You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Please Don’t Tell Mom

When I was living in Portugal I had some things happen that weren’t necessarily bad … but they weren’t something I would write home about … especially to my mother. I thought it might be fun to share some of those experiences with you in hopes that it will lure some good stories out of you guys. You can even email pictures for me to put up if you want. So sit back … relax … read some stories … and please don’t tell my mother.

Don’t Talk To Strangers!

While in Portugal my teammates and I were given several opportunities to travel. Marci and I decided to go to Paris. I had actually been there a few months before with my parents so I was somewhat familiar with some of the more touristy areas. So we felt pretty confident about being able to find our way around. I mean come on, it’s Paris, how hard can it be.

So we get there and are trying to find the hostel we are going to stay in. My memory is fuzzy about how exactly we ended up in the area of Paris that we were in, but we did … you know, the part of Paris you are in when you realize you are completely lost.

Somehow we started talking to a guy trying to get some directions to get to the hostel. We had all of our luggage and he was telling us to walk down this road, and then walk down this road, and so on. I think he finally felt sorry for us having to haul all this luggage around … he offered to take us. Call it culture shock, call it desperation, call it stupidity. Whatever it’s called … yes we got in the car with him, and yes we lived to tell about it.

Thankfully he was a good guy and he simply took us to the hostel and dropped us off. I think back about that and just wonder what my mother would say if she knew what I had done.

I definitely don’t want to tell her about the time in Switzerland when we slept on the ground on the side of the highway. We awoke to some ambulance drivers that must have thought we were dead. We almost were when they woke us up … that may be the most scared I’ve ever been.

Waves Are Meant To Be Seen Not Touched

Jon, Alex, (whoever took this picture), and I all went to Boca de Inferno (Mouth of Hell). We had been in Portugal less than a month, and had gone to do some sightseeing. We were walking around looking at God’s amazing creation. The beautiful water, waves and rocks just fascinated me. I’m not sure at what point we made this decision, but we climbed down onto some rocks that were pretty close to the water. We spotted a ledge that had enough room to walk on if you held on tight enough. We decided to walk on that ledge. I’m still not sure what possessed us to do this, but as we were climbing out onto this ledge we noticed some waves coming in. They kind-of hit us when they splashed against the wall. We got a little thrill, but were beginning to think this wasn’t such a good idea. Suddenly a huge wave came toward us … all we could do was hold on. I remember my feet coming up beside me almost even with my head. As soon as the wave went away we shimmied as fast as we could back to the safety of the big rocks. We lay down, caught our breath, and began to realize we could have died. I think that’s when we decided to climb out a little ways and snap this picture.

Oh to be young and _____ a. stupid b. naïve c. risky d. insane

If You Witness a Robbery … Call the Police … Do Not Chase the Perp

113007-0400-donttellmom3.jpg

We were minding our own business down town one day … kicking back and having some coffee. A lady comes running up to some of the guys and tells them that a guy just slammed his head through this car window and stole something out of the front seat. Yes … he used his own head to break the window! Francis and someone else took off after him. I don’t think they caught him, but they sure scared him I’m sure. We weren’t exactly positive what Portuguese procedures were so we sat by the car and waited for the owner to come back so we could tell them what happened.

We decided to take some pictures while we waited so we could show the future AIMers how much fun it was to be a missionary.

Share some of your stories with us. If your mom is anything like mine … she is still using dial up and she has no idea what a blog is. You and your stories are always safe on BASE.

***No names have been changed to protect the innocent. Any omissions were due to faulty memory, not an attempt to conceal someone’s identity or involvement. 😀

Comments on: "Please Don’t Tell Mom" (8)

  1. I laughed out loud on this one. My kids were looking at me like I was crazy. I can’t believe you slept by the side of the road, but if it had to happen, I would want it to be in Switzerland.

    YOU NEED TO HEAR THE FULL STORY ON THAT ONE. THERE ARE TIMES THAT MY BRAIN JUST DOESN’T WORK UP TO ITS FULL POTENTIAL.

