You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

I am odd. I recognize this … try to keep it from spilling on anyone else … but sometimes fail. I have found, that most of the time you can find someone that has either the same oddities, or something equally as odd if you’re just willing to share about them..

But, there’s nothing worse than that awkward silence when you say something and everyone looks at you like you are nuts. Example: When I was teaching at a school in St. Louis, several of us ate lunch together everyday. We had done this for a year or two. We knew each other well. But one day, somehow in the conversation I said, “Well you know, everyone thinks of killing themselves at least once in their life.” Hmmm … apparently not everyone. I coudn’t believe how they looked at me. For awhile after that they seemed to look at me with a sort of cautionary glare.

Some of my oddities have to do with being claustrophobic. I can be claustrophobic in relationships, movies, conversations, and even certain clothes. I find I can fix most of my claustrophobic attacks by just taking off my socks. I used to cut the toes out of my socks so that I could breathe easier. I’m so much more mature now, that it’s no longer necessary to destroy every pair of socks I own. Actually, I just started buying my shoes 1/2 a size bigger and it helped.

One week, while in a conversation with some ladies, I realized I had only been eating things that started with “P”. It hadn’t been on purpose but odd none the less. I listed off the items in my cabinet: peanut butter, pop tarts, pizza, popcorn, pretzels and pasta. I was excited to realize I had also eaten chicken … no “P” … until it was called “poultry”.  Rats!

I always have to have something to drink … preferably in a styrofoam cup. Once I left my cup and was driving to someones house. I was in the car about 15 minutes. I reached for it at least 4 times … and swear I was dehydrated by the time I got there. I felt so lost without out it … almost panicky.

I’m finding that our little oddities are really what make us unique. Freakishly unique, but unique nonetheless. So embrace your oddities and share them with us please.

Comments on: "Odd is Not Always a Bad Thing" (9)

  1. Oh my! If I start listing my oddities I won’t know where to stop! But for starters…one I confessed just today. The very first thing I do when I start reading a book, is to find that half way point. I put a marker there…or read the page so that I will recognize it when I get there. If it’s a really long book, once I get half way I will measure half again to the end. I don’t know why it is so important to me to know when I am half way…I’m going to read the whole thing anyway! (I have only once in my life started a book and not finished it…no matter how bad it was!)

    I cannot stand for my hands to be dirty…like dusty, oily, sticky, grimy, whatever…I HAVE to go wash them. There are exceptions…I can dig in a garden, pull weeds, mix ingredients with my hands when cooking…but let me sort through a bunch of old papers or dusty records and I will freak out!!

    I love patterns in numbers (especially on the odometer)….I look at license plates and try to make up words with the letters….I count the stairs when I walk up them, every day….I like to read encyclopedias….

    I’ve confessed other freaky things about myself in other blogs so I think I’ll stop now I’m feeling a little TOO odd 😉

    YOU CAN FEEL FREE TO CONFESS ANYTHING HERE THAT YOU NEED TO, BECAUSE OF COURSE IT’S JUST BETWEEN US. 🙂

    CAREFUL WITH THAT COUNTING THING OR ACCORDING TO HEATHER’S COMMENT YOU COULD BE OUT OF THE RUNNING TO BE A SURROGATE.

    I NEVER KNEW THE THING ABOUT COUNTING BOOK PAGES ETC. THAT ONE IS INTERESTING. IT MAKES ME WONDER WHY WE ACTUALLY START DOING SOME OF THESE THINGS. HMMM … THAT WOULD BE AN INTERESTING STUDY.

  2. I love this topic! I l0ve to see what other people’s idiosyncracies are! They make me laugh, mostly because I find I have the same ones!

    I have an aversion to large paper clips. I can’t really tell you why. They are just weird to me. I’d much rather use a small binder clip.

    I used to rub my fingers over my fingernails on one hand and then have to do the same to the other hand so they would be even. I don’t do that so much any more. I had to tell myself to stop and let it go.

    Sherry mentioned reading liking encyclopedias. I like reading the DSM and trying to diagnose people I know with various personality disorders. I LOVE reading about that stuff! When I worked for CPS I would always enjoy reading the psychologicals for my clients! The weirder the better! That’s sad, huh?

    My mom has a medical book on various skin disorders. I love looking at the pictures. It is so gross, but I can’t help myself!

    I am pretty sure everyone would think I am crazy if they could know my thoughts, but I think that is true of everyone. We’d all be freaks together!

    I’M SURE IF WE REALLY GOT STARTED WE WOULD FIND THAT WE HAVE MANY MORE ODD THINGS IN COMMON THAN WE THINK.

