You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

HEATHER!!!!!!!!!!!

Heather…Heather….Heather what can I say? Where do I begin? As I looked through my scrapbooks for some pictures the memories just started flooding my mind.

 

First some random stuff and I’ll end with the “good story” that I want to tell.

 

I remember that I wasn’t supposed to leave the apartment…probably was supposed to study. I went to the door…probably to leave, and there was this note that simply said, “Paige, don’t even think about it.”  Thanks for the encouragement. I still have that in my scrapbook.

 

Another note said something about Pumpkin Foot. I remember a few pumpkin stories. Do you remember the pumpkin pie that fell off the dash into my shoe when we were visiting that church? That poor woman didn’t have a pie for the pot luck thanks to us.

 

The singing ministry in the park that we started while in Portugal.

 

Obviously from the pictures we spent some time at the Science Spectrum…

astronaut-heather.jpg

 

I couldn’t find the cookie picture from Sky Ridge, but I found this one…I can see where you could fit quite a few cookies in there.

big-mouths.jpg

Remember when we all started saying “smokes”.

 

NERTS (how do you spell that?)

 

The concrete incident…

 

Remember when the doll fell from the church library in Lisboa…oops.

 

Rainy days and Lourdes always get me down…(Carpenters song isn’t it?)

 

My favorite story is from when we were in  Portugal…and it reminds me of your spirit every time I think of it.

 

The apartments we lived in had these wood floors (very slick) and we had a few rugs spread about the place. Alan and I (maybe some others who knows) were sitting on the couch watching tv (probably Little House on the Prairie because it was the only thing in English…poor little Half Pint). I believe you were in the kitchen mixing up a bowl of chocolate icing (lunch no doubt), when Alan got this idea that we would coax you onto the rug in the living room and then yank it out from under you. Now…it must be said that this only works in cartoons…we all know that right?

 

Well to our surprise it also works in real life, in Portugal. We yanked the rug and you flew. You got up, started crying and went to your room. We were shocked. We were too scared to go check on you, and as we sat in dismay we noticed splatters of chocolate icing on the walls, tv, floor, ceiling. We were trying not to laugh and we really were worried about you when suddenly…you start to laugh. From the other side of the apartment we hear your laugh…that laugh. We were so relieved. Not only were you alive, but you weren’t mad. You came back in the living room, with tears running down your face, and said something to the tune of “Smokes!”.

 

You have the best spirit Heather. You said something in Portugal that has stuck with me…I just said it when talking to someone the other day. We were talking about people not understanding something and you said, “no one knows what it’s like to be ME going through THIS right now.” That thought is so true. I know how I feel but I can NEVER know how someone else really feels…not really. So it helps me remember to listen and hear what someone is saying when they’re describing their hurt. I love you Heather…thanks for sharing your heart with me for so long.

Comments on: "HEATHER!!!!!!!!!!!" (22)

  1. WOO HOO!!! I can’t wait for my wife to read this blog and start typin’!!! Finally, someone my family has DIRT on!

    hahahahahahahahahahaha (evil laugh)

    j

  2. Oh boy…*cringing*!

    I love you too Paige! Thanks for the stories…your memory always amazes me! I can’t wait until someone hacks into this blog and puts YOU in the hot seat!

    MY TIME IN THE HOT SEAT…WELL…HMMMM…I ONLY KNOW ONE PERSON THAT COULD REALLY FIGURE OUT HOW TO GET INTO THIS BLOG AND HE WOULD NEVER DO THAT. I HOPE THE PICTURES ARE OKAY…I LOVE YOU HEATHER…IT WAS SO GOOD FOR MY HEART TO START LOOKING THROUGH MY STUFF LAST NIGHT AND BRIEFLY RELIVE SOME OF THE GOOD TIMES.

  3. I think this hot seat has the potential to be the juiciest! Heather, I only wish I knew you better. …cause I KNOW there’s some good dirt on you… I just don’t know what it is.

    When I met you in Lubbock I sort of had my head in the clouds and thus don’t remember much about your class. I do remember that I was oddly afraid of you and your AIM team. You all seemed nice enough, but then you also had this funny/dark side… like, “we’re laughing with you right now, but we have plans to steal your car after we’re done here.”

    I did think it was really weird when I heard you guys ate your cereal with water. But my 6 year old does that now, so maybe it’s not so crazy.

    Where’s Paul? I’m sure he’s got the goods!

    I’M ODDLY AFRAID OF PAUL GETTING IN ON THIS BLOG.

    WE WERE A TEAM THAT MADE A STATEMENT…AND WE DID HAVE PLANS TO STEAL YOUR CAR, BUT I THINK SOMEONE BEAT US TO IT DIDN’T THEY (OR WERE YOU JUST HOPING) I REMEMBER SOMETHING TO THAT EFFECT.

