You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

~~~~~Kim You’re It!!!~~~~~

scan0003.jpg

(Kara, Chris, and Kim)

My favorite memory of Kim has to do with IHOP. When I was working with Kim’s class I was also attending college. I didn’t get to spend as much time with the AIMers as I wanted. Some of them were so good to me and would actually get up early, early and go to breakfast with me before my 7:30 am class. Those breakfasts were some of the best times.

One morning when we were at IHOP Kim became fascinated with the cooks’ hats. She decided to ask the waitress if she could buy one or something. The waitress went to check and I believe came back and told us that there wasn’t a way to get one. Then … I think she ended up coming back to the table and giving one to Kim.

The next time we came in that waitress was no longer working there and we decided that she got fired for stealing that hat for Kim.

Kim introduced me to thrift store shopping. We had to find a place to do volunteer work. We found the best thrift store. It was great … we would help out (keeping our eye out the whole time for the best stuff). Then after they closed the lady would let us shop for a bit. I still have a piece of furniture I got during that time.

I remember Kim had the best heart. She could be funny or serious and was so sensitive to the needs of others. I enjoyed getting to know Kim so much that I actually went to Russia for a month to visit their team. I really respected them for working on that field. I was only there 30 days and I was so ready to be back home. It was a difficult field but they did an amazing job there. They were able to show Christ to some folks that were in great need of some Good News.

Please take some time to encourage Kim. Also drop by http://rushfiles.blogspot.com/ to see Kim’s “tagged” list. You’ll learn some interesting stuff.

110507-0157-hotseatrepe2.jpg

Comments on: "~~~~~Kim You’re It!!!~~~~~" (12)

  1. I LOVE Kim!!! What an amazing heart! She is always willing to be helpful, and serves others quietly, without expecting anything in return. Kim is a very clever girl. Her wit is always unexpected, but extremely funny.

    Kim, you have set a shining example of Christ for those who know you. I know you make your Father very proud!

    Oh, and you have pretty handwriting!

    😉

    I DON’T REMEMBER KIM’S HANDWRITING, BUT I DO REMEMBER HER HEART … AND AMAZING IS RIGHT ON.

  2. I love the Christmas tree person!! That is hilarious!!

    I don’t know Kim except for the things I have read and heard about her from other’s posts. Sounds like I am missing out on a jewel of a lady!

    I WISH YOU COULD MEET HER. YOU WOULD IMMEDIATELY RECOGNIZE HER HEART AND HER SPIRIT … BOTH HONORING GOD.

  3. Great blog, great article, and silly picture. I didn’t know Kim well then, but I’m glad to have been there as now she is one of my favorite people on Earth. Tim’s a blessed man!

    I’M SO GLAD YOU STOPPED BY CHRIS … YOU ARE OFFICIALLY A MEMBER NOW SO KEEP CHECKING BACK. YOU NEVER KNOW WHEN YOU MIGHT END UP IN THE HOT SEAT.

  4. Kelcey Hooper said:

    What to say about Kim…She is my sister and friend. She is incredibly brave and never shies away from a project, crafty or otherwise. Read her blog for the hammock story. She has even knitted p.J.’s for Quincy’s stuffed animals.

    When we were little she always did things different from me. Creative solutions to problems. Things I would never have thought of. Later in school when she was asked to join the G.A.T.E. program(gifted and talented education) I realized maybe she did have something extraordinary going on in that brain of hers.

    When I am with her I am always witnessing her loving and compassionate heart. Just a small example…When we were on the Alaskan cruise we stopped in Victoria, British Columbia. We were walking looking for the Starbucks. We asked someone for directions and he hollered back at her for a frappucino. Kim bought him one and walked back down the street to take it to him. I think that she has such a wonderful heart and love for people.

    She is incredibly funny and always has time to be goofy with her kids. They are so far away and a few weeks a year to visit never seem to be enough. I know they are doing great things for the Lord in Guadalajara. Although I am older in birth order I have always looked to Kim as a shinning example of Christ’s light.

    I LOVE TO HEAR SISTERS THAT ACTUALLY GET ALONG AND ADMIRE ONE ANOTHER. YOU ARE BOTH AMAZING WOMEN. I WISH THAT YOU COULD SEE EACH OTHER MORE OFTEN, I KNOW THAT’S NOT EASY. KELCEY I’M GLAD YOU HAD KIM TO SHOW YOU CHRIST’S LIGHT. I SUSPECT SHE WOULD SAY THE SAME ABOUT YOU.

