You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Jason and Heather Thornton

thornton-family.jpg

I wish that I knew these guys better. It has been so long since we were in AIM … 1992 … 16 years … can anyone believe that?!

This weekend we had a Mark Study workshop and I was fortunate to meet Aaron … Jason’s brother. It made me start reflecting on our AIM time … and I just can’t believe how long ago that was.

 In AIM I remember Jason singing, singing, and singing … usually with Stuart and Jon.

jason-thornton.jpg

I vaguely remember Heather. That has been such a long time ago that all of my memories are sparked by pictures. If I don’t have a picture of it … I probably won’t remember it.

I know, from reading Heathers’s blog  http://swallowedup.blogspot.com/ that they have a boy named Eli and a girl named Julia. I love reading the stories Heather writes about them. Check out her blog … it will make you smile.

heather-thornton.jpg

 Heather and Jason … if you’re up for it … let us know what you’re up to. What has been the most memorable experience from your field time? How long have you been married? How old are your children? What is your funniest memory from your AIM time in Lubbock … on the field? What is your favorite story about your children?

I would love to hear from you guys …

I would love to hear from the rest of you BASERS … help me encourage Jason and Heather with your memories and kind words.

Comments on: "Jason and Heather Thornton" (5)

  1. Although I don’t know you guys as well as I would like…you have touched my heart over the years. As AIMers, you liked each other but always tried to keep it in check with your commitment to AIM and the work you were called to.

    With the struggles and the joys over the years I always saw you put God first and help others know Him….even in the midst of HUGE tragedy.

    You, now, continue to do just that. May I learn from your strength as you continue to follow God. Thank you for the example you are and for the family you are.

    God Bless,

    RaDonna

    JASON AND HEATHER HAVE ALWAYS BEEN AN EXAMPLE OF STRENGTH FOR ME TOO.

  2. I was out of the “AIM World” by the time Jason and Heather had taken their major roles in it. But I have always heard about Jason and Heather and heard nothing but good! My dear friend Jenny Nye would talk about how amazing Jason was and his influence on her decision to go to AIM. It was a few years before I actually met him and Heather. They are wonderful people, what little time I did spend with them was a blessing. I can only imagine the blessing they are to the people who get to be around them all the time now.

  3. Well, long disappearance for me here. Hi everyone.

    I feel like I got to know Jason and Heather in a new way when they let Tim and I live in their house with all their possessions before they had officially moved up to Tulsa. We were in the process of getting rid of all of our stuff before moving here and the timing was just great. They were so generous to do that and Heather even went through all the toys to leave a kid room that was safe and fun for Quincy. The present we gave him on his second birthday was something of Eli’s that he had dearly loved when we lived in their house.

    Also, we get to know them more through our relationship with Memorial. They both work with Tim’s dad and the church is our sponsoring congregation. His dad always mentions their positive additions to the church there and describes them both as “quality people.” He loves the atmosphere of their office which Jason and Heather played a great role in molding into a welcoming and life giving place. I agree.

    Hotseat for Heather: The church office receives our finances and deposits them for us. Once she wrote a “joke” email to us that church had been contacted by Bank of America and that there was a zero balance in our account. But by the time I got it, she was unavailable to comment and Jason did not know about the joke. So for a little while a thought either someone else was trying to mess with us or that something very strange was going on with our money. She said that her practical jokes are never believable, so I actually think she was proud of the trouble she caused.

    Anyway, we are really blessed by Jason and Heather, although we do not get to see them often either. When we do get together on our short trips home, I feel like God grows bigger and stronger in and around us while we are talking. It feel really good.

    Kim Rush

    I AM GLAD THAT THEY WERE SUCH A HELP TO YOU BEFORE YOU GUYS MOVED TO MEXICO. THAT MUST HAVE BEEN SUCH A BLESSING AT A HECTIC TIME IN BOTH YOUR LIVES.

  4. oops, I did not proof read. so fix the obvious typos in your minds. And, we did not steal one of Eli’s toys to give to Quincy when he turned 2. Ha. We bought something that he had loved playing with at the Thornton’s house. If they are missing anything, they will never be able to prove that we do or do not have it or that we did or did not break it.

    Kim

  5. Once, Jason and I went to eat pizza together. When we finished there was half left over and we asked for a to go box. A long time passes and we have to ask again. The lady comes back and tells us there has been a mistake. She put the pizza in a box and but then, without thinking, she threw it in the trash. “But, it didn’t really touch anything in the trash, so I can still bring it out to you.” (long, long pause as Jason and I stare at her not knowing what to say.) “Or, we could just make you a new pizza to replace the half that I threw away.”

    “YES, YES, we’ll take the second option, thank you very much.”

    I THINK YOU GUYS MADE A WISE CHOICE.

Leave a Reply

