You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

James and RaDonna Kinnaird

The Hot Seat is back with two people that I really want you guys to help me honor. I met James and RaDonna when I was in AIM in 92-93. Later I came back as an assistant while they were coordinators in Russia.

radonna.jpg

 

 

 

james.jpg

 

I went to Russia to visit some AIMers and got there right as James and RaDonna were leaving so I really didn’t get to see them. But they let us stay in their house during their absence, and watch their movies. It was great to have their place to use and we all appreciated it. It takes some courage to let AIM people have the rule of your house for any period of time.

When I moved back to Lubbock in 2006 I had the privilege of attending the congregation in Seagraves where they work. Even though I don’t know them that well they immediately made me feel welcome.

In the afternoon we went to their home and rested until the evening services. I remember RaDonna sitting on the couch and talking to me for quite a while about some difficult times that led to my move to Lubbock. She allowed me to talk and she was such a good listener. That day meant so much to me and was good for my heart. 

Several times since then – they and their children have stopped by to visit us during our Wednesday night services and even on Sunday once in a while. They have been such an encouragement to our little group … and to me personally.

I wish I knew them better. I hope that some of you will help me learn more about them.

Please help me honor two people with huge hearts. They have been an encouragement to so many of us … let’s pay them back in full.

 

tkj07.jpggirls.jpg

(14 years is a long time ago. These pictures were all I had. If anyone can send me some different ones I will gladly post them.) *** James sent some more recent pics … what a great looking family … thanks James.
Find out more at: www.kinnairdville.wordpress.com

Comments on: "James and RaDonna Kinnaird" (10)

  1. I met James and RaDonna when they were single…and Aimers…I had the priviledge of working with them when I was an assistant. We had a great relationship…spent lots of time together…and I was proud of them when they went off to Dublin, Ireland to work with the church there.

    I was also proud that they were invited back to work with AIM as assistants.

    When I ended up in Russia by myself (the rest of the team left for one reason or another)…it was James and RaDonna that I wanted to come and join me on the field. I remember that it was a difficult time…I was alone…needed help (that’s when Tim Rush came to my aid)…but I couldn’t get my sponsoring congregation to cut loose of some cash to help them with their support…I sent a letter to Truman Scott…and for some reason…(God)…that letter ended up instead in the hands of Cline Paden.

    The story (as I was told) is that Cline hopped in his car…drove to the church that oversaw my work…south of Dallas…and had a “come to Jesus” meeting with them…it was not long after that – James and RaDonna Kinnaird were in Perm, Russia serving with me. I was proud that they were there with me.

    James and RaDonna love the Lord…they love His church…they love their family…and it shows. For me, I am most thankful that they have loved my brother Rex…and have provided him a place of rest and of comfort…and that makes me proud!

    I’M GLAD THEY LOVED REX, AND I’M GLAD THEY LOVED YOU DENNIS. THEY HAVE FAITHFULLY SUPPORTED THE WORK THAT WAS STARTED JUST A FEW YEARS AGO HERE IN LUBBOCK. THEY ARE GOOD PEOPLE.

  2. Like most of the people you shine the spotlight on, I have only just met James and RaDonna..but they feel so much like family to me already! Both of them….along with their fantastic kids….have blessed my life in ways I cannot quite put my finger on. I just feel accepted and loved by them. Now THAT is truly an example of living like Jesus. He shines in them.

    I can totally see RaDonna sitting and listening to your heart Paige…that is so HER. James has demonstated his love for the family of God many times…in the short time I have known him….or even known about him!! I love to see this family walk in the door at the OPEN. 🙂

    IT DOESN’T TAKE MUCH TIME AROUND THEM TO BE ENCOURAGED. I KNOW THEIR HEARTS ARE DRIVEN TO SHOW JESUS … AND THEY ARE DOING HIS WORK DAILY. I ENJOY SEEING THEIR FACES WALK THROUGH THE DOOR AS WELL.

  3. I met RaDonna before my senior year in high school. It was at Skyridge. She had just returned from her time on the mission field in Ireland. I remember a blur of blonde curls as she hopped out of a car and ran squealing into the arms of Claire McGuire. (I still had no idea that I would be entering the AIM program at that moment.) I just remember her glee. A little more than a year later, she and her husband James would be my AIM assistants, my group leaders for most of the time I was in training.

    I remember once having a conversation with James about dreams and he told me that he could wake himself up from any dream he didn’t like by going over to his bookcase (which he could instantly cause to appear because you can do those kinds of things in dreams if you are a lucid dreamer), choose a book he knows he’s never read, open it to read it, and wake up.

