You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

I’m It!!!

I got tagged by Michelle Harris (and Doug). How someone can have a blog called BASE and get tagged (twice) is beyond me. She has basically shoved me into the Hot Seat, so here goes…

Here are the rules. 1)Each player starts with eight random facts/habits about themselves. (2) People who are tagged need to write a post on their own blog (about their eight things) and post these rules. (3) At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names. (4) Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

1. I had a sleep disorder, and had to have surgery. They did a uvulopalatopharyngoplasty (they removed that fling-flangy thing in the back of my throat). So now my throat is wide open and most of the time I sleep like a baby. It literally changed my life.

2. I taught in inner city St. Louis for 5 years. During that time I broke up more fights than any girl my size should have to. I once got dragged up two flights of stairs while I hung on to a boy’s foot. I refused to let go because I was not going to let him win. (I think he won anyway.)

3. I used to race vintage dirt bikes and won the women’s championship one year. I also had a street bike for a while. When I took my motorcycle class I got claustrophobic with the helmet on and fainted. The bike and I just tipped over while it was running. And I still got my license — doesn’t say a lot for the Illinois DMV does it? 

racing1.jpg

4. When Denipipe was a puppy she was riding in the car with my mother and I. I could tell that she needed to go to the bathroom (Deni not my mother). I was trying to find a place to pull over so I put my hand behind her butt to kind-of  signal her to wait.  Apparently she read that signal as go ahead and poop. She pooped right in my hand. My mom laughed and said, “Welcome to motherhood.”

5. When I was in second grade I started participating in pageants. I was queen of the Cinderella Girl pageant and went to state. I also got to do some mannequin modeling during this time. As you can all tell the froo-froo dresses didn’t last long. I’m in the pink and those other girls are my cousins.

pageant.jpg

6. I was kind-of a brat when I was little. Hard to imagine I’m sure, but it’s true.  One day I wanted my mom to pay attention to me while she was on the phone. When she failed to pay attention to me like I wanted,  I took the letter opener and sliced the back of our recliner, many, many times. My dad came home and my mom was sitting in the floor crying. (This was before cell phones). A similar thing happened to my sister-in-law, she called my brother and told him to come home and say “bye” to his son.

7. When I was in 2nd grade I wanted to wear my new Pink Panther shirt for school pictures. My mom said that I couldn’t wear it. I thought I would be sneaky and wear it underneath another shirt. Needless to say when I got my pictures back I got in trouble. But isn’t this picture worth all the trouble I got into ….  

pink-panther.jpg

8. I had a surprise B-day party at the McDonald’s caboose. My brother kept telling me he was going to a friend’s party there. I begged him to just let me come inside to see what it looked like. When I walked in “Surprise!” It was the best birthday ever. Here I am in the “special red birthday person’s hat” striking a pose.

b-day-mcd.jpg

And one additional pic at Rex’s request.

fearfully-and-wonderfully-made.jpg

I ran across this one a while back and we immediately decided that it should be titled “Fearfully and Wonderfully Made”. All the worries of the world had not entered my mind and I had that carefree spirit that only a child can know. All I wanted in life was for mom to quit taking pictures and let me climb that tree right behind me. My world was perfect – just like God intended.

I appreciate everyone’s participation in this blog. It has been fun. I still have quite a few people to put in the Hot Seat, but may do some other stuff in between. Thanks for playing with me on BASE.

I tag: Sherry, Sarah, Lisa, Kim, and Theresa. (I don’t know 8 people that haven’t been picked recently … so I’m going to cheat and only pick 5.)

Comments on: "I’m It!!!" (12)

  1. I love those pics of you!! You are gutsy…you inspire me to go digging through piles of pictures and get to scanning! I’m not sure I can come up with 8 things …and I know I cannot name 8 people (You named all the bloggers that I know..except for Rex..and I know he’s already tagged!!) But in a couple of days I’ll get some kind of nonsense up on my blog.

    Such a cute and precious little princess in #5 and then slicing up a chair in #6! My goodness Paige…you crack me up!
    Thank you for the smiles!

    IF YOU NEED HELP COMING UP WITH 8 THINGS THEN YOU ARE NOT THINKING HARD ENOUGH. I HAVE ALWAYS KIND-OF BEEN A PERSON OF EXTREMES … PAGEANTS, DIRTBIKING, SLICING, PLANNING “LITTERS” … I COULDN’T EVEN GO THERE.

