You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Last night I was reminded of a funny story. When Snack (the small dog in the picture) was about a year old, we went to the lake with my parents. He and Deni both went … as well as my brother’s kids. Deni was older and crabby and the kids knew to stay away from her … but Snack was a cuter, more puppiesh looking dog and they wanted to play with him constantly. When they would run past him he would bark … it would scare them … he would get into trouble. Not them for running everywhere … but him for barking. (that’s another story entirely)

It got bad enough that we decided we needed to help him not bark. On our next trip into town we bought him a shock collar. We came back to the barge and fastened it securely around his neck, not really knowing what to expect. Before we could really even prepare, one of the kids ran past … he started to bark … but just the gurgle in his throat set the thing off. He let out a squeal and shot across the floor. My husband immediately looked at me and said, “Take it off.” I couldn’t get it off of him fast enough. When we took it back to the store the cashier said, “You couldn’t do it could you?” We just shook our heads no, and walked away.

This may not fit together completely … but in my head it does … so here we go.

One of my favorite stories in the Bible is from Numbers 21. It’s short … only 4 verses … but those 4 verses say a lot. The Israelites have gotten impatient. They’re tired of what they’re eating, they’re tired of walking, they’re tired of everything at this point and they start to complain and blame God. God sends venemous snakes to bite them and some of them die. The others run to Moses and begin to apologize (nothing like snake bites to straighten you up a little). They ask Moses to pray to have the snakes taken away.

Instead God has Moses make a bronze snake on a pole. Anyone that was bitten by a snake could look at the bronze snake and live.

The Israelites messed up … realized it … confessed … asked for the snakes to go away. God heard them. He didn’t take away the snakes, but He provided a way of rescue for them. They still had to live with the consequences of their sin, but they no longer had to die for it … if they were willing … they coudld choose life.

Hmmm … that sounds a lot like what He did for us … except it wasn’t through a bronze snake … it was through Jesus.

Comments on: "Shock Collars and Venemous Snakes" (2)

  1. Ay poor little Snack!! It makes me laugh, but still…poor baby!

    The brass snake thing…they had to live with the consequences of their sin, but they could be saved from death. That was such a good point!! When you brought that out Saturday, it really struck me. They still had to deal with the snakes biting them. God said “anyone who is bitten can look at it and live”. He didn’t take the snakes away, but He saved them from death. I have to live with the consequences of my sin. I still have to get bitten sometimes. Yet He promises if I obey Him I will be saved. Good good stuff there! Thank you for teaching.

    I AM SO GLAD HE GIVES US A WAY TO LIVE!!!

  2. That story makes me sad for your little Snack! You and Sherry are right, sometimes it takes us getting bitten to realize what we’ve done. I hate that I am so hard-headed that that is the only way he can get through to me! I don’t want to have to get bitten in order to turn myself around! I want God to open my eyes to see those snakes in advance, so that I can FLEE!!!!

    GOD HAD TAKEN CARE OF THEM OVER AND OVER. IT’S HARD TO BELIEVE THEY DIDN’T JUST ASK FOR HIS HELP WHEN THEY NEEDED SOMETHING … THEY JUST KEPT COMPLAINING. DO I EVER DO THAT? SURELY NOT. OOOPS. I WISH I DIDN’T. BUT FORTUNATELY HE PROVIDES A WAY FOR US TO LIVE EVEN THOUGH WE MESS UP OVER AND OVER.

Leave a Reply

