You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

How smart are you?

Okay … how many of these can you answer?

 

 

1. The one sport in which neither the spectators nor the participants know the score or the     leader until the contest ends… (Sarah said Poker which I think fits … I don’t play much poker. But I’m thinking of more of a physical sport. So let’s keep trying.) (Sherry scored a knock out with … boxing, which is the sport we were looking for.)

2. North American landmark constantly moving backward… (Sarah got this with Niagra Falls … The rim is worn down about two and a half feet each year because of the millions of gallons of water that rush over it every minute. Yahoo … good answer.)

3. Only two vegetables that can live to produce on their own for several growing seasons… (Lisa got these … yucky ol’ asparagus and rhubarb.)

4. The fruit with its seeds on the outside … (Sherry got this one, it’s a STRAWBERRY)

5. Three English words beginning with dw … (Sarah answered dwarf, dwell, and dwindle … which is correct.)

6. Fourteen punctuation marks in English grammar… (With the efforts of Lisa, Su, and Sarah we have all fourteen punctuation marks: dash, exclamation point, question mark, period, comma, colon, semi-colon, apostrophe, quotation marks, parenthesis, hyphen, ellipses, brackets, and braces.)

7. The only vegetable or fruit never sold  frozen, canned, processed, cooked, or in any other form but fresh? (Sarah got this one with the wonderful leafy friend of ours … lettuce.)

 

8. Six or more things you can wear on your feet beginning with “S” … (Theresa got shoes, socks, sandals, stockings, and slippers. We need at least 1 more, but I know at least 5 more so don’t quit yet.) (Okay Lisa completed our list with sneakers, saddle-shoes, snowshoes, skates, skis, and sleepers (pj’s with feet … thanks Lisa.) (Theresa got the last one … STILTS.)

Comments on: "How smart are you?" (16)

  1. Ok…you know this sort of thing drives me crazy! I have to know answers!!!!!
    A sport that no one knows until it’s over….track?? as in races
    Fruit with seeds on the outside is a strawberry…yick..peel those babies!! 😉
    I’ll be back when my brain isn’t so tired and try for more answers…

    I KNEW THIS KINDA THING WOULD BE RIGHT UP YOUR ALLEY. I ALSO KNEW YOU’D GET STRAWBERRIES … AND WOULD WANT THOSE SEEDS OFF IMMEDIATELY.

    IN TRACK YOU CAN SEE WHO THE LEADER IS SO THAT ONE WON’T WORK … IRNK! … TRY AGAIN.

  2. fruit not processed….banana?

    six things on the feet…shoes, socks, sandles, silver toe ring, shiny toe nail polish, slippers 🙂

    BABIES LOVE BANANAS RIGHT? SO WE CAN’T COUNT IT IF IT’S MADE INTO BABY FOOD. WE ALSO CAN’T COUNT ADJECTIVES LIKE SHINY AND SILVER. IRNK!!! BUT YOU GOT FOUR THINGS RIGHT THAT WE WEAR ON OUR FEET. GO GIRL!!!

  3. stockings

  4. I guess Poker for number 1.

    Number 2 is Niagra Falls.

    I am gonna guess the fresh vegetable is lettuce.

    Dwell, dwarf, dwindle (I got the first two, but had to look the third up in the dictionary.)

    Punctuation marks – . ! ? , ‘ ; : ” ( ) ^……ok I am grasping here!

    POKER IS A GOOD CHOICE AND ACTUALLY MIGHT FIT I GUESS … IS IT A SPORT? LET’S TRY TO THINK OF ANOTHER ONE. NIAGRA FALLS IS CORRECT, LETTUCE IS RIGHT ON, AND THE “DW’S” ARE CORRECT. I HATE TO BE A BRAT ON THE PUNCTUATION, BUT CAN YOU NAME THEM PLEASE INSTEAD OF JUST PUTTING THE SYMBOLS … THE TEACHER IN ME IS COMING OUT. 🙂

  5. Punctuation marks: Dash, exclamation point, question mark, period, comma, colon, semi-colon, apostrophe, open quote, close quote, open parenthesis, close parenthesis, hyphen, ellipses . . .

    I was going to say coastlines for #2.

    #3 potatoes & watermelon

    #8 Sneakers, saddle-shoes, snowshoes, skates, skis

    #1 Golf???? Chess????

    GOLF AND CHESS ARE NOT THE SPORTS WE’RE LOOKING FOR, AND COASTLINES IS A GOOD ONE, BUT NO CIGAR. POTATOES AND WATERMELON ARE NOT NUMBER 3. NOT A BIG HINT, BUT A HINT NONETHELESS, THESE ARE TWO THINGS THAT I DON’T EAT. GREAT JOB ON THE SHOES AND THE PUNCTUATION.

  6. Have you been watching The West Wing?

    Okay, if you have, then you know why I ask… if you haven’t, there’s an episode in which the staff is sitting around playing poker, and the President asks several of these questions.

    Punctuation: Period, comma, colon, semi-colon, question mark, exclamation mark, apostrophe, quotation mark, brackets, braces, parentheses, ellipses, dash, hyphen. (I admit, I got 13 all on my own, but had to run to the recap of that particular TWW episode for #14.)

    I HAVE NOT SEEN WEST WING, BUT SOMEONE FORWARDED AN EMAIL TO ME THAT HAD THIS LITTLE QUIZ … I BET THAT’S WHERE THEY GOT IT. THANKS FOR PLAYING SU.

  7. Paige, I don’t know that I know you well enough to know what vegetables you don’t eat. As far as I know, you don’t eat any vegetables because just about anytime we’ve gone out to eat, you order dessert! 😛 Asparagus? The vilest vegetable known to man.
    THAT’S EXACTLY WHY I DIDN’T EXPECT IT TO BE MUCH OF A HINT … I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHAT VEGETABLES I EAT. BUT YOU DID IT … DING DING DING! ASPARAGUS IS ONE OF THEM.

  8. Do brussel sprouts reproduce on their own? I really don’t think they do…but I just can’t imagine you eating those!! heheheheh

    BLACHHHH! YOU ARE CORRECT IN SAYING THAT I WOULD NOT EAT BRUSSEL SPROUTS, BUT IRNK … IT IS NOT THE ANSWER. TRY FINDING A VEGETABLE THAT USED TO BE USED AS A SWEET FOR CHILDREN IN THE UNITED KINGDOM.

  9. How about boxing for the sport? I don’t know though because the judges know how they are scoring it, but the spectators don’t and the two boxers don’t really …so …maybe….

    DING, DING, DING, YOU ARE CORRECT.

  10. Beets?

    IT’S NOT BEETS, BUT THE THE CORRECT ANSWER HAS TWO B’S IN IT.

  11. Cabbage

    IRNK!

  12. sleepers (pj’s with feet)

    GOOD ONE!

  13. Ok, you’ve been tagged….rule follower! 🙂

    WHO ME?

  14. Rhubarb . . . bee-bop-a-ree-bop-a-rhubarb pie!!!!

    YIPPEE … GO LISA … STEP RIGHT UP IT IS RHUBARB.

  15. STILTS!!!

    YES!!! GREAT GUESS!!!

  16. Wow…when we put all our brains together we almost have a whole one 😉 heheheh.

    ALMOST IS RIGHT … IT’S A GOOD THING WE ARE WILLING TO WORK TOGETHER.

Leave a Reply