    I THOUGHT THAT IT WAS FUNNY WHEN YOU TALKED ABOUT TRYING TO DIAGNOSE YOUR FRIENDS’ PERSONALITY DISORDERS. WHEN I WAS IN COLLEGE AND WE WERE STUDYING TRAITS OF DIFFERENT SPECIAL EDUCATION QUALIFICATIONS I FOUND THAT MANY PEOPLE AROUND ME BEGAN TO FIT INTO THOSE CATEGORIES.

    IF I READ ANYTHING LIKE THAT TOO LONG I’M AFRAID I’LL START TO DEVELOP SOME OF THOSE CHARACTERISTICS.

  3. Well I thought that this was silly, but I have a few oddities… when I eat any kind of chips, cheetos, fritos I have to seperate them by size. When I seperate the mail the envelopes have to be sorted by size also. I can not use hand sanitizer cause then my hands feel even dirtier, and it is like all of a sudden my hands feel so dirty that I have to almost run to go wash with soap and water, on trips it is almost inbearable cause I can not get to wash my hands when I want to… I am a little bit crazy.

    I DON’T KNOW ABOUT CRAZY, BUT I DO KNOW THAT YOU ARE WONDERFUL. DID YOU LEAVE OUT THE FACT THAT YOU CAN’T EAT CHIPS THAT ARE BROKEN OR IS THAT SOMEONE ELSE?

    SORTING THINGS BY SIZE DOESN’T MAKE YOU ODD – JUST ORGANIZED. 🙂

  4. My sister had to do a psychiatric evaluation in order to be a surrogate mother. It included the questions ‘do you count random things ie stairs…’ and ‘do you ever feel like there is a rubber band strapped to your head’. She answered yes to the first one and was kind of freaked out that she was going to be shipped off somewhere. It was funny. She passed… everyone has oddities you are right. I used to sleep with cotton balls between my toes because I hated them touching. Currently, I don’t share food or drinks. Not even with my offspring. If they want a drink… they can just have it. I know that is weird but honestly all the other things I do seem completely normal. Maybe Mike should be posting my oddities!

    THERE’S NOTHING LIKE FILLING OUT PAPER WORK LIKE THAT AND ANSWERING YES TO QUESTIONS THAT MAY GET YOU PUT AWAY FOR AWHILE. I’VE NEVER FELT LIKE I HAD A RUBBER BAND STRAPPED TO MY HEAD, UNTIL I READ IT AND NOW I’M FREAKING OUT. 🙂

    I’M TRYING TO THINK OF ANYTHING ODD I MIGHT REMEMBER ABOUT YOU FROM THE OLDEN DAYS. I CAN’T COME UP WITH ANY. I JUST KNOW THAT YOU MADE ME SMILE A LOT. I RAN ACROSS A NOTE THE OTHER DAY THAT SAID SOMETHING LIKE, “DON’T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT PAIGE”. I THINK YOU HAD PUT THAT ON MY DOOR BECAUSE I WAS LOCKED IN TO STUDY FOR A TEST. ALWAYS LOOKING OUT FOR ME MY FRIEND … THANKS.

  5. Email Girl said:

    I’ll just cut right to the strangest and leave the rest up to your imagination. I never knew I did this until someone that I sat with everyday at lunch in the breakroom asked me about it. She said “why do you always eat around your sandwich first, and then eat the middle?” Do I do that??? Yes, I do. Goes for burgers too. I think it has something to do with saving the best for last.

    The knowledge that I do it didn’t change anything for me either. I do it every single time. If I try and eat it like a normal person it totally messes me up.

    Oh well……Thanks for the fun topic!

    I’M PROUD OF YOU FOR NOT CHANGING. WITH ME, IF SOMEONE POINTS IT OUT, THEN I CAN RARELY DO IT AGAIN WITHOUT THINKING ABOUT IT FIRST, AT LEAST IN FRONT OF THAT SAME PERSON.

    I EAT THE MIDDLE OF A REESE’S CUP FIRST AND THEN THE OUTSIDE. MY GOAL IS TO EAT THE ENTIRE MIDDLE WITHOUT BREAKING IT, BUT IT RARELY HAPPENS. I ALSO HAD A FRIEND THAT USED TO EAT SNICKERS FROM THE TOP TO THE BOTTOM ALMOST LIKE AN EAR OF CORN OR SOMETHING. WHERE DO THESE THINGS COME FROM?

    I CAN’T WAIT TO WATCH YOU EAT SOMETHING … HURRY UP AND VISIT.

  6. piratesportsguy said:

    I like to hang out with weird people….and apparently so do the people I hang out with….that’s it…oh and I can only eat pumpkin pie on thanksgiving day. never ever on a regular day. and I always answer the phone on the third ring or i don’t answer it…oh and i have a.d.d.

