You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

What is BASE?

The picture above shows Deni and Snack after a game of tag. Actually it was more like chase … bite … chase. Deni was usually a little crabby since she was older. Snack being a typical male puppy … would always bother her. On the day this photo was taken he had been messing with her and when she went after him he ran to that mattress and plopped down. I’m almost sure I heard him scream, “Base!” as soon as he got there.

A friend of mine recently sprayed their backyard for ticks. She mentioned that they failed to spray the porch area. It didn’t take long for all those ticks to start heading for the porch … she said she couldn’t believe how many of them there were.

We started joking about how they were all screaming, “Get on base! Get on base!” Someone made the comment … “The porch was always base wasn’t it?!”

This brought back lots of memories of tag games played as a child. We would use whatever was most convenient for BASE. If I was “it” I would make the base the tiniest little thing possible, that way not many people could fit on it. If I was not it … base was … the house. Something huge like that. I wanted to be able to get to base as quickly as possible.

Base is defined as a starting point, safety area, or goal. When I think of base I usually think of a safe place. It’s the place where you stand in a game where you can’t be tagged. You can rest there … regain your strength … plan your next move.

I love the verse listed to the right that talks about the Lord being a strong tower … the righteous run to it and are safe. What better base than Jesus. He is always a safe place … a place where I can rest and catch my breath … regain my strength … plan my next move.

I’ve recently begun to view His church as a sort-of base as well. This was not true for most of my life. But when things began to crumble around me … I found my base. God provided a group of people that allowed me to breathe. They let me camp out as long as I needed in order to catch my breath and get ready to start playing again. I thank God for this little church that constantly shows me that there is safety with God’s people.

What do you think of when you think of BASE? What is your safe place? Do you have a place where you can go to breathe and rest?

Comments on: "What is BASE?" (3)

  1. Well, I have to agree that our little church is a base itself. I am excited to get there and be with everyone else that calls it base as well. It has been good for my heart.

    I think the Lord has provided me with a base in my new house. I feel so safe here and it is so quiet and comfortable. That is what I have always wanted where I live to be…a refuge.

    My parents house is that way too. They have a big front porch where I lay in my hammock and swing the day away when I visit them.

    I am blessed that God thinks enough of me to provide me with a number of places where I can feel like I am on base!

    I REMEMBER READING IN THE OLD TESTAMENT THAT THEY HAD CITIES OF REFUGE FOR PEOPLE WHO HAD COMMITTED MURDER. I DON’T UNDERSTAND ALL THAT IS INVOLVED BUT THEY WERE FOR PEOPLE THAT HAD KILLED SOMEONE BY ACCIDENT. IT WAS A SAFE PLACE FOR THEM TO GO UNTIL EVERYTHING WAS SORTED OUT.

    GOD HAS PROVIDED SUCH REFUGES FOR US … PLACES WE CAN GO AND BE SAFE UNTIL THINGS GET SORTED OUT. I’M GLAD THAT YOU HAVE SUCH PLACES AROUND YOU. GOD HAS SMILED ON YOU. 🙂

  2. I love that picture!! Look at little Snack! Awww!

    I have to concur that the Open is my safe place. I haven’t had many in my life but that place is my haven. When my ex-husband visited (shortly before he was my ex) I was so shaken! That was MY refuge from him. I was devastated. But God took care of that…He showed me I was safe no matter what. God is my strong tower. I have an army of friends to help protect me. Thank you Father.

    SNACK NEEDED A BASE OR ELSE HE WOULD’VE BEEN EATEN … THAT’S HOW HE GOT HIS NAME.

    I’M GLAD THAT YOU GOT TO KEEP YOUR SAFE PLACE. THE GOOD THING ABOUT THOSE KINDS OF PLACES IS USUALLY THE PEOPLE THAT WANT TO HARM US ARE NOT GOING TO FEEL COMFORTABLE THERE … SO THEY WON’T STICK AROUND LONG.

    LIKE YOU … I’VE NOT HAD MANY PLACES LIKE THAT IN MY LIFE … BUT WE SURE HAVE ONE NOW. I THANK GOD EVERYDAY FOR BRINGING US TO THIS SAFE PLACE.

  3. Oh Paige, I am a HUGE schnuazer lover and just fell in love with your two. Any time you need a sitter, I will gladly volunteer!

    I am like Sarah, for me my base is my home. I hope that my family would say the same. That there is no other place they would rather be. God has blessed us so greatly with our home. I pray His presence would always make anyone who comes here feel safe.

    AREN’T SCHNAUZERS GREAT … I THINK IF GOD HAD A DOG IT WOULD BE A SCHNAUZER. 🙂

    I’M SURE THAT YOUR BOYS WOULD AGREE THAT THEIR HOME IS A SAFE PLACE. JUST FROM THE LITTLE OF I’VE SEEN OF YOUR SPIRIT I KNOW THAT IT HAS TO BE A PLEASANT PLACE.

Leave a Reply

