You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Lisa Robertson

Hey Lisa …. how’s it feel to be in the Hot Seat?

I have just recently started getting to know Lisa. I met her when I was an assistant, but really don’t remember a lot. So my memories of her are all pretty recent.

Lisa is one of those women that will do just about anything to help someone out … to make them feel welcome. She makes really good cookies, I mean really good. She likes to laugh and enjoys taking pictures with her cell phone. I can’t count the times she has shown me a picture on her phone … usually it’s good for a laugh.

She teaches some great kids and most definitely has patience. I know that she cares about them and really takes to heart the challenges in their lives.

She has been an encouragement to me in the past months and my life has been blessed through getting to know her.

lisa.jpg

All right Lisa … your turn …

Tell us about your favorite field experience, and  your worst field experience. What has been the most challenging part of your job? How do you make those awesome cookies? If you could have one magical power what would you want it to be? Feel free to share any other little tidbits of information you think might be interesting.  

Comments on: "Lisa Robertson" (9)

  1. Rex Boyles said:

    I have known Lisa for over 20+ years. She is today … as she has always been the model of devotion. She is devoted to her family … to her friends … to her students … to her Lord. I am particularly moved by her devotion to her students – who are not the students most find adorable, much less valuable – but Lisa does. She does more then her duty toward them … she is devoted to them … delights in them … and expends time and energy – heart and soul for them to have what they need. Watching her talk about “my kids” sounds like what it must have looked like to see Jesus taking the little ones in His arms – laying His hands on them – blessing them. Lisa blesses her students … but also blesses the rest of us that get to see her cellphone pictures and hear her stories. Thank you, Lisa … and thank you, God, for Lisa. Rex
    p.s. If I write an extra comment – do I get some cookies????

    I AGREE … DEVOTED IS A GOOD WORD TO DESCRIBE LISA. SHE IS SUCH A BLESSING. BASE IS NOT A WORKS BASED SITE … SO YOU DO NOT HAVE TO COMMENT A SPECIFIC NUMBER OF TIMES IN ORDER TO GET COOKIES. I’M SURE LISA IS GOING TO BRING YOU COOKIES JUST BECAUSE YOU ARE YOU. RIGHT LISA? 🙂

  2. Ahhh Lisa. I cannot adequately express the “goodness” of Lisa. But I will try. Lisa, barely knowing me…honestly, came over to my house and brought movies and her good company when she heard that I was going to have a rough night. What kind of person does that?? A good person. A person that has a heart like Jesus. That touched me so very deeply. And that act was just a small touch of the goodness of her spirit. She cares so deeply for the children that she works with…it is obvious in her words and actions.

    Lisa has such a wonderful perspective on life. She is intelligent and witty and I love to hear her laugh. Her particular “funny bone” is so fun to discover and watch.

    God has blessed me richly by bringing her into my life…into my circle of friends. I don’t know how I got so fortunate. And it really, and truly, has NOTHING to do with the wonderful candy that she brought to me. Really. I promise. I will not be like Rex.. trying to “buy” cookies with comments!! 😉

    I REMEMBER WHEN SHE DID THAT FOR YOU … SUCH AN ACT OF KINDNESS. I’M SO GLAD THAT YOU HAVE THE BLESSING OF “LISA” IN YOUR LIFE. THAT WAS SOME GOOD CANDY WASN’T IT?!

  3. Where to start? I don’t think I can describe Lisa any better than to say she is devoted. That is who she is, it is what she does. Lisa doesn’t just go the extra mile, she carries your luggage as she goes along. Above and beyond doesn’t begin to cut it! I have been blessed by Lisa every day since I met her. Lisa truly believes that God can do the impossible. She knows His ability, and won’t settle for anything less in her prayers.

    The neat thing about Lisa is when you become friends, you don’t just gain a friend, you are adopted by her family. Lisa comes by her devotion honestly, it is the example her parents have set before her.

    Thank you, my friend! I will never be able to put into words just how much I love you! God has blessed me richly with your friendship.

    I LIKE THAT YOU’VE HAD THE BONUS OF BEING ADOPTED BY HER FAMILY … FROM WHAT I’VE SEEN THEY ARE GOOD PEOPLE. I LIKE THAT “SHE CARRIES YOUR LUGGAGE” AS WELL … I KNOW SHE HAS REALLY BEEN A GOOD FRIEND TO YOU. THANK GOD FOR LISA.

  4. I do not know Lisa real well, but what I see, I like a whole lot.
    Since I do not get to be with my own daughters on a regular basis, I like having some young women to be around and enjoy thier company and learn their sense of humor,
    especially Lisa’s. I like what goes on in her heart. It has been a real blessing to me to be around Lisa, and I can see the beauty of Jesus in her.