    James and Radonna were such blessings and examples to us young AIMers. Only now do I realize how young they were themselves. They were truly called of God because how they could assume such responsibilty and serve with the grace and joy they always displayed toward us, it is beyond me. I always felt welcomed in their presence. They drove me all the way to Hobbs, NM to meet my dad when I locked my keys in my car at the Crosbyton football game the night before. They laughed when we discovered after a long day of driving that my brother, who lived across the courtyard from us, had a spare key the whole time. Maybe they wanted to strangle us sometimes. Maybe they wanted us to not be so selfish and pedantic. Maybe they were still going through reverse cultureshock. Whatever it might have been, they never let on–I’m guessing they must have been in a constant state of prayer. Most likely because they knew what was coming for us, and perhaps even taking some pleasure in the notion, that God would do the humbling when we got on the field.

    They loved me like Jesus and thinking of them always brings a smile.

    I’M GLAD THAT GOD SENT THEM TO YOU LISA. THEY PLAYED A BIG PART IN PREPARING YOU FOR THINGS THAT WOULD CHANGE YOUR LIFE. THEY SHOWED YOU HOW TO LOVE SOMEONE LIKE JESUS AND NOW YOU ARE SHOWING US THE FRUITS OF THEIR LABOR. I’M GRATEFUL FOR THE IMPACT THEY HAD ON YOUR HEART.

  4. You have picked some good folks to tag, but as far as I’m concerned it is hard to beat these two!

    I’ve only known RaDonna most of my life… and all of hers! For a long time (about 25 years) I have thanked God often and been amazed that I had such a sister. I remember plenty of not so fun times early on, but that was only for about 11 or 12 years – it took me a while to get her “raised right!” For a lot longer I have known my sister as many of you have known her – clearly a blessing from God. I remember he hard times of “letting go” when she went to Ireland. It was a lot harder when she and James went to Russia. I could barely stand the thought – but sure did not want to be like Peter and have my mind set on the things of man not the things of God. For so long I have been proud to be RaDonna’s big brother.

    I also remember when James started “hanging around.” I was not too fired up about that. It was not that I did not like James – RaDonna was my sister… you don’t entrust family to just anybody. As time passed… relationship grew… I knew James was/is not just anybody. What a great husband to RaDonna, father to great nephews and neice, son-in-law to my mom, uncle to my kids, minister… brother-in-law/friend.

    So many folks have been blessed… the kingdom is stronger… God is glorified.

    RAY THANK YOU FOR STOPPING BY TO HONOR YOUR SISTER AND HER HUSBAND. I KNOW THAT IT’S HARD FOR FAMILIES TO LET THEM GO TO FOREIGN FIELDS, BUT IT IS FOR THE GREATER GOOD. I KNOW THAT YOUR SUPPORT MEANT THE WORLD TO THEM. I’M SURE YOU ARE GLAD TO HAVE THEM BACK HOME THOUGH, RIGHT?

  5. I love me some James and Radonna. They always have a way of providing me with unexpected encouragement… like the time Radonna sent James to visit us in Portugal or all the times they send my wife something extra (ok, a lot extra) for Christmas.

    They truly share the heart of Jesus. What a fun kingdom couple. I’m flooded now with memories of the two of them. I’m going to enjoy spending my day with them today. Thanks Paige.

    I’M GLAD YOU GET TO SPEND YOUR DAY WITH SUCH GREAT PEOPLE. ISN’T IT GOOD TO HAVE SUCH WONDERFUL MEMORIES THAT YOU BRING UP CLEARLY ENOUGH THAT IT’S JUST LIKE BEING WITH THEM? I’M GLAD YOU’VE EXPERIENCED SUCH ENCOURAGEMENT FROM THEM … THEY SEEM TO SPREAD IT EVERYWHERE THEY GO.

  6. Thanks Paige…we spent a few minutes giggling, a few minutes crying…and a few minutes of doing both earlier this afternoon.

    Um, if you don’t mind, can I send you a couple of updated pics? PLEASE!

    Although I do love cut of Dennis, Jason, RaDonna and Rex…I think all four of them had more hair then.

    I’ll shoot you a couple tonight. Again, thanks

    I HOPE YOU DIDN’T THINK BY SENDING THE NEW PICS THAT THE OLD ONES WOULD GO AWAY 🙂 . I’M GLAD YOU SENT THOSE, BUT YOU SEEM TO BE MISSING FROM THEM … HMMMM. I HOPE THAT YOU GUYS GET SOME ENCOURAGEMENT FROM THIS. WE ALL NEED A GLIMPSE OF HOW OTHERS SEE US … FROM HERE YOU GUYS LOOK PRETTY GOOD.

  7. I met James just before he came to AIM. I knew a little more about RaDonna before, because I knew something of her family. They both were attentive students and willing servants. I was proud to encourage them in their mission to Ireland. Any contact I had with them during those years or immediately after were pleasant and encouraging for me (and I hope for them).