  2. You make the mom in me…very very nervous!!! 🙂 But I know I’ve done some incredibly dangerous (stupid) things that I would CHOKE my children if they even thought about doing anything remotely resembling them!!!

    God is good to watch over us huh? He obviously had plans for you….I’m glad that He did. 🙂 Meant that I got to meet you!!

    THESE EVENTS ARE JUST A PORTION OF THE REASON I CANNOT HAVE CHILDREN … MY LIFE HAS CONVINCED ME THAT CHILDREN ARE BETTER OFF IF RAISED IN A BUBBLE.

  3. As a former AIM Director …
    as a parent of a former AIM student …
    this post gave me a panic attack. I think I need to go lie down!

    p.s. I wonder if Tim is going to write about his bunjee jump off a rock cliff – WITHOUT THE BUNJEE!!!

    YOU CAN’T TELL ME YOU NEVER DID ANYTHING THAT ALMOST GOT YOU KILLED … I THOUGHT THAT WAS JUST PART OF GROWING UP.

  4. Crazy stuff, Paige. I feel like there is more and this barely scratches the surface! Am I right?

    LET ME PUT IT THIS WAY … MY LIFE HAS NOT BEEN ONE OF INACTIVITY.

  5. Rex Boyles said:

    Barry, you are more right than Paige will admit.
    Paige, I never did anything like that … I spent most of my time praying and fasting. 🙂 Just like Granny.

    IS LYING OK ONCE YOU GET OLDER? I HOPE SO FOR YOUR SAKE.

  6. Well, I cannot remember any “almost dying” events, for that matter I cannot remember the whole catching a thief excitement, even though I am in that pic! Oh well, getting a bit old I guess.

    We will be coming thru Lubbock on the Jan 1st, and staying a couple of days. Will you be in town? I would love to see you! Let me know.

    IT’S A GOOD THING TO NOT HAVE ANY “ALMOST DYING” EVENTS. I WAS JUST LOOKING FOR SOME GOOD STORIES. I SHOULD BE AROUND TOWN AT THAT TIME.

  7. I am glad this post is still here, although that means that yet again I will kill it. I went sky diving visiting Russia the year after aim and wrote an email to my parents right as I was walking out the door to go. (I would never do it now, but it was a neat experience. We jumped from a helicopter using Red Army gear.) That is my most life threatening experience. I wish I had some pictures here I could share.

    Have a great evening. Kim


    I WOULD LOVE TO SEE PICTURES OF THAT. WEREN’T YOU TERRIFIED? I HAD SOME FRIENDS IN ILLINOIS THAT INVITED ME TO GO … I JUST KNEW I WOULD END UP MAIMED AND WAKE UP WITH MOM GIVING ME “THAT LOOK”.

  8. I have a bunch of stupid stories of stupid things I did being stupid. But the funny thing is even though I am married and a mom myself, I am still afraid my mom will find stuff out. We let our oldest daughter go to a school dance recently and I was crossing my fingers hoping my mom wouldn’t find out. I was never allowed to go to dances, so she would have flipped out. She did find out and was kinda mad about us forcing our daughter into a “club scene” that she is not ready for…ok, thanks Mom! Anyway, the point is I am still kind of afraid of my mom.

    YOU SHOULD STILL BE AFRAID. MY BROTHER AND I WERE TELLING STORIES ON OURSELVES ONCE. MY PARENTS WERE KIND-OF LAUGHING UNTIL WE TOLD ONE THAT HAD HAPPENED ABOUT 5 YEARS BEFORE. THEY DIDN’T LAUGH. WE DECIDE THAT THERE IS A TIME FRAME TO GO BY. IT MIGHT BE FUNNY IF IT’S OLDER THAN 5 YEARS AGO, BUT ANY MORE RECENT THAN THAT … KEEP IT TO YOURSELF. ESPECIALLY IF IT IS REGARDING THEIR GRANDCHILDREN. 🙂

Leave a Reply