    I LIKE HANGING OUT WITH YOU SO I GUESS YOU’RE SAYING I’M WEIRD. ANY IDEA WHY THE THIRD RING IS SIGNIFICANT? YOU COULD NEVER WORK IN OUR OFFICE BECAUSE WE HAVE TO ANSWER ON THE FIRST RING (YOU KNOW HOW MY BOSS IS.). THE A.D.D. THING I CAN UNDERSTAND … HAVE THAT MYSELF … THAT’S NOT AN ODDITY THOUGH … IT’S AN AFFLICTION. THANKS BARRY. 🙂

  7. Well, really if you knew what went on in my head you would consider me certifiable.

    But I CAN”T stand to have my feet touched if they are cold. It feels wierd to me. And I will share drinks and food, but not milk or ice cream. That stuff is so thick anyway, I am afraid there might be backwash in it that I could not see. And the longer I have kids the more birthday cake grosses me out. I mean they blow out the candles and what comes with it when they blow? When I eat chips and salsa I have to break the chip in half first before I dip. There are more but I want you to like me so I will keep them to myself.

    I REALLY THINK WE WILL LIKE YOU EITHER WAY. SOME OF US LIKE PEOPLE MORE WHEN WE SEE THAT THEY ARE STRANGER THAN WE ARE. 🙂

    MOST PEOPLE SAY THAT HAVING CHILDREN MAKES THEM USED TO BACKWASH, SPIT, ETC. I’M GLAD TO HEAR SOMEONE THAT’S MORE LIKE ME. HOW CAN YOU GET USED TO SOMETHING LIKE THAT? THE BIRTHDAY CAKE THING HAS BOTHERED ME FOR YEARS. THE WAY PEOPLE ARE SO GERMAPHOBIC THESE DAYS I WOULDN’T BE SURPRISED IF SOMEONE STARTS A NEW TRADITION WHERE BLOWING ON THE CAKE IS NOT INVOLVED. WONDER WHAT A COMPARABLE ALTERNATIVE WOULD BE? HMMM … I’LL HAVE TO THINK.

    THANKS FOR STOPPING BY ELAINE.

  8. Well I am going to have to say, I am a very normal person and I do nothing out of the ordinary. Most people look at me and think that I am a calm, laid back, and often boring guy.
    I mean everyone doesn’t eat the end of the french fry that you were touching with your hand, or leave every last bite of food, or do just about anything for attention.   Everyone does those things, so I guess that makes me pretty normal.

    I FIND IT ODD THAT YOU THINK YOU ARE NORMAL. NOT THAT YOU AREN’T, BUT RARELY IS SOMEONE REALLY DARING ENOUGH TO GO OUT ON A LIMB AND ACTUALLY TRY TO CONVINCE OTHERS THAT THEY ARE NORMAL. DID I SAY “TRY TO CONVINCE?” OOPS. I’M NOT SAYING YOU MUST “CONVINCE” US … BUT IF YOU WANT US TO GO ON THE PRESENT FACTS, WELL, YOU MUST TRY HARDER. YOU ARE AS ODD AS THE NEXT GUY, MISTER.

  9. Well, my original comment was going to be that I was impressed that you try not to spill your oddness on others, because my feeling on my oddness is, “Here, have some,” whether the person sitting next to me wants any or not.

    So, here’s an oddity that my supervisor and I sort of share: We both sort our M&Ms by colour. She eats the smallest quantity first, then works her way up. I eat to keep the numbers even, except that I always eat the blue ones last. (One of my aim classmates used to steal the blue ones, just to watch my blood pressure rise.)

    I colour-code all my reports at work, and if someone “borrows” my highlighters while my colour-coding is in progress, then I freak out. (No, I cannot just use a different colour.)

    I keep my cross-stitch thread in order by number, and my crayons in order by the colour spectrum. My husband is no longer allowed near my colouring books, because he coloured Snoopy green the first time I let him have a page.

    Unlike earlier commenters, I’m not too worried that you may not want to hang out with me any longer based on my quirks. 🙂 Obviously, that’s because we haven’t hung out in like, 11 years. However, this comment is getting long, so I suppose I’d better cease with the list and move on now.

    I PROMISE IF I’M EVER WITH YOU I WILL NOT STEAL YOUR BLUE M&M’S OR COLOR SNOOPY GREEN. I ALSO DONT MIND IF YOU WANT ME TO SHARE IN YOUR ODDNESS … I THINK THAT’S WHAT MAKES LIFE MORE INTERESTING. 🙂

    THANKS SU … IT’S ALWAYS FUN WHEN YOU COMMENT.

Leave a Reply

