You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

~~~~~ Theresa Wilson ~~~~~

Let’s bring in the New Year with Theresa in the Hot Seat.

 I have known Theresa since I was in AIM in 1992, and yet I don’t feel like I’ve ever really gotten to know her. I regret that. I wish that I would’ve taken more time when I came back to Lubbock in 2006 … but I let my own awkwardness get in the way.

 I know a few things about her though … 

She loves her family … people … and especially children. She’s worked on several foreign fields. She’s worked with the children’s home in Lubbock and now Cozumel.  I know that she adapts well on a foreign field. I’ve read her blog (http://www.denniswilson.com/theresa/) and I know that she did her best to have some familiar foods for her family on Thanksgiving. That takes some effort in a place like that.

wilson-family.jpg

She is devoted to whatever her heart attaches too. She did so much for our little church group. We didn’t realize how much until she was gone. I don’t know how she found the time to do it all, but she did. 

 She searches the Word … wanting to learn more about her Creator … and sharing that knowledge with others. She is a good woman … with a huge heart.

Theresa … I know you are busy, but if you have the time please tell us a little about yourself and your work in Cozumel. What is a typical day like for you? If you have any free time what do you do with it? How involved are you with the work at the children’s home? How do you adapt to such a challenging environment when working on a foreign field?

whole-group-dennistheresa.jpg
Please take some time to encourage Theresa …
Comments on: "~~~~~ Theresa Wilson ~~~~~" (10)

  1. Rex Boyles said:

    Theresa, dear Theresa … getting this chance reminds me of when Jesus mentioned that Mary’s gift to Jesus (annointing with perfume) would be mentioned in memory of her wherever the gospel is preached.

    I have mentioned T all over the world when preaching … the day she responded to the invitation, taking off her engagement ring – deciding to come to AIM … the day she handed an invitation (pink) to a college student, who was lost in more than one way but saved a year later through that one invitation … the day she came back from her mission to be my co-worker, training young men and women to serve across the street and around the world … the day that she welcomed me home, when others stood off like the older brother … and now the day that she left a good job and a comfortable life for a another mission of love for children in Mexico.

    Theresa is one of my heroes, and I am honored to count her – not only my student … my co-worker … my sister … my friend …

    WHAT AN AMAZING WOMAN.

  2. Paige,
    I also did not have the time to get to know Theresa well. I taught her AIM class for a few days one October. And I’m pretty sure I saw her a time or two more than that…whether in Tulsa or some such place. I remember this though…I remember her smile…always smiling…her cooperative spirit. And, if I read this part right, she was one of those “special” souls who could talk to your heart…straight, without being mean. And I know this for sure, my old (VERY OLD) friend Rex, thought she was just flat awesome. That’s good enough for me.
    Theresa…what a beautiful family! They look so happy. May God give you today the strength you need for all you are doing so well. And may He do it again tomorrow and so on. I am so glad there are folks in Cozumel feeling the influence of your loving spirit. I am praying for you and Dennis and your family.

    AMEN TO WHAT DOUG SAID. MAY GOD GIVE YOU GUYS THE STRENGTH YOU NEED TO DO HIS WILL IN COZUMEL. THEY WILL BE BLESSED JUST AS WE ARE.

  3. Paige, Thanks so much for doing this, I am honored! Times like this I feel like God is running a giant switchboard and delivering phone calls, e-mails, and now “hot seat” placements all at just the right time for us! Since being here in Cozumel, I have had lots more time to think. I have thought over the last few months or reading your blog, and your comments on others of how much God has done in your life. I look forward to being back at the open some day and getting to know you better.

    These words from you Rex, mean so much. Thanks! You truly are such a special part of our lives. From teaching me about the Real Jesus, to being a part of Dennis’ and my wedding, to allowing us to use your name for our first son. You are teacher, friend, counselor, and co-worker. I love you.

    Doug, thanks so much for your kind words. You have definately described who I strive to be! I am glad you see those things in me. Thank you for writing also on your blog. It has been an encouragement to both Dennis and I to read your blog. You have an amazing way, great words to use in expressing yourself.

    Paige, I will write later more about myself!

    I HOPE THAT YOU ARE ABLE TO SENSE A SMALL BIT OF OUR APPRECIATION FOR YOU THERESA.