  5. Wow, this is the best hot seat I have ever been in.

    Sarah–I missed your hotseat. I am a horrible, horrible blogging friend because I am really unreliable. I am sorry. You have always been so good at giving compliments and encouragement. I have a secret prayer from you in my little Bible in Col. that you sneakily left there in AIM. I still use that little bible sometimes and love that your prayer for God to be giving me strength through Chrsit is still at work. I can remember one short conversation from that time period (that you may not) that challenged me to be more open minded to unity in Christ. I used to more fearful in God. I don’t think that you realized that you were growing my faith, you were just sharing yourself. Thank you. (And thanks for being a teacher with the heart of social worker all in God’s name, if that makes sense.) from Kim

  6. i always think of the commute from the aim apartments to class. and i remember thinking back then were you for real because you seemed so ideal. and, yes, you showed over and over you were the real deal. your earnest heart of a servant radiated the love of Christ, and i would be in wonder of it. whenever i think of what Christ’s love in action would look like today, your face is the first one to pop into my head. even though i haven’t seen you in years, your example and spirit still affect me. many blessings!

    IS THIS THE GREG THAT I KNOW … FROM THE PICTURE AT BLUE HAVEN? IF IT IS …. THEN WELCOME WELCOME WELCOME TO BASE, IT’S SO GOOD TO HEAR FROM YOU. IF IT’S NOT THEN … WELCOME ANYWAY, AND PLEASE COME BACK.

  7. Sherry–I was thinking that when we do finally meet, I will not live up to such nice things that are being said. Then I thought, how nice to live in a realm where our past mistakes are forgotten and people are only talking about the good in us. Wow, huh? I am in Lubbock every year or two, so may be will get a chance to meet you someday.

    Chris the Christmas tree–Funny, how I think we did not know eachother at all (really) in that picture. But then, we have grown up a lot, too. I am really proud of God in you and Jessica.

    klc–I have a lot I wanted to say here. I am starting and restarting. Surely you know how I feel in this, I could never imagine my life without you. On top of it all, you are everything I want to be as a mom. I love your kids and love when we can be all together. It is never enough time. I am so thankful that we get to, though. And that the kids are getting old enough to not have start over at zero (with remembering their cousins.)

    greg!–Hi after such a long time. But you have emailed more than me. Thanks for all those rides to school. I am (annoyingly) a chronic morning person, so you really could have said anything there. I hope that we can see you and really get to visit soon. I am so glad to have you pop in here. The essence of Greg (to me) is totally even keel and collected. Your big picture approach to life is like running a marathon as opposed to my scattered sprints. A silly example of this is picking up pecans at Tim’s parents house. Mary and I were out there for a long, long time picking up all these tiny pecans, down on our hands and knees. That kind of stuff is fun to me. Greg walks out, with his keen eye and was there for very few minutes just to chat with us. He spied a pecan at least as long as my fingers, and that without even trying! You make peaceful life look easy.

    Paige–thanks for doing this. I feel so encouraged. It makes me want to live like that person being remembered. Recently when I dropped off the face of the earth on your blog, you asked if my family really used to raised guide dogs for the blind and if my sister really did get bitten by a rattlesnake. Both true. You can ask klc for further comments about it. And my mom still raises Guide Dogs.

    KIM I’M GLAD YOU ARE ENCOURAGED … THAT’S THE INTENT. WE ALL NEED TO KNOW ONCE IN A WHILE THAT WE HAVE GOOD IN US. GOD TELLS US BUT WE SURE CAN’T HEAR IT ENOUGH. I LIKE HOW YOU HAD COMMENTED THAT NOT MANY OF THE REGULARS KNEW YOU … YET HERE ARE NEW PEOPLE COMING TO BASE … SEE HOW GOOD YOU ARE.

    I’VE ALWAYS LIKED THAT GUIDE DOG IDEA. BUT I REMEMBER YOU SAYING THAT YOU CAN’T TREAT THEM AS PETS BECAUSE THEY ARE WORK DOGS (THAT DISQUALIFIED ME AS A GUIDE DOG TRAINER.) I ADMIRE SOMEONE THAT DISCIPLINED. THOSE DOGS ARE SUCH A BENEFIT TO SO MANY.

  8. Kim is just one of those people int this world that you love!! I have enjoyed EVERY minute we have spent together….in Russia, in Lubbock, in Seagraves….it doesn’t matter where. I am always blessed, always challenged (in a good way), always learn something, and always amazed at how she handles things.

