You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

I do not know the last time I saw Crag but it had to be about 13 or 14 years ago. He was an assistant during my AIM class, but I never really spent a lot of time around him. Most of what I knew about Craig came from what I saw from a distance. There are also things I learned through the whispers of AIMers past … passing on the legend of Craig Hicks.

What I saw was a man that was always energetic … to put it mildly. He was a very animated teacher that kept your attention … not just with his elaborate hand gestures … but with his eloquent speech when speaking the Word. He is a teacher … even today.

Some of the “legend” I’ve heard probably needs to be disproved or confirmed. I will allow anyone to do this … Craig you are also allowed to defend yourself if needed. 🙂

 

Did Craig really wear a suit and tie and carry a briefcase the first day of AIM?

What is the truth about his racquetball prowess?

Did he really sneak out during mission term to eat at Whataburger? Did he also rat out Theresa Wilson for doing the same thing?

What was the name of that car … you know … the one that seemed to love living at the auto shop more than at home?

Is it true that Craig saw Elvis all over the place … including several baptistry’s across Texas and New Mexico?

Is it true that Craig allowed some of the AIMers to float down the River of Life at Oral Roberts University?

If anyone has any information to fill in some blanks it would be appreciated.

I’d also love to hear any encouragement that you can give to Craig … he’s an amazing man of God that is both a leader and a servant … a student and a teacher.

Craig teaches and encourages me often at … http://craigallenhicks.wordpress.com

Thanks Craig!!!

Comments on: "The Legend of Craig Hicks" (6)

  1. 1. Yes, I carried a briefcase. No suit though. Just slacks and a dress shirt. No tie either. However, Theresa Wilson will deny and lie about this issue.

    2. Chadd and Rex were champs at raquetball. My prowess was limited to being able to get off the floor quickly after falling. Rex and Chadd were ruthless and would have stepped on me with nary a regret.

    3. Yes, I ate at Whataburger during the mission term. WITH Theresa. She paid. We were ratted out by a classmate. Rex called the Whataburger one night while we were eating and spoke to Theresa. The next day in class Rex went through Theresa’s carbon copies in her checkbook and discovered we were habitual rule breakers. It was our version of the Nixon Tapes. After that we burned the evidence and made sure we ate in more discreet places. Sadly, the person who sold us down the river soon “expired” under mysterious circumstances. They found her in the parking lot of a McDonalds.

    4. Dodge Valiant- I think. I loved that car.

    5. Yes, I saw, and continue to see, Elvis all over the place. Especially in baptistrys.

    6. The water wasn’t deep enough to float. We carried an AIMer to the River of Life as if he was cripple. As soon as he touched the water- BAM!!! He could walk again. He danced around to prove it.

    Thanks so much for your encouraging words.

    THANKS FOR CLEARING SOME OF THAT UP … 🙂

    YOU ARE A GOOD MAN …

  2. Craig! I am so glad to get to hear more about you….I wish that I knew some other way besides from the blog…but if that is all I ever have…it is enough. I love to read your blog. I missed you tremendously while you were taking a break.

    I found your blog from Rex’s…and I have really truly been blessed by your writings. The first day I went to your site you had written about Job..that’s my favorite book…so I was hooked right away!

    Thank you so much for sharing your life….your heart…your insights…in blogland. You are a blessing to me….and I’ve never met you. Now that is God at work, definitely!

    Sounds like you had some interesting and entertaining times during AIM!! Good stories…yall must have had a blast!

    p.s. I’m sure that any “trouble” Theresa Wilson might have been in was not her idea! She’s completely angelic and glows in the dark!!!

    YES THERESA GLOWS IN THE DARK … DENNIS ON THE OTHER HAND … IS A DIFFERENT STORY ALTOGETHER.

  3. Rex Boyles said:

    On this site I am not allowed to mention what I know about AIM experiences … but I reserve the right as an old man, who used to be a preacher, to “trick or treat” those who are featured here.

    I have known Craig Hicks since his first day in Lubbock – over 20 years ago. I have played raquetball with Craig and relish the memory of “stepping” on him as he lay writhing in the floor, begging for mercy. I have traveled with him for miles and days, going somewhere to preach – all the while listening to him preach to me. I have hurt Craig and been hurt by Craig, and we have discovered in each other a real friendship – born of the love and forgiveness of Jesus. I love Craig Hicks. He has the heart of a prophet – roaring the majesty and Word of God … the mind of a student – curious and seeking to know the truth of God’s will … the life of a disciple – determined to follow Jesus regardless of where he lives or what he does for a living. May God fill your every good intention with His power and magnify Jesus in your life – for all of your life. I love you, Craig. Thank you for loving me … for forgiving me … for including me in your life. Rex

    ISN’T IT A BEAUTIFUL THING TO HAVE SUCH A FRIENDSHIP …

  4. Craig, Craig, Craig…you definately are losing the facts here….
    Definate suit and tie on the first day of AIM…bow tie to be exact! as for Whataburger…yeah, that was pretty much how it went down…I remember it well…I was really scared that Rex was going to call me into his office…but the classroom outing was so much more humiliating!

    I love seeing how God is still using you to reach so many others. Sounds like you are letting Him use you wherever you are! God bless you and Amy!

    THERESA … THANK YOU FOR SETTING THINGS STRAIGHT. A BOW TIE?! AS FOR THE WHATABURGER THING … WAY TO GO. I THINK WE ALL HAVE OUR “FAST FOOD” STORIES … SOME GOT CAUGHT … SOME DIDN’T.

  5. oh yeah…as far as glowing in the dark…not sure if I am that innocent! Or maybe its just I haven’t changed my batteries in a while! Thanks for the confidence though!

    YOU MAY NOT GLOW IN THE DARK … BUT YOU SURE DO SHINE. YOU ARE A GOOD WOMAN.

  6. I can not believe I have missed out on this one! Having a baby really does take you away to another place and time(it is called no sleep). I may be late but I must comment.

    I was one of those aimers that followed after Craig to his mission field. My understanding was it had been years since a team had been there after the amazing Craig, Theresa, Dale, Nancy, Tonya Team!(and I think there was one more). Anyway, I say all that to let you know time had past before the team I went with got there. One of the ladies that I grew to know and love remembered everything about Craig. Loves Craig, adores Craig and I think if age was not a factor would have married him(ha-ha). She was a delight to always be around and thanks to the work that God did in Craig, she was added to the Christian faith.

    So, Craig left a legacy (as did his other team mates) on the mission field. Okay so maybe my story is not a funny one but it does reflect what kind of a person Craig is.

    The ironic part for me was the first time I heard Craig preach was about this lady. Never in a million years would I have thought that the opportunity to put a face with the story would arise. Thanks Craig for your amazing spirit!!!

    I’M NOT SURPRISED TO HEAR THE IMPRESSION THAT CRAIG HAD MADE ON THIS WOMAN AND OTHERS … HE IS MEMORABLE – FOR SURE.

    THANKS FOR SHARING THIS STORY … I LOVE THE IDEA OF YOU MEETING THAT GOOD WOMAN AND GETTING TO SEE THE IMPRESSION HE HAD MADE ON HER. THAT IS ALWAYS A GOOD REMINDER TO ME THAT WE TOUCH PEOPLE NO MATTER WHAT … IT’S BEST IF IT’S IN A GOOD WAY.

Leave a Reply

