You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Why do we call them practical jokes?

A practical joke or prank is a stunt or trick to purposely make someone feel foolish or victimized, usually for humor. The term “practical” refers to the fact that the joke consists of someone doing something (a practice), rather than a verbal or written joke. A practical joke can be caused by the victim falling for a prank, the victim stumbling into a prank, the prankster forcing a prank on the victim, the prankster causing others to do something to the victim, or even causing the victim to do something to others.

Do you like when you are the victim?

I personally do not. Now I don’t mind when someone, who may remain nameless, messes with my seat at church. If they were to perhaps: put a baby chair in my spot, collapse the table onto my chair, turn my chair upside down, place my chair on the tabletop etc … I would not mind … and might even chuckle.

But I do not like when they embarrass me or tear up my stuff. When I was in elementary school we had a soccer slumber party. While I was sleeping they put my knee pads in water and then put them into the freezer. Being the child that I was … not really seeing an easy solution of thawing them out … I bent them and actually broke the inside padding in half. My mom made me wear them … they were not quite as effective as they had been prior to the incident.

Do you like when you are the prankster?

The best one I think I was ever a part of was when I worked at a bank in Illinois. My friend and I worked in the drive-thru and a very high strung girl worked in the lobby. One day my friend brought about 10 pennies that she had glued together in a line. We put them on the lobby girl’s tray with some loose pennies on top. When she got down to the glued pennies we thought she would laugh and think we were very “practical”. She, however, did not. She thought they were her pennies and that she was not going to balance at the end of the day … it was 10 cents … not a big deal … really. But we never admitted to doing it because it blew up so big. She came to the drive-thru to use the phone. We heard her telling her husband to be ready because she was going to need a drink when she got home. Sheesh! I’m so glad we didn’t glue her Sacajawea dollars together … she would have probably had a seizure.

What practical jokes have you been a part of? In general, do you think they are funny … or immature and annoying?

*** The workplace is the most common site of practical jokes. Don’t worry boss, I’m too lazy to try any of these.

Comments on: "Practical Jokes … Funny or Frustrating?" (7)

  1. When I worked for CPS I had a cubicle. My friend, Kim, was in the cubicle next to me. Our friends, Amy and Paige, took polaroids of our cubicles and switched them and put everything in the exact spot, but in the other cubicle. It was pretty funny, until I found out Kim wanted to switch back. I just wanted to keep them the way they were. We ended up spending two hours moving our stuff back to our original cubicles. By that time I was not a happy camper!

    I think one of the most fun pranks I have ever done was at the end of school last year. My team teacher, Kristen, and I decided we were going to get a class of 5th graders because they had been playing jokes on Kristen. We planned a full on assault with water balloons, water guns, shaving cream, and silly string. It was the most fun! Nearly the entire 5th grade was involved before all was said and done, along with our two classes of 4th graders! That still makes my heart happy thinking about it! Everyone had a great time!

    I REMEMBER HOW EXCITED YOU WERE AFTER THAT WATER FIGHT. YOU KNOW THOSE KIDS WILL KEEP THAT MEMORY FOREVER.

  2. I have a husband who has spent his life playing practical jokes so most of my knowledge of them comes from him. I have been the victim and the accomplice on many ocasions. Being the victim has been ok sometimes, other times it just made me mad. Being the accomplice is not too bad of a position cause you get a charge from it but you don’t take the rap.

    Since my husband spent his years growing up playing practical jokes on his family and friends, they chose our wedding to “get revenge”, and I have to say they did a pretty good job of it. The biggest “joke” was played by the best man. (I believe he was the mastermind behind the whole evening) He got to my maid of honor and convinced her to go along with him too…so we were betrayed all around. When it was time, the preacher asked for them to give us our rings. We were handed pipe cleaners in the shape of rings…mine even had a little “solitaire” on the top. We were stunned….the preacher was stunned. Everyone up on the stage was cracking up. We got married with pipe cleaner rings, for real. They gave us the real ones out in the hall after the ceremony. Those “dear” friends of ours weren’t finished though. During the reception they were very busy working on our car in the parking lot. We were oblivious of course. When we were trying to leave we discovered the entire interior of our car was filled with crumpled newspaper, door handles where all covered in KY jelly, condoms were hanging from anywhere they could find to hang them. I was mortified. We sat on the newspapers and took off. Did I say the car was full of paper??? Well…it really was cause we got down the road a bit and a person popped up in the backseat…scared us half to death. We turned and took him back to the church. We thought it was over…could there be more? Oh, yes, there could. We had people honking at us like mad all the way to the hotel that night. We were kind of surprised by the amount of recognition we were getting. When we got to the hotel, we climbed out of our paper filled car and walked back to the trunk to get our things out. What we found was what looked like a lower half of a man, jeans, shoes everything sticking out of our trunk. That explained all the honking for sure. Surely it was over? Nope. Just when we settled in for the night to go to sleep, there was a knock on the door. I jumped up to look through the peep hole only to find my husbands sister and all their friends that came to the wedding from OK standing there smiling. We didn’t let them in. After a few minutes of knocking, hotel security came and asked them to leave. That was a moment of sweet victory for me.