  4. I first heard of Theresa when I met Dennis in 1992. He talked about her and how he proposed to her and I thought, “She must be the most wonderful woman!” I couldn’t wait to meet her. She was wonderful. She was lovely. It looked for awhile that I’d be joining her and Dennis on the field in Russia, but God was calling me elsewhere. I didn’t really encounter her much personally again until I began working at the Children’s Home. Let me just tell you, Theresa is an incredible advocate for children. She is so good with the broken and bruised. She was able to handle 6-8 “bonus” children, plus her own with a calm assurance like nobody I’ve seen. I had the privilege of working in her cottage and just learning so much about how to care for these kids. I am so thankful for that. Anyone who witnessed Theresa’s work at the Children’s Home will tell you, “Theresa is AMAZING!” Theresa, I can’t imagine the challenges of doing what you’re doing in a foreign country, sometimes it feels foreign when doing it right here at home! I know though that God’s divine power is providing for you and strengthening you so that you can provide for those children in Cozumel. You are a blessing! (Remember when Matt had just started walking and got into that tub of flour in the pantry?)

    LISA I’M SO GLAD THAT YOU HAD THE CHANCE TO WORK WITH THERESA AT THE CHILDREN’S HOME. I’M SURE THAT MUCH OF WHAT YOU SAW IN THERESA … LEARNED FROM HER … BECAME USEFUL TO YOU WITH YOUR STUDENTS. GOD KNEW WHAT HE WAS DOING WHEN HE PLACED HER IN YOUR LIFE. SO GLAD HE DID.

  5. Theresa was such a blessing to my broken heart and broken soul when I met her at the Boom Boom! I sensed immediately that she was strong…but I had no idea just how strong of a person she really was until I got to know more about her. Between taking care of her family, her job, the church, her friends…I don’t know how she had time to breathe! But she handled it all with calm patience and a smile. I have seen her in some very challenging situations with those girls and she was just cool as a cucumber thru it all!!

    Theresa is a rock and I miss her…I miss her singing, I miss her smile, I miss her laugh, I miss her example of how God wants a woman to live. I am very thankful that God put me in the same place with her for awhile before He sent her and her crew to Cozumel!

    I KNOW THAT THERESA WAS SUCH A HELP TO SO MANY WHILE WORSHIPING HERE IN LUBBOCK. SHE HAS A HEART FOR PEOPLE … SHE CAN EMPATHIZE WITH THEM, CELEBRATE WITH THEM, WALK WITH THEM DOWN SOME HARD ROADS. YOU KNOW SHE MUST HAVE A HEART FOR PEOPLE BECAUSE GOD KEEPS PLACING HER IN SPOTS WHERE THERE ARE PEOPLE THAT NEED HER. THANK GOD SHE IS WILLING TO ANSWER HIS CALL.strong>

  6. Lisa, Thanks for you kind words…yes, I remember the flour incident, I have it forever documented in his scrapbook…I’ll have to show you it sometime!

    Thanks Sherry too! You are my hero lady. It means alot to me to hear these things from you. Thanks so much! I love you and pray for great things for you and your family this year!

  7. When I returned from Russia in 95, many wanted to know what it was like. They were surpised when I said I’d never eaten so well in my life. (They wouldn’t have believed it possible if they’d actually glimpsed Russia then.) But, if they knew Theresa, they’d have understood. The chicken strips, the pizza… how in the world could she do it in such a place? But that is Theresa… and I’m not just talking about food. Wherever she is, whatever she’s doing, she’s making something glorious out of nothing. She’s got a gift!

    My fondest memories of Theresa are of the Sunday afternoons my new wife and I would hang out at her house watching football games. I’m sure they (Theresa and Kim) didn’t care as much about the games as Dennis and I. But it was so cool getting to hang out with an older, more experienced couple and just be with them. It seemed like any other football and pizza, but something much deeper was going on. She (and Denny) took “nothing” afternoons and turned them into blessing a just-married couple.

    WAS THAT THE SAME RUSSIA TRIP THAT I WAS ON? I MISSED OUT ON THAT COOKING. I REMEMBER ALL BENJY AND I ATE WERE ICE CREAM SNICKER BARS … WE COULD SAY “SNEEKERS” WITH A RUSSIAN ACCENT AND THAT’S ABOUT IT. I REALLY MISSED OUT. SO GLAD THAT YOU GOOD EXAMPLES LIKE THE WILSON’S TO LOOK TO … WHAT A BLESSING.

  8. No Paige it was the year before. After the month you spent there, isn’t it hard to believe anyone could eat good there? Theresa could make it happen!

    SHE IS EVEN MORE AMAZING THAN I THOUGHT!

  9. Truth is … we found one good buy….turns out Russians would rather eat Chicken legs than boneless, skinless chicken breast…found a store that sells the breasts cheap (legs were expensive). Then we became a little like Bubba on Forest gump and learned to prepare Chicken breast everything…every day…fried chicken, baked chicken, chili chicken, curry chicken, chicken fajitas….

    Thanks Tim! I miss you and Kim! Wish we could spend some more Sunday afternoons together! Hey, Ya’ll could come to Cozumel for the Super Bowl!

  10. That sounds great to me. Dallas over the Patriots?

Leave a Reply