    I was always willing to be a friend to them in whatever ways they needed or wanted – but during some very dark days in my life – because of my own shameful behavior – they proved themselves to be my friends. Words like affection, appreciation, respect, gratitude, and love come to mind when I remember their kindness toward me. At a time when other ex-students attacked me in letters and emails … avoided me, as if they were ashamed … James and RaDonna accepted me – forgave me – welcomed me into their home – reassured me of their love – entrusted their church to my teaching … took a chance on getting to know our little “boom boom” church.

    James and RaDonna are in my heart. I will never forget the debt of love that I owe them. I am honored to call them my friends and to be counted among their friends.

    I LOVE HEARING ABOUT PEOPLE THAT WERE “WELCOMED HOME”. I’M GLAD THEY WERE GOOD TO YOU … I’M NOT SURPRISED, THEY ARE SUCH WONDERFUL PEOPLE. I’M ALSO GLAD THEY INVITE YOU TO TEACH … I KNOW HOW MUCH YOUR HEART LOVES TO TEACH AND I APPRECIATE ANYONE THAT GIVES YOU THAT OPPORTUNITY.

  8. If all of you only knew HOW BAD I needed this this week!!! (I guess God did and He used you to do it….love watching Him work!)

    Thank you so much for all your kind words, all your encouragment and your support.

    Thank you Paige for seeing us this way and for using your site to encourage us. Although we WANT people to feel loved and accepted, I am afraid that sometimes we drop the ball. You are ALWAYS welcome at our home…day or night….good or bad situations surrounding…please come.

    Dennis…amazing to see how God works through time (and through people)! May our relationship continue to grow and may God use you and your family in Mexico and wherever you go!

    Lisa…I have many fond memories of you but the one that comes to mind happened on that trip back home (I believe) when you, my mother and I were shopping and we got to laughing at EVERYTHING (I think the people wanted to kick us OUT OF THE STORE). Anyway, you tried on this freaky hat and struck a pose, “What do you think, is it me?” Mom and I laughed so hard our sides hurt. Now when we go shopping and try on ANYTHING one of us says, “What do you think, is it me?”

    Ray…wow…good for my heart to read!! I love you more than any words I can say and I could spend a lifetime trying to show you but still couldn’t get it done. You are and always have been a blessing to me.

    Tim….hopefully I can tell you in person, how I feel in February. We are looking forward to our trip and hoping…praying all comes together. Give the crew hugs for us!!

    and Rex…you have been my director…my teacher…my sounding board…my driver….my body guard..my friend and mostly my brother. You have been there in my lowest of lows and my highest of highs….THANK YOU.

    I’M GLAD YOU WERE ENCOURAGED … ANYTIME YOU NEED A PICK ME UP, JUST COME BACK AND VISIT. YOU GUYS ARE LOVED.

  9. Oh no, I’m only spotting this now. I hope I’m not too late to say something about these two extremely special people.

    James and Radonna, along with Jason and Amy Toombs, all came to Dublin when I was just starting out in college. I have so many wonderful, happy memories of hanging out at their two little houses in Sutton. I don’t think I ever went home…they always let me hang around though 😀

    They were a refuge for me at a time in my life when I was feeling a little thrown about. Starting college with no Christian friends and no Christian groups to join or support you can be quite daunting. But with these guys I could speak my mind and not ever feel like they were judging me.

    Best of all though, they introduced me to the possibility of becoming an AIMer. They pretended it was just a vacation in the States but now I realise it was a cunning plan. They left me up at Skyridge, stranded with people like Dennis and Mike Wilson and then to Lubbock and by the time I came back home to Ireland I was bitten by the AIM bug.

    I’m so glad! I remember sometime in the first week, after hearing Rex teach on Mark and Ed teach on Evidences, I walked up to James and I was just gushing. I can’t remember if I actually thanked him but that was what that was. Thank you for being my friends and lighting that spark in me that meant I got to become an AIMer and all the blessings that has brought to my life.

    I love you guys!

    CLAIRE I’M SO GLAD THEY WERE THERE FOR YOU … AMAZING … WE NEVER KNOW WHAT SMALL THINGS TODAY WILL BECOME HUGE TOMORROW.

  10. Claire,

    Thanks for your kind words!! You were such a blessing in our time in Ireland! (and time after!)

    We had so much fun and enjoyed all of our deep and not so deep conversations and trips. What an awesome AIM experience.

    Of course you know we didn’t set you up….not at all…never even crossed our minds ;o)!!

    We are hoping to come back to Dublin to visit in the next year or two. What a huge impact the place and people have made on our lives.

    Love ya,

    RaDonna

Leave a Reply

