH YOURSELF LOOKING AROUND WONDERING WHY IT’S SO QUIET IN YOUR HEAD. I ALSO WANT YOU TO JUMP ON OPPORTUNITIES THAT COME YOUR WAY … NO LONGER FEELING LIKE YOU HAVE TO WAIT FOR EVERYTHING TO SORT OUT TO LIVE THE LIFE GOD HAS GIVEN YOU.

  5. piratesportsguy said:

    You need your own talk show…..You’re way better than Dr. Phil….and prettier…..;)

    FUNNY YOU SHOULD MENTION DR. PHIL. THE COMMENT I MADE ON LISA’S COMMENT ABOUT CHANGING A GOOD PART OF A RELATIONSHIP JUST BY CHANGING YOUR OWN ATTITUDE … THAT CAME FROM DR. PHIL. MAYBE WE COULD DO A SHOW TOGETHER …

Leave a Reply

