You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Why are you His favorite?

You are only allowed to comment if you are willing to say some positive things about yourself. Please comment. It will be good for your heart to admit that God really does like you and think you are special. I read a quote the other day that said, “You are unique, just like everyone else.” Ha! I like that. You are unique … and God loves you for it.

What is something you love about yourself … something others love about you … something strangers can see … something no one knows … something God loves?

I’ll go first:

Myself? … I love that I can make myself laugh and that I’m easily entertained. The voice I hear in my head might scare others if they could hear it … but it cracks me up all the time.

Others? … I’m easy. I am not real hard to get along with. I am quiet until I get to know you, but after that I’m pretty easy-going and flexible.

Strangers? … I’m polite. I try to understand the stress others might be under and be a pleasant part of their day. I open the door, help carry things, smile.

No one? … if I told you then someone would know, and that would ruin it.

God? … I think God loves my honesty. I’m not much of a chit-chatter, but when it comes to “real” talk … I will be honest. I spent a lot of my life being less than honest and I’m trying to make up for that.

Your turn …

Comments on: "Why are you His favorite?" (7)

  1. I know a man, when you ask how he is, he answers “I’m great…’cause I’m God’s favorite!” That always makes me smile.

    Now…for me…
    Something others love? I have had a few people tell me that my laugh was infectious. I hope that doesn’t mean that it makes them sick!!

    Something strangers can see? I hope that they see how much I love my kids.

    Something God loves? I think He loves the fact that I came home…and that I want so much to do things right this time.

    Something I love about myself? I saved this one for last, because it is the hardest for me…but you have rules here so I’ll try. I like my optimism. I tend to project goodness onto things, even when it may not necessarily be warranted. Sometimes that opens me up to getting hurt or disappointed, but I am still glad that I thought the best of something or someone.

    And for the record…you crack me up all the time..so it’s not just the voice in your head that is amusing!! 😀

    THANKS FOR REASSURING ME THAT IT’S NOT JUST ALL IN MY HEAD!!! 🙂

    ME? I LOVE YOUR LAUGH OF COURSE … IT IS INFECTIOUS IN JUST THE RIGHT WAY. BUT I ALSO LOVE YOUR HEART. YOU TRUST PEOPLE TO DO THE RIGHT THING … AND TO BE HONEST. YOU LOOK FOR THE BEST IN THEM. IT’S GOOD FOR ME TO BE AROUND SOMEONE LIKE YOU.

  2. piratesportsguy said:

    I really hesitated about doing this…..

    Others—Some people think I am funny….laughing sure beats crying

    Strangers? That I am concerned about them and I wanna help.

    God? He loves my heart.

    Myself? That I want to help hurting people.

    I’M GLAD YOU WROTE … EVEN IF IT WAS WITH HESITATION.

    ME? I LOVE YOUR SENSE OF HUMOR. I ALSO LOVE YOUR HONESTY. WHEN YOU GET PAST THE JOKES AND THE ONE LINERS, YOU HAVE A SINCERITY ABOUT YOU THAT ONLY COMES WHEN SOMEONE HAS BEEN AT THAT JUMPING OFF PLACE AND DECIDED TO JUMP TO JESUS INSTEAD OF THE ALTERNATIVE. I’M GRATEFUL YOU MADE THAT CHOICE.

  3. Man, this one is hard. I have been thinking on it for a few days.

    Others – how much I love doing things for the people I care about!

    Strangers – that I am kind and friendly (hopefully?!?)

    Myself – my persistence. When I want something I will work my tail off to get it. Some people call it stubbornness/hard-headedness. I prefer to reframe it in a positive way. 😉

    God – That I am seeking/serving him in a way I have never done before. And that I belong to him.

    I LIKE THE REFRAMING! GOOD JOB.

    ME? HAVING BEEN ON THE RECEIVING END OF YOUR CARING HEART … I LOVE IT. I REMEMBER WHEN I FIRST STARTED WORKING AT THE CREDIT UNION YOU STOPPED BY AND BROUGHT US ALL A DRINK FROM MARKET STREET. EACH OF US ACCORDING TO WHAT WE LIKED. I APPRECIATED THAT THOUGHTFULNESS. IN MY BIBLE, I STILL CARRY A MARKER YOU MADE FOR ME MANY, MANY YEARS AGO.