    THE CEREAL THING WAS NOT PLANNED. WE STARTED WITH POWDERED MILK…THEN ONE DAY WE FIGURED OUT…WATER WOULD BE ABOUT THE SAME THING…

  4. Michelle Harris said:

    Oh Jason Jason, no dirt here love, just really good memories!

    Ok, I have to make a comment about the rug being pulled out from under Heather. I remember that day really well. I remember it was Alan, Paige, Alex, Marcie and me sitting on the couch when we formed our little plan for Heather, who was innocently making chocolate frosting for her bananas to dip. Well, somewhere between the time of us making the plan and the time Heather actually walked out and onto the rug – I totally forgot what we were doing, so when everyone else who was sitting by me on the couch bent down to grab the rug, I remember thinking to myself, “why are they all bending over at the same time?” The next thing I knew I had chocolate frosting splattered in my hair and Heather was crying, (for a bit). After that I remembered the fateful plan and what I was supposed to be doing…

    We were also watching the A-Team, not Little House.

    I also wanted to say that Tim’s odd fear of us was right on! We were PORTUGAL! WE ROCKED! We had the ability to flash a big toothy grin, while looking innocent to enough distract (Heather), while others of us were busy building a bomb for loud noise distraction with only the necessary tools of a tampon, bobby pin and maybe some dental floss (McGiver Paige, Alex and Alan), so someone else could slip in and pick pocket your keys to steal your car (Michelle – if only I remembered to do it!) oh yeah, and we also had the back up of singing distraction (Jon and Charlie). If we didn’t get your car with the toothy grin and the loud bomb noise, then the choir boys would!

    THANKS FOR FILLING IN THOSE DETAILS MICHELLE….I HAD ALSO FORGOTTEN ABOUT ALL THE MACGUIVER STUFF (I COULD MAKE ANYTHING OUT OF ANYTHING). SURELY YOU HAVE A GOOD HEATHER STORY TO TELL…

  5. Tim – I’m with you. I was oddly afraid of that team as well. It had something to do with the bevy of beauties that were bountiful on that team.

    There should have been a Rex rule about having that many beautiful people on one team. I mean come on… I’ve heard about their ministry tactics. Since I married one, I’ve heard some of the stories. I didn’t live them so I can’t really re-tell any of them with any accuracy at all, but I do remember hearing about Michelle and one Marci Miller (Gunter now) going to some guy’s apartment at night for some loud dance party. Michelle can’t (or won’t) tell me about any of the stories involving Heather.

    Dennis – In your professional missionary experience… What missional model was being employed by going to loud late night dance parties at Portuguese boys apartments?

    Maybe Tim can speak to whether or not the Portugal team (my wife included) was on the cutting edge of understanding the emergent church and the outreach methods necessary to todays post-modern culture. Any input?

    Got to love the Portugal team… Especially if you married one… Can I get an “AMEN” Mike Winter?

    J

    OKAY JASON…THERE’S REALLY NO NEED FOR ALL THE BIG WORDS UNLESS YOU ARE TRYING TO CONFUSE US. I’M NOT SURE WHAT MODEL OUR TEAM WAS FOLLOWING…ASK YOUR WIFE IF SHE WAS INVOLVED IN THE SINGING IN THE PARK MINISTRY (I’D BE CURIOUS TO KNOW HOW MANY OF MY TEAM MEMBERS REMEMBER THAT).

  6. In our defense, Marcie and I saw a strobe light out of our window one evening(Paige, you know I cannot resist finding the light in the sky), we grabbed some BIBLE literature and went over to the building across the way, rang the door bell and said “tango publicidade!” They buzzed us up and we went up to deliver our BIBLE literature. Any who, it was a bunch of young people and they were playing board games and music! We met our neighbors! And it was not that late at night! It was very evangelistic!

    I DON’T KNOW IF I KNEW THAT STORY OR NOT. WE WERE CREATIVE IN OUR EVANGELISM TACTICS THAT’S FOR SURE.

  7. I love the pictures Paige! It’s funny to look at that girl…so crazy!

    There are a few people I would rather DIE than hear their stories about me…yikes! Paul…is one of them! Funny how our team had a “rep”. We were exactly like Tim said…I remember laughing and laughing and no one knew what the heck was going on…people would just wither away at the thought that it could have been them that started the hysterics. We could all be pretty brutal!!

    HEATHER CAN YOU TELL A FEW OF YOUR FAVORITE AIM/PORTUGAL MEMORIES?

  8. Ohhh, not McGiver – MACGUIVER! Sorry!

    ACTUALLY I JUST LOOKED ON THE INTERNET AND IT’S SPELLED MACGYVER. 🙂

  9. I don’t think I was involved with the singing in the park ministry, I have no idea about that. I do however remember lots of beach time ministries, and perhaps a concert ministry (yeah Heather! remember yelling “CALIFORNIA ROCKS” while DADA was playing and they talked to us from the stage – right before Depeche Mode came out?. That is is good memory of Heather! That and just laughing all the time….love you Heather!