  2. The look on your face in that picture is priceless! The absolute glee of doing something you know you aren’t supposed to do and thinking you got away with it! Not the least bit camera shy, are you oh Queen? ROFLOL

    IT’S BECAUSE OF ALL THAT I’VE DONE THAT MY POOR STUDENTS CAN’T GET AWAY WITH ANYTHING. THEY DON’T HAVE A CHANCE OF GETTING ONE PAST ME …

  3. Paige-you are too cute! Dying over the little kid stories! Do you still cut the toes out of your socks? I always loved that. You are so lovable Paige. Always were! You are unique and fun and sweet…I think these stories, and your commentary on them prove what a treasure you are! I love ya!

    FUNNY YOU SHOULD ASK ABOUT THE SOCKS … I HAD A GOOD FOOT COMMENTARY READY TO PUT UP THERE BUT WENT WITH THE BIRTHDAY PARTY INSTEAD. I DO NOT CUT THE TOES OUT, BUT WOULD IF I WASN’T SO MATURE … INSTEAD I JUST YANK ON MY SOCKS ALL DAY AND TAKE MY SHOES ON AND OFF 20 TIMES. YOU ARE GREAT HEATHER … SO GOOD TO HEAR FROM YOU.

  4. teamharris said:

    Very funny post Paige! I laughed out loud remembering the cutting of the socks! I remember coming home one time and finding you napping, with your feet sticking out of the covers and hanging off the bed because you didn’t want to take off your new shoes! You are such a tough cookie! The racing, fighting inner-city kids, and beauty pageants! You have done it all! My most favorite memory of you is when we were in Portugal and you had a big jar of change. The time for us to be going home was here and you were deciding what to do with the money. Well, you decided to drop it by the blind beggar woman in the picoas (thats for Tim), who we passed every day to go get the mail. Quietly doing God’s work, that is what I love about you and that is my favorite memory of you. Welcome to the hot seat!
    M-

    THANKS MAGGIE. WHEN I DO THINGS LIKE THIS THAT MAKE ME REALLY LOOK AT MYSELF I FIND THAT I’M VERY ODD AND I HAVE MY ”OCD” STUFF FOR SURE. BUT GOD HAS BEEN GOOD TO ME THROUGH IT ALL AND HE’S SURE GIVEN ME SOME GREAT FRIENDS TO HELP ME ALONG MY WAY…THANKS AGAIN.

  5. Hey, how old were you in that last picture? That is about the age that you were, when I met you. In those pictures and in your stories (and in the stories of your friends) folks can catch a glimpse of the unique spirit that is Paige. You are a gift. I have loved you all of your life. You have always been and are even now … one of my favorites … of all time. I do thank God for the gift that He gave me … my family … our church … when He brought you home – to Him – to us. Thank you for coming to find me …

    p.s. Hey, show everyone that picture that I like so much.

    I PUT UP THE PIC FOR YOU. I THINK IN THAT BIRTHDAY ONE I WAS ONLY ABOUT 6 OR 7. YOU HAVE BEEN A CONSTANT IN MY LIFE AND EVEN WHEN I DIDN’T REALIZE THE EXTENT … YOU HAVE ALWAYS LOVED ME. I FOUND YOU … THEN YOU CAME AND GOT ME – THANKS BE TO GOD. ALTHOUGH OUR LIVES HAVE TAKEN TWISTS AND TURNS WE’VE ALWAYS BEEN TOGETHER “IN HIS GRIP”.

  6. Thank you for the picture … for the words … for the life … for the heart. Forever. No matter what!

    YOU ARE WELCOME!!!

  7. Doug the old said:

    Paige,
    First time I showed up here. What a trip. You absolutely remind me of this quote from somebody? “Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming, “WOW! What a ride!”
    I don’t know you well…but from what I have just learned…I totally agree with Rex. You are a unique spirit, so fully embracing the life God gave you and the new life Jesus brought you. The Bible embraces the truth that the older should teach the younger…and these are valuable, precious lessons for sure. But I think it also supports the concept of the younger teaching the older (I’m thinking of Jesus setting a little child in the midst of the older people). Take it from an old man…your spirit teaches me, reminds me, about what is most precious, most needed in life. I love the way you and your friends speak to/taunt one another.
    I was impressed by the photo of you on the dirt bike…wow. The points you shared on this post were so good. Thank you. Keep writing your heart for Jesus.
    You are His beloved. I know He is honored by you…in you.

