You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Bah Humbug!!!

I’m not much of a Christmas person. I don’t get into any holidays very much. So when Christmas rolls around I get the spirit of “Bah Humbug!” I try to go ahead and decorate the house … maybe that will get me in the mood. It helps a little, but doesn’t realy do the trick. I start doing my shopping … this usually gets me in the spirit at first. But eventually I realize I’m spending too much money on things people really don’t want anyway.

There are, however, three things I really love about Christmas …

 

1. I like when I can buy someone something I know they really want or will appreciate.

If it’s something I find that makes me think of them … that makes me happy.  I’ve been known to give very odd presents to folks if they popped into my head when I saw it. It takes a special heart for someone to appreciate a rock, or some “slightly imperfect” underwear called “Bloopers” (sorry Kevin), but once in a while I run into someone that feels like I do … and will appreciate such a find. It can be a pretty strange gift, but if it makes my heart smile when I see it … then it’s a keeper.

2. Christmas morning hair!

This hair is only cute on children under 10. I love to watch my neices and nephew opening gifts on Christmas morning in their pajamas … hair everywhere … and the biggest smiles on their faces. Priceless. Here’s a picture of me sporting my own christmas hair. 

christmas-hair.jpg

3. The gift you must put on or try out immediately.

I love when you get that present that makes you drop everything else and go put it on, or go in search of batteries so you can try it out. I like these two pictures. I’m getting the sweater … then in the next photo I’m wearing it. I love that.

present.jpg

                                                                              

 

wearing-present.jpg 

 

Tell me something you love about Christmas … maybe it will help me stay away from the “Bah Humbugs”!

Comments on: "Bah Humbug!!!" (7)

  1. I love the movie Elf. That is a great Christmas movie!

  2. I love
    1. Being off of work for several days
    2. listening to my brother laugh and tell stories from when we were small
    3. listening to my brother quote lines from movies
    4. watching The Christmas Story…”You’ll shoot your eye out”
    5. havings friends that I can count on to take care of things if I can’t…like you Paige. Thank you for always taking care of me….for taking care of the food…for just doing the things that need done. You’re a gift…for real!!

    I LOVE “THE CHRISTMAS STORY”. I ALSO LIKE TO TELL STORIES WITH MY BROTHER. THIS YEAR AFTER WATCHING MY 2 NEICES AND NEPHEW I MADE SURE TO TELL MY MOM THANKS FOR NOT GIVING ME A BIG SISTER … I DON’T THINK I COULD HAVE HANDLED IT. I HOPE TO ALWAYS BE SOMEONE YOU CAN COUNT ON … WE ALL NEED SOMEONE WE KNOW, WITHOUT A DOUBT, WILL COME THROUGH FOR US.

  3. It has definitely taken me a while to get in the Christmas spirit this year. It just is not the same without little kids in the house to get the hipe up.
    I have done some baking, and that has helped.
    My mom and I made 4 batches of peanut Brittle the other day, and I have made countless loaves of banana nut bread. That is a sure sign of Christmas at our house.
    Christmas Vacation is our favorite movie.
    I delivered @ 30 poinsettias to our customers the other day, and it is nice to see the smile on everyone’s face. They smile even if they already have 4 poinsettias on thier desk.

    I’M GLAD YOU AND YOUR MOM WERE ABLE TO SPEND SOME TIME BAKING. HOPE YOU WERE ABLE TO GET IN THE SPIRIT AND ENJOY YOUR CHRISTMAS.

  4. Mine has always been taking the kids on a mystery trip while santa came to the house. It always had to be something good to keep their attention off of the obvious. Looking at Christmas lights, going shopping for a relative. We always have weird food on Christmas Eve like seafood or tamales (is that weird?) And delaying as long as possible the opening of presents cuz then it would be over and the anticipation is awesome. I’ve eaten alot of milk and cookies on this night which is one of the perks.

    I WANT TO ASK YOU ABOUT THIS MYSTERY TRIP THING WHEN YOU GET BACK FROM THE BEACH! SANTA DIDN’T COME DURING THE NIGHT WHILE EVERYONE WAS SLEEPING?

  5. Paige, in the picture with the great Christmas Morning hair, what is that behind you with your name on it? scary mask?
    and by the way, I think you were the cutest little girl, and I think you are a beautiful woman, because I see the beauty of Jesus in you.

    THAT THING BEHIND ME IS ACTUALLY MY STOCKING … MY MOM MADE THOSE FOR US.

  6. I’m headed to Celia’s! I love peanut brittle & banana bread!!!

    I’M RIGHT BEHIND YOU.

  7. Paige, I had a velour shirt just like that! Actually, I think I had several . . . I always liked when we got the boxes of ornaments and decorations out. I liked the way it all smelled. It was a little musty/dusty, but the scent of last year’s tree was still on the garland. I loved that smell and I loved throwing that gawdy, brass-gold looking garland around my neck like a boa and singing and dancing to the Chipmunks Christmas album.

    I HAD THAT ONE THAT IS MOSTLY GREEN, MY COUSIN HAD ONE THAT WAS MOSTLY RED. IT WAS THE BEST … GLAD YOU HAVE SOME GOOD MEMORIES.

Leave a Reply

