You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Not a good sign

 If you happen to be doing laundry one night and notice a puddle on the floor beside your washing machine what do you do? Let’s say you decide to investigate the leak and you remove the front of the washer (while it’s still washing) would you be startled if you saw this sign?

I have to admit it was a little unsettling to see this little guy getting electrocuted. I never figured out where the leak was coming from. But oddly it only leaks when the front panel is on. So I’ve left it off for now. Amazing how after you see that little man a few times you don’t even notice the “DANGER” sign above his head. You only notice that his legs look a lot longer than they should be.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

I guess it’s because I live alone that I’m learning to be quite independent. My dad looks at me with frustration … outlined with a little pride when he sees pictures like these:

In case you can’t make out the pictures (the quality is quite poor), this is what it looks like when you stuff a recliner into the back of a Volkswagen Beetle. I really couldn’t believe that I was able to do it, but I thrive on challenges like this. After removing said recliner from the Beetle I proceeded to drag it upstairs by myself. This is really only the beginning of the stupid things that living by yourself forces you into (especially if you are impatient, obsessive compulsive, and too proud to ask for help).

Am I the only one that knows what it’s like to not want to ask for help?

Comments on: "Not a good sign" (4)

  1. I love those pictures! Go girl! You get that recliner up in there!

    I don’t know if it was like this for you, but my dad was the one who made me independent. I still hear his voice telling me to take care of myself and don’t depend on anyone else. It is funny how that applies to everyone else BUT him! I can’t tell you the number of times I was doing something and he came along and took it out of my hands because he could fix it better and faster. I have gotten to a point that when it comes to dad, I just let him. I can’t do that with anyone else, though. So I guess you could say I learned the lesson he wanted me to learn, “Don’t depend on anyone else unless it is me”.

    I think the other part of that was having a much older brother that I wanted to keep up with. I always wanted to do whatever him and his friends or him and my dad were doing. It was almost a challenge, like “I can do that, too!” More times than not that mindset just got me injured. 🙂

    I CAN UNDERSTAND THE “GETTING INJURED” PART. I’M JUST LUCKY THAT THE INJURIES HAVE NOT BEEN SERIOUS.

    MY DAD TAUGHT ME THE SAME THINGS YOUR DAD DID. I ALSO HAVE AN EX-HUSBAND THAT PROMOTED INDEPENDENCE IN ME. I ACTUALLY LIKED THAT MOST OF THE TIME. I DON’T MIND DOING THINGS FOR MYSELF … IT MAKES ME FEEL GOOD. THERE’S A SORT-OF PRIDE IN BEING ABLE TO SAY THAT YOU INSTALLED THE KITCHEN SINK WHILE YOUR HUSBAND WATCHED NASCAR. 🙂

  2. I have done things like that, because 1. I grew up watching people just do things for themselves 2. I was married to a man that WOULDN’T help and 3. I am now divorced from said non-helper and have children whose favorite words are “Just a minute”. So being the independent, impatient person that I am…I just go ahead and do things on my own.

    Not long ago, I took apart my daughters brass bed…and carried it, along with the box springs and mattresses up the spiral staircase of doom that leads to my attic. Not easy…I almost killed myself…and did end up with several bruises. But I wanted it up there…right then!!

    I think my kids have a little of that in them too…since they got a full sized pool table up those same circular stairs!! 😀

    That recliner in the bug is a classic…I’m glad you have pictures!

    THERE’S NO BETTER TIME THAN THE PRESENT, RIGHT? I TOO, HAVE NO PATIENCE WHATSOEVER. I MEAN WHO GETS OUT OF BED AT 10:30 AT NIGHT TO MOVE A HUGE EXERCISE MACHINE UPSTAIRS?! IS THAT PROOF OF “CDO”? NAH!

    I DID NOT KNOW ABOUT THE BED YOU MOVED UP THAT STAIRCASE. HAVING SEEN THAT THING I CAN’T EVEN IMAGINE HOW YOU COULD HAVE ESCAPED WITHOUT AT LEAST A WEEK OF SOME KIND-OF CHIROPRACTIC CARE … GOOD JOB.

  3. Whatdya need a recliner for. Couldn’t you just drive your beetle in front of the tv and recline? OK I have done that so many times it is sad. I put an entire pole vault landing system in the back of my truck. I had it stacked up so tall that it was about 3 times higher than the pickup. And drove it from lubbock to Clayton, NM. about 240 miles. It is actually a sign of a problem I have. I don’t need help. I still do stuff like that but I do get help in other areas now.

    ODDLY ENOUGH, THE BEETLE WON’T FIT THROUGH THE DOOR … IT’S NOT AS SMALL AS IT LOOKS. IT HAULS A RECLINER FOR CRYING OUT LOUD.

    I CAN TOTALLY SEE YOU DOING THAT. I THINK FOR GUYS IT IS MULTIPLIED BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO LOOK LIKE YOU KNOW WHAT YOU’RE DOING AND THAT YOU DON’T NEED HELP. I’M GLAD THAT YOU’VE ASKED FOR HELP IN THOSE AREAS WHERE IT REALLY COUNTS … YOU’RE DOING GREAT BARRY.

  4. Ok Paige, it is official….you are my hero! I love your determination and kick booty-ness! You rock!

    KICK BOOTY-NESS IS THE EXACT COMPLIMENT I WAS SEEKING … THANKS SARAH. 😉

Leave a Reply