  4. Oh, and the things you love most about Sherry and Barry are my most favorite things too!

    I love your sense of humor! It makes me feel more normal! You always make me laugh!

    MY SENSE OF HUMOR MAKES YOU FEEL MORE NORMAL?! HMMMM. THAT’S A COMPLIMENT I’VE NOT RECEIVED BEFORE. WE DO SEEM TO LAUGH AT MUCH OF THE SAME TWISTED STUFF.

  5. Loved the sticker! Wow… this one is toughie.
    What is something others love about me? Maybe my commitment?
    What’s something strangers see? That I love my boys. I hope.
    Something God loves about me? I hope He sees that I realize I can’t do it on my own. I hope He loves my dependence on Him.
    Something I love about myself? I love the gift of words God gave me.

    And when I met you Sherry you were so friendly, I felt like I met someone I had already know. And Paige you were very polite to me–made me feel like a welcomed guest. And Sarah–I love the way you love my bunch. You really have a servant’s heart!

    This was a nice blog to be a part of! I feel like I can tell myself–“I’m good enough I’m smart enough and darn it people like me.”

    ELAINE, I’M SO GLAD YOU STOPPED BY. YOU ARE AN AMAZING WOMAN. I’VE GOTTEN TO SPEND A LITTLE TIME WITH YOU, BUT MOSTLY I LEARN ABOUT YOU THROUGH YOUR BLOG. YOU HAVE A WAY OF EXPRESSING YOUR HONEST HEART THAT HELPS ME SEE HOW IMPORTANT GOD AND YOUR FAMILY ARE TO YOU.

    ME? I LOVE THE DEVOTION YOU HAVE TO YOUR FAMILY. I KNOW YOU WORRY ABOUT BEING A GOOD MOTHER. THE NEXT TIME YOU HAVE ANY BIT OF A DOUBT ABOUT YOUR WORTH, OR YOUR SUCCESS AS A MOM, I WANT YOU TO DO ME A FAVOR. LOOK IN THE MIRROR AND RECITE THREE TIMES, “You’re Good Enough, You’re Smart Enough, and Doggone It, People Like You.” STUART SMALLEY WOULD BE PROUD!!! 🙂

  6. Elaine…thank you. You are such a dear person. I saw immediately why Sarah loves you like she does! And your boys are so polite and kind…you have done a great job with them!

  7. Email Girl said:

    I wanted to avoid this one but it just called my name to give it a try.

    Others? People I really know have no doubt that I’m devoted to them. And when I allow the real me to be seen they see that I have a good sense of humor and am sometimes pretty funny and I love to laugh.

    Stangers? I hope they can see that I’m more than just their first impression.

    God? hmmm. I think He sees that I’m doing the best I can and that I do love Him even when I’m not great at showing Him. Hes God…so I know He sees that I have a good heart that yearns to be who He intended me to be.

    Myself? I’m always punctual. I’m good at the kind of work I do. I go the extra mile for others…this can work both ways…positive and negative. I genuinely care about people…esp those that have been mistreated in some way. And I adore my children with every ounce of my being.

    Whew…I did it….that wasn’t easy but I think its a good excercise for all.

    I’M SO GLAD THAT YOU COMMENTED. I WISH YOU WOULD PRINT OUT YOUR WORDS SO THAT YOU CAN REMEMBER THAT THEY ARE “TRUTH” … SO WHEN LIES CREEP IN, YOU’LL HAVE A REMINDER.

    ME? I LOVE THAT YOU LOVE YOUR KIDS AND THAT YOU ARE WORKING TO GIVE THEM A GOOD LIFE. YOUR HEART IS CHANGING AND GROWING … GETTING STRONGER. YOU’RE ALREADY THINKING IN WAYS YOU NEVER THOUGHT POSSIBLE … HANG IN THERE.

Leave a Reply