    In general, one of my most favorite memories of our team is all of us on the plane at JFK the first time before we took off for Lisbon. I remember sitting on the plan for 2 hours before we even took off because the wind or something had broken…then the 8 hour ride after that…then Doug and his troops picking us up and taking us to our new homes, seeing Lisbon for the first time with my teammates…that is my really good memory.

    I have a lot of video of that airplane time. We were filming all of the sleeping people. The stewardess was trying to help a man get gum off of his pants. I think we might have been driving everyone crazy.

  10. WOW – Heather really has a big mouth!! (are you sure that picture isn’t digitally altered??)

    Do you remember our Friday night Nertz parties?? You may not remember since Jason T & I usually whipped everyone – I remember the fights Heather & I would have over who put their card down first and whether we played with two hands or one! And then I (being the good servant that I am) would gracefully concede as Jason T and I would break into a harmonized verse of “Make Me a Servant”!! Yes….now it’s all coming back to me….at least that’s how I remember it!!

    On a serious note, I do remember how impressed I was/am with Heather and her dedication to the study of God’s Word. It was Heather who challenged me in Ed Wharton’s class to study harder because she always aced his tests (even though she was out partying [in an AIM kinda way] the night before!!)

    And then….years later reading her blog and still seeing that complete and wholehearted commitment to striving for a deeper relationship with the One who is the Giver of all good things.

    Now “that” kind of life challenges me!

    WHO COULD FORGET NERTZ…I REMEMBER THE LATE NIGHTS, BUT I HAVE COMPLETELY FORGOTTEN HOW TO PLAY. I KNOW THAT YOU WON ALL THE TIME…YOU HAD WORKED AT A BANK AND COULD MOVE THOSE CARDS LIKE CRAZY.

  11. Gosh we played that game ALL the time! I totally remember you singing all the time Stuart! Even if it was AT people! Thanks for mentioning my smarts…I was/am a real genus!

    Remember calling Lisa Gunert…Gunip Gunop Gunert? That was funny. Remember Ed calling Nekia, Neckia? That was funny too.

    I remember driving around with Shannon Bales, going to the park and he was going to run a red light on accident (it was like 3 am) and Paige is starts screaming BLACK BLACK BLACK! We are all looking around like what? Then Shannon sees the light and slams on the brakes. Paige is like “I TOLD YOU the light was red!” It was so funny.

    I remember the concerts. U2 and Depeche Mode. Remember how we lost Louie at the U2 concert? We couldn’t find him anywhere! The next morning at the team meeting at the church, here comes Louie, he had walked all night from the concert. He was totally worked.

    Remember when Alex and Benjy first got to AIM in that little blue Honda? The car just made it…then it died for like a week. I remember driving everywhere in that car. Holding the passenger door shut around corners. Why didn’t we take Milk Dud?

    I remember walking over to that Taco Bell everyday for months and finally being like, “I can’t do this anymore!” My intestines couldn’t take it anymore. To this day, I hate Taco Bell.

    Chocolate Chip Pancakes. Obviously.

    I have so many memories of Alan. I miss him so much! Those faces he could make. He had the best “disgusted” look ever!

    Remember the first time our water got turned off in Portugal? We filled EVERY bowl, glass, cup with water. Later on, we were all like no water, whatever.

    Boy, I am on a roll here! I have to get my kids to soccer so I’ll sign off for now! xoxo.

    IT IS AMAZING TO ME HOW I CAN COMPLETELY FORGET SOME THINGS…LOUIE…I COMPLETELY FORGOT ABOUT LOUIE. HEATHER THANKS FOR THE LIST…SO MANY MEMORIES…

  12. I remember when we lost Louie, and then I remember when we LEFT Jon in the Algarve! oh yeah, I also remember the trip with Craig in his car (Lupita) to Tulsa everyone shooting at us, ducking and swerving and we went to the Oral Roberts University, got prayed over then Alex swam in the river of life? I have a great pic of us from that day. WHAT MEMORIES!

  13. Remember riding that train down the coast Michelle? With all the homeless wanderers. That was insane. What were we thinking? I mean we wandered around Portugal! Staying in little crusty motels et all. I kinda forgot about leaving Jon! Umm…That’s all I have to say about that!

    HEATHER THANKS FOR BEING IN THE HOT SEAT. I LOVED READING YOUR LIST OF MEMORIES…THEY MADE ME SMILE.