    WELCOME TO BASE … THAT QUOTE IS GREAT … IT DOES DESCRIBE MY LIFE, I’VE GOT THE SCARS INSIDE AND OUT TO PROVE IT. I’M SO GRATEFUL FOR “BLOGS” RIGHT NOW. I DON’T KNOW HOW LONG THIS WILL LAST BUT I FEEL LIKE I’M GETTING TO KNOW SO MANY GOOD PEOPLE. I WOULD PROBABLY NEVER GET TO KNOW YOU AS WELL FACE TO FACE BECAUSE IT TAKES ME A WHILE TO WARM UP TO PEOPLE, BUT WRITING IS A WONDERFUL AVENUE. THANK YOU FOR THE ENCOURAGEMENT AND THE BLESSINGS. YOU ARE A GOOD MAN.

  8. What a fantastic picture, Paige! I’ve got tons of pics like that . . . my carefree days, when the worst thing that could happen is I might miss my daily appointment on the edge of the strawberry patch where I would make adobe houses in the dirt. I still love the one of you in your Pink Panther shirt. Fabulous!

    OH TO BE YOUNG.

  9. I love the fact that you wore your Pink Panther shirt anyway. The look on your face says “I was defiant and I just got away with it!” What happened when the pictures came back?

    I DON’T REMEMBER EXACTLY, BUT MY PARENTS BELIEVED IN THE “SPARE THE ROD SPOIL THE CHILD” CONCEPT I WAS NOT IN DANGER OF BEING SPOILED.

  10. Hi Paige, Thanks for tagging me, and I will post eventually on Tim’s blog (since I do not have one. I sometimes get very, very behind on blog and email as I catch up with the rest of life.) But I am glad that I still made it to your post.

    I still have the jacekt that you got from me from the army/navy surplus store on the way back from Clovis. What a great find. That was absolutely my favorite Russia jacket, although I was a little afraid that I might get beaten up if some grouchy person with a bone to pick with the US saw me in it. That was such a neat surprise. I feel proud to be the instigater of someone’e love of thrifting. Even now when back in Sacramento to see family, my sister helps give me directions by way of my favorite thrift stores there.

    Anyway, I wanted to hot seat you a little bit. I really think that you need to share your story about the failed high school nickname, but I will not out you on your own blog. It is so, so funny.

    I am really glad that you are doing this, blogging. Your words to the assistants of your day are exactly like how I think about you when you were working with Aim and I was in your group. I felt like you always heard me and understood me, and I did not open up to cry on many shoulders then. (I am more of a crier now.) That maybe sounds small, but to me it’s huge. I really loved the drive back and forth to Clovis (which I thought I would hate to do every Sunday), if I got to be in your car and just get to talk with you the whole way.

    I want to thank you now for being a teacher. When Quincy started school I prayed and prayed that he would have a Christian teacher so that he would be loved and cared for by Christ while I was not with him. God answers that prayer for many moms in you every day. And maybe even more amazing, God places you in the inner circle of kids really needing Him and without hope. Really, what a huge commission by God to be a light to young budding people. Thanks.

    Have a great day.

    ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT THE “PAHEENA” NICKNAME? I WILL TELL IT, BUT I WANT TO MAKE SURE THAT IS THE ONE YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT. I LOVED HANGING AROUND WITH YOU IN AIM … OUR CLOVIS GROUP WAS THE BEST. I STILL TELL PEOPLE “MY FRIEND KIM USED TO RAISE SEEING EYE DOGS, AND SOMEONE IN HER FAMILY GOT BIT BY A SNAKE IN THEIR HOUSE.” ARE THOSE THINGS TRUE? I HOPE SO BECAUSE THEY ARE BOTH SO IMPRESSIVE TO ME AND I REALLY DO TELL PEOPLE THOSE TWO STORIES.

    YOU ARE A GOOD WOMAN KIM. I LOVE SEEING PICTURES OF YOU GUYS AND YOUR CHILDREN. I WOULD BE GRATEFUL TO HAVE A PARENT LIKE YOU FOR MY STUDENT’S PARENT. KNOWING THAT I WOULD BE SUPPORTED AND PRAYED FOR … WOW! TAKE YOUR TIME ON BLOGGING .. YOU’VE GOT YOUR HANDS FULL.

  11. ahh, did it again. posted too long!

    NEVER EVER TOO LONG

  12. I love the contrast between the froofy pink dress and the toothless pink panther. Priceless!

    WHAT IS LIFE WITHOUT A LITTLE CONTRAST, RIGHT?

Leave a Reply