    THE BEAUTY OF JESUS REALLY DOES SHINE THROUGH IN LISA DOESN’T IT … AND HER SENSE OF HUMOR IS A GIFT THAT MAKES PEOPLE WANT TO BE AROUND HER.

  5. Wow! Thank you my kind, wonderful friends! My favorite field experience was when we met up with the European teams in Bertchesgarten, Germany. Running around in that huge hotel and down in Salzburg. All of Amy’s money falling into the toilet. The games of nertz. It was just so much fun!

    One of my worst experiences on the field was one of my teammates and I fell out. It was my fault. It took time to repair that relationship. And I wondered if I had not blown it for good at times. It did make us stronger.

    The most challenging part of my job, is knowing that all the work I do is only as good as it is carried out in the home . . . which for most of my students is unlikely. But tomorrow, I will get out of bed and do it again because maybe, just maybe down the road somewhere, it will click and they’ll actually be OK.

    I’d love to be able to put people on mute when their indiscernible chatter makes me in sane.

    I think I’m growing new cowlicks . . .

    THANKS LISA … HOPE YOU FOUND A LITTLE ENCOURAGEMENT HERE TO GET YOU THROUGH YOUR DAY. YOU ARE A BLESSING TO US …

  6. I met Lisa many moons ago at Skyridge. It was a great summer and I was blessed to be able to spend that time getting to know her and Melinda – along with Mike Mahan, my little brother…and others…I remember getting to talk a lot about AIM. I also remember getting to meet Lisa’s brother Charles at that camp.

    Unfortunately for me, that was my last year with AIM and I moved off to Russia while Lisa and Charles both came to AIM. I was glad she did…

    I was also glad that Lisa showed up later at the Children’s Home…knowing the kind of heart that it takes for a young person to leave home and go off to another country because of her love for Jesus – was the kind of heart I always wanted to have around the kids I worked with at the home.

    Now Lisa is there with my favorite people on this earth. I am glad when I hear what a blessing she is…and I was proud and thankful when I heard what she did for my dear friend and sister Sherry – I am thankful, Lisa, that you and your family continue to love my best friend, Rex – and that you are such a blessing there in Lubbock working with kids who need someone like you to bless them.

    I pray that God gives you lots of years to keep being who you are and to keep doing what you are doing! Tell your brother I said hello! Lord willing I will see you again in a couple months.

    GLAD THAT YOU WERE ABLE TO EXPERIENCE LISA’S HEART FOR CHILDREN … ISN’T IN AMAZING?

  7. Hey Lisa,

    I feel like I don’t know you as well as the others that have commented… but I want to tell you that I think you are pretty amazing. You’ve always had a great reputation (I mean, people talk about you behind your back ALOT… and they all say really nice things.)

    So, I wanted to say that I have a lot of respect for you, even more so after reading your blog and seeing your love for those children. God has greatly blessed them by putting you into their lives. No telling where their roads will lead, but having crossed your path, I know their way will be much brighter.

    And I got to say… You’re hysterical.

    WISH YOU HAD A CHANCE TO GET TO KNOW HER TIM … YOU WOULD REALLY ENJOY HER SENSE OF HUMOR.

  8. Tim-thank you so much for your kind words. I remember you signing something to me sometime during AIM and using the word “serendipitous”. And this might mean that my wires are crossed, but you, especially you, saying that I’m “hysterical” . . . wow, that’s a serious compliment for me!

  9. Well, I fell off the planet for a while, and found my way back, if it’s ok. Much to my surprise, you’ve “hot-seated” Lisa Robertson….the one and only!

    Lisa,

    I’m glad you mentioned that your favorite field experience was the retreat in Germany. But you didn’t mention our moment of greatness!!

    I have always been amazed at your ability to remember things. You have the best memory of anyone I know. Seriously, how do you remember all the things that you do? I have also been amazed at your ability to bring humor to a situation. And we’ve laughed a bit. Thank you for that by they way.

    I’m not the best person at staying in touch with people. I’m coming to grips with that. When I look back on significant time spent with others, you’re there. I’m sorry I’ve not kept up better. There is more that could be said here from my heart on that matter, but I’ll leave it at that.

    You are a special person to alot of people and I’m thankful that you know that. Please don’t forget it.

    Maybe someday we’ll sit down and have a proper catch up session. By the way, did you ever know Colin Ferrie in Scotland? Just wondering.

    Love you Lisa!

    GOOD TO HEAR FROM YOU AGAIN FLEE … AREN’T YOU JUST AMAZED AT LISA’S MEMORY? I AM ALWAYS SURPRISED BY THE THINGS SHE COMES UP WITH.

Leave a Reply