  14. I love you, Heather. All of my memories of you … are fond ones. Just the thought of you … makes me smile. I am not allowed (Paige threatened me) to tell any of those “stories” about AIMers; but if I don’t have any of those stories about Heather. (I know that the cement deal was all Paige’s doing.) Heather – you are a joy. I would love to see you and your family.

    p.s. But some of these stories are giving me heartburn! 🙂

  15. Thanks Rex! I would love to see you too! I am sure if you dig around your mind a little you’ll remember a few little morsels about me. I can not count how many times I lied to Selandra about being “under the weather” so she would give me a ride to school during mission term. The good the bad and the ugly!! Time to let it out!

    Thanks Paige! This was fun. My hubby is reading all this right now…laughing. Who knows what he is going to add!

    I AM LOVING THIS…THANKS FOR PARTICIPATING.

  16. Heather's Husband said:

    Amen Jason … I’m sure I’ve only heard the flattering stories along with a few funny ones – I’m sorry I don’t know the rest of you all better – but know that I appreciate my wife more than any of you, as you can imagine. I fell in love with her out in a California desert, sitting under the stars back when she was fifteen – and that hasn’t stopped. Its so great to be part of such an awesome community, even when its separated by time and space. I love you guys for being a part of my life through my wife.

  17. Heather … now that you have confessed to misappropriating Selandra’s rides – I will also confess – I knew about it all the time. It was all just an experiment to see how many AIMers were creative enough to survive mission term. (I will need to have a long talk with Selandra though.)

  18. Cheri (Boyles) Smith said:

    I don’t have any really good stories on this one, I have good memories of this AIM class…but I have to make a comment about one of the pictures…Dad, I remember that jacket and those jeans…you really should have listened to me and David about the jeans, but I remember stealing the jacket and wearing it all the time. I sometimes forget what you looked like with out the beard. The pictures made me smile…I love you so much. I love all of you rotten people here…even if you never knew.

    WHO YOU CALLING ROTTEN?

  19. Hey, Cheri – you stole my sweaters, t-shirts, and leather jackets too. I would cut off my beard, but my g-kids think it is a family pet. I love you … junk.

    p.s. About the jeans – we were all under a fashion “cloud” back in those days. Remember the “heather rose” jacket?

    p.p.s. Tell Heidi to check these “rotten people” out. It would do her heart good. It sure is good for mine.

    p.p.s. You are the best for my heart. CALL ME!!!

  20. My internet fried last week while I was in Cancun – so I have been waiting on TelMex to get me fixed (imagine having to wait in Mexico)…they still didn’t get me fixed – so I went out and “stole” a cable modem so I could get back online and connect to the real world!

    I just want to say about Heather that I was always impressed with her spirit and her heart. I would sit back and think – here is a girl who could do anything she wants and here she is in AIM. That impressed me…I loved having her in my group as we worked out at Ralls and enjoyed all the times we spent STUDYING or hanging out at my house. Heather was a blessing to me then and I thank God for her!

    Today, as I have looked over her blog – and as I have read about and looked at pictures of her family with Mike – I once again am impressed…they are two servants who love people and have continued to show that love and devotion to the Lord by the way they touch people.

    Mike, I remember when you came to AIM – that group from California – ya’ll sang all the different songs…and by the time you went to the mission field – we loved all those songs. I was impressed with you when you were in AIM…impressed with you when you chose Heather to be your wife…and I am still impressed by the things I hear and read about you today! You are a good man!

    I love you both!

    WE MISS YOU GUYS!!!!!

  21. Hi all! Okay so this is only the second time I have ever replied or shared anything on a blog. I wouldn’t be replying at all if it weren’t for my name being dragged through here. I am at school right now at the end of the day and I still find that I have enough energy to laugh and laugh hard. Well I laughed until I saw the part about how was duped and lied to by Heather. I always was a sucker for an Aimer. Good times…good times. Heather you and your people scared me too. I get a little shiver even now just thinking about that time. I got over bein’ skairt though when I visited Portugal. It is good to laugh with you all again.
    Selandra

    SELANDRA…HEY THERE, WELCOME…I’M SO GLAD TO SEE YOUR NAME. CAN YOU BELIEVE HEATHER LIED TO YOU? I SURE COULDN’T, I WOULD NEVER EVER HAVE DREAMED OF DOING SOMETHING LIKE THAT. YOU ARE THE BEST…THANKS FOR DROPPING BY.

  22. I thought I’d be the first to give out a little dirt on myself…but then I just read about Michelle ripping them on her page…I am out done!

    Selandra-Good times is right! I remember I would run around the corner to your house in my pjs and ask you for 10 minutes and you would always do it. Thank you, you were the best! Thinking about that walk from the apartments to the school…I am absolutely NOT ashamed of doing what I needed to do!!!

    Dennis-thank you! I am grateful that you saw something good in me, It means something extra to me about YOU saw something good, because I loved you so much! I am glad you look back on that girl with some love…and the girl I am today too! Double blessed! I love you Dennis!

Leave a Reply