    BTW, the best man eventually made nice with me when he used our pipe cleaner rings and other things from our wedding to make me a shadow box to remember our “wedding” day. I’ve since forgiven him.

    WOW … I GUESS IT’S TRUE THAT IT ALL COMES BACK TO YOU. SOUNDS LIKE YOUR HUSBAND DISHED OUT A LOT OF PRACTICAL JOKES THAT YOU EVENTUALLY GOT TO BE REPAID FOR. WHAT A CRAZY WEDDING.

    I’M LIKE YOU … I DON’T MIND BEING AN ACCOMPLICE. I HAVE NO PROBLEM POINTING THE FINGER AT THE ONE WHO STARTED IT ALL.

  3. Well I must say I am not much of a practical joker. It takes a lot of creativity to pull off some of that stuff and I just don’t have it. And I couldn’t keep a staight face. I would be laughing and everyone would know I was up to something. So I will just go on and live my innocent, non practical joking life.

    YOU’VE GOTTEN BETTER AND BETTER AT KEEPING A STRAIGHT FACE … I DON’T KNOW IF I BUY THE “INNOCENT, NON PRACTICAL JOKING” LINE. IS THIS FAMILIAR?
    http://www.careerbuilder.com/monk-e-mail/Default.aspx?mid=28101694&cbRecursionCnt=1&cbsid=b8d6adf0835b475fadc7fc03d797b91b-275394194-KF-5

  4. I am not a fan of practical jokes from either side. I don’t find them funny…and I cannot hardly bring myself to do something like that to someone else, knowing how it would make me feel. Small innocent things…I can tolerate. I don’t like them even but I can usually get over it.

    Email Girl!! What a wedding~I would have been crying I’m afraid!!

    ***counting my blessings that someone is too lazy to pull off a stunt in the office 😉

    I DID HANG SOME THINGS IN YOUR OFFICE AT THE CHURCH ONCE. BUT THAT WAS MORE OF AN ORGANIZATIONAL TASK THAN A PRACTICAL JOKE. 🙂

  5. Don’t believe Kelly when he says he is innocent.
    He pulled a joke on me that about put me in tears.
    He and his uncle together convinced me that I had left him at the restaurant 40 miles away and I about freaked out, I think he was about 16 maybe?
    I won’t forget that one Kelly.

    HE DOESN’T HAVE ME FOOLED. I’VE FOUND THAT JOKES LIKE THAT … THAT MAKE SOMEONE ALMOST CRY … ARE USUALLY NOT FUNNY UNTIL A FEW YEARS LATER. 😦

  6. You are right, we laugh about it now, and remember it well. It really was a good one, and he got me but gooood.
    What I did not tell you was the reason behind the joke. I had just played a good one on the uncle, my brother in law, by giving him a fake lottery ticket. He really bought into that one, and was pretty excited for a couple of minutes there, so guess I deserved it.

    THAT CHANGES THE STORY A LITTLE … YOU MIGHT HAVE DESERVED JUST WHAT YOU GOT. 🙂 THOSE FAKE LOTTERY TICKETS ARE TERRIBLE. I’VE SEEN THEM ON “FUNNIEST VIDEOS” AND I ALWAYS FEEL SO SORRY FOR THE PEOPLE WHEN THEY FIND OUT THEY’VE BEEN TRICKED.

  7. Hey Paige! The best practical joke I heard was a veteran grocery store stocker training a newbie: He told him that he had to go to the salad dressing isle every hour and shake the Italian dressings so they looked more appealing to the customers. And he did. For a whole week, they let him do that. Hilarious.

    Love ya!

    I THINK IT WAS TIM THAT TOLD STEPHANIE THAT, WHEN IN PORTUGAL, IF YOU SAW DOG POOP ON THE SIDEWALK YOU WERE SUPPOSED TO HOLD UP YOUR HAND AND SAY, “MINHA”. SO PEOPLE WOULDN’T STEP IN IT. SHE DIDN’T KNOW FOR QUITE AWHILE THAT SHE WAS ACTUALLY SAYING, “MINE”. I CAN NEVER DECIDE IF THAT STUFF IS FUNNY OR JUST MEAN. I GUESS IT DEPENDS WHICH SIDE OF IT YOU’RE ON. IT WAS GOOD TO HEAR FROM YOU!

Leave a Reply