    Kim…I love the way you honestly CARE about people….no matter what the background…no matter what language they speek or color of skin…you look into the person and see what God sees.

    I love the way you take care of your children….not just their physical needs but their emotional and spiritual needs as well. They are blessed to have you and Tim as parents!!

    I love to hear you sing, to hear you laugh, to see you talk to people and the look in your eyes as you connect with them. I love to see people who speek russian or spanish visit with you and their faces light up when you communicate so well with them. You touch people!!

    I consider you a dear friend and feel blessed to know you and to have you as a part of my life!!

    YOU ARE A BLESSING RADONNA. EVER HEARD THE PHRASE “TAKES ONE TO KNOW ONE”? I THINK IT TAKES A GOOD MOM, GOOD WOMAN TO RECOGNIZE THAT IN SOMEONE ELSE. YOU BOTH AMAZE ME.

  9. As much as I love me some Dennis, I’m thinking this has to be the best Base ever!

    I just can’t tell you how fun it is living with Kim. In fact we often wonder if everyone else is having this much fun with life.

    I don’t know if I’ve said this here or not… but I have prayed long and hard that our kids will inherit Kim’s looks, voice, athletic ability and smarts. And so far, so good. (Though I often do see a little Timmy in Clark, but that’s another story.)

    Kim, you amaze me everyday.

    I’M SO GLAD THAT GOD BROUGHT THE TWO OF YOU TOGETHER. HE IS A GOOD GOD AND HE IS WISE, THEREFORE, I’M SURE THE CHILDREN WILL INHERIT KIM’S LOOKS, VOICE, ATHLETIC ABILITY, AND SMARTS. 🙂

  10. Paige..thank you for your sweet words. They touched my heart. Thank you for what you are doing with your blog!! God is using you to encourage others…of which I am one.

    THANKS FOR VISITING … I AM ENCOURAGED BY EVERYONE THAT VISITS. IT IS SO NICE TO RECONNECT.

  11. Kim! You took me garage saleing where I bought the best pair of sandals that I’ve ever owned! Do you even remember that Saturday?

    Okay, that was really goofy. So when Tim was our aim assistant, he talked of you incessantly, so our expectations were really high when we finally met you… and we weren’t disappointed. I remember you taking time during the (I think) three days that you were in Lubbock to sit and talk to the girls on our team, and I thought, “Do you automatically get to be this cool by going to the field?”

    Turns out, no. So it’s a good thing you weren’t counting on that.

    ISN’T KIM THE COOLEST. 🙂

  12. Oh guys, I am not that great with my unspoken blog rules. Now do I respond here or on the new entry, even though it does not apply? Can you move my comments to where they need to be, Paige?

    RaDonna–You guys are right, this is a really encouraging use of cyberspace. I joked on Tim’s just now that you probably never sleep, but from us being with you guys I pretty much know that to be true. I feel like when we get to your house, we get to relax(!) in so many ways after being on the road. We stay up way too late for my good, but I love it. I love the conversations and watching you with your kids and getting a peek at your lives. I am glad that there is alway exciting stuff to share, or a safe place to vent frustrations. I feel like you really listen and understand. I feel like I always benefit and come away encouraged and refreshed. I see you give your all to us, and your kids, and James, and your family but you do it in a way that makes me feel like I am one of the most important things you have going on right now. I think that you are good at taking advantage of evey moment and making it valuable time.
    We really hope that you and James get to come down here for the sponsor’s weekend, esp. to share your experiences and your wisdom about church planting and missionary care. I think there will be a lot of “open forum” time and people will benefit a lot from hearing your side of things, having been involved now in all steps of the process.

    Tim–since I see you all I will say here is “Hi”. I am really proud of you and I am da yuckiest. (Angie sent us a mix CD and our kids would sing that for “I am the luckiest”, may be that did not need explaining?)

    Su–I so love garage sailing. I do remember that day, and it is always fun to go with others who love it just as much as I do. Your wrong, of course going to the field made you that cool. We are just so quietly disturbed coming back that we do not realize that cool-ness in ourselves as others do. Just the cheekyness title alone make you cool. (I have read your blog over Tim’s shoulder before.)

    Thanks again Paige. very fun. It really is nice to get back in touch.

    Kim

    THANKS FOR PLAYING ALONG KIM … YOU ARE SUCH AN AMAZING WOMAN. I HOPE YOU WERE ABLE TO AT LEAST CATCH A GLIMPSE OF WHAT YOU MEAN TO THOSE AROUND YOU.

Leave a Reply

