You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

DENNIS WILSON…MY HERO

dennis.jpg

Dennis has volunteered to be the first hot seat candidate. Just kidding. He never responded to my earlier post so he may totally object to this…I sure hope not. Actually he was nominated by Rex … so any backlash from this falls on him.

If you look back at the very beginning of this blog. It talks about Dennis.I  smarted off to him about something last Sunday and the next communication I get is my new blog address. I was given a blog as punishment. I was going to dedicate a few entries to him and then just stop…but then this idea came to me. Have a fun place for people to just tell stories. And in this case…stories about Dennis.

Your assignment is to just write. You can write stories about him…compliments….ask him questions (he may not respond, but you can try it), whatever you want.

There is only one rule for the “hot seat”….HAVE FUN.

Let the games begin….

I’ll start. When I was in AIM back in 1992, I happened to be at Dennis’ house. He was an esteemed assistant that year and had offered to help some of us study for our ED test. I’m not the best of students and so I and several others took him up on this offer.  It had started to snow really hard a little while before and there had been some discussion of a snow day. I’m not sure exactly how it went down but I believe Dennis was wanting to watch “Return of Benjy”  or “Alex in Wonderland” and was trying to convince us to goof off instead of study. Although we really tried to stick to our principles his efforts were successful and we all decided that the next day would surely be a snow day and there would be no ED test.

Imagine our surprise when we woke up late and found out it was not a snow day. Yes…we had class…it was not cancelled.

I believe the comment Ed wrote on my test was, “I don’t even think you can get into heaven with a score like this, missy. ”

I want to give a big shout out to my hero Dennis the assistant. Thanks to him…I scored too low to  get into heaven…but apparently it was high enough to get me sent to Portugal.

Comments on: "DENNIS WILSON…MY HERO" (25)

  1. Ok… I love that picture!!! How funny. I am a Dennis fan and one-time friend (hopefully still am, but it has been a while since we’ve reconnected… Dennis? Friends??)

    My combination Dennis/Craig story…

    I was not the most involved AIMer. In fact, I only got to know my fellow AIM classmates after I got back from the field and was an assistant. I did have one thing going for me… Craig Hicks was my friend therefore I was cool by association. I think the only reason Rex even asked me to come back as an assistant was because Craig must have lobbied heavily in my favor. Terry (my teammate) and I were in Craig’s small group the whole time. Even mission term when Craig would buy us fast food and drive us to school so we wouldn’t have to walk… (oops… that’s another story all by itself… Sorry Craig.)

    We used to go over to Craig’s apartment on 4th street for movies, hot tea (Earl Grey with cream), Hershey’s Kisses and almonds. Craig’s apartment was downstairs in the corner. It was also directly below Dennis and Theresa Wilson’s apartment. It was late (I think almost, if not midnight.) It was fall, I believe, cool and windy. Craig, Terry and I got bored so we drug his mattress out of the bedroom along with the couch cushions and put them out on the floor. One of us would lie down by the door on our backs. Another person would sit on the feet of the one lying down. The person on the ground would then launch the other into the air with their feet. Once in the air, the goal was to hit, smack or pound the ceiling so that we would bug Dennis. He was studying for some SSOP exam. Come one Dennis… Priorities! We did this for a while and eventually Dennis started pounding on the floor indicating to cut it out. Dennis told us later that he got his broom and started pounding on the floor with his broom handle. We did not stop, it only increased our desire and fun. We had poked the bear!

    Eventually, Dennis knocked on the door with a grin that said “I’m smiling, but I’m on the edge of Christian patience.” We invited him in. He told us he was trying to study. We told him what we were doing and soon enough we had convinced him to get launched into the air also. We had a great time launching Dennis and watching him fly into the air while laughing. I always wondered what Theresa said to him when he finally ended going back home?

    That is how I remember it at least. The story should be corroborated by Craig and Dennis first. Good times though. In the words of ANGIE – “Love me some Dennis!”

    J

    HEY JASON…THANKS FOR GETTING THE STORIES STARTED. I HAD SOMEONE THAT TOOK ME OUT DURING MISSION TERM FOR CHILI DOGS, BUT I’M NOT GOING TO RAT paul OUT LIKE YOU DID CRAIG. I’M ALSO NOT GOING TO RAT OUT stuart…DO YOU REMEMBER THAT NIGHT STUART? I THINK WE WENT TO 4 DIFFERENT PLACES. ANYWAY THIS IS ABOUT DENNIS AND I CAN AGREE …”LOVE ME SOME DENNIS!”

  2. Dennis!! What a man!! 🙂 Of course you have some kind of technology stuff going on in that picture~you are the king of technology!

    I am going to take this opportunity to thank you and honor you. We are told to give honor where honor is due right? I’ll pick on you in the other posts 😉

    Dennis you have honestly been such a blessing to my life. You have taught me incredible lessons about how to live like Jesus. You have shown me, through your quiet unimposing way, how to have strength. You have shown me how Jesus treats friends, sinners and prodigal sons (or daughters). Thank you for your encouragement when things were so hard for me that I couldn’t breathe. Knowing that you were praying for me and that you “had my back” gave me strength to keep getting up and making it through one more day.

    I remember one particular day, you and Rex were eating at The Great Wall…I had already eaten elsewhere, but Rex knew I was having a bad day so I went and sat with yall. Just to hear you two talk about things gave me courage to face the day and deal with whatever fell in my path. We didn’t talk much about my deal…just touched on it. I think it was just being there with yall and knowing that two such good guys were on my side. Maybe part of it was realizing that there WERE good guys in the world. Thank you. I’ve said it to you before, but I want to say it again…you touch my heart in a way I cannot quite explain. Thank you brother for helping me fight my battles with your quiet strength. I love you.

    ps..I’m not gonna ask you to help me study for my heaven test though…I don’t want to get sent to Portugal!!! 😉

    OKAY SHERRY…I WAS ABOUT TO SHED A LITTLE TEAR FOR DENNIS’ HEART AND THEN THAT LAST LINE MADE ME BUST UP LAUGHING. TALK TO ME ABOUT THE HEAVEN TEST (I HAVE BECOME A MASTER TEST TAKER SINCE THEN) I CAN AT LEAST GET YOU A PASSING GRADE.
    I AGREE WITH YOU ABOUT DENNIS…HE HAS A SPIRIT LIKE NO OTHER. I HAVE NEVER REALLY FELT LIKE DENNIS AND I TALKED MUCH BUT IT WAS MORE LIKE WE KNEW THE SAME PEOPLE SO WE WERE AUTOMATICALLY FRIENDS. WHEN I CAME TO VISIT IN APRIL RIGHT BEFORE I MOVED HERE, I REMEMBER TALKING TO DENNIS OVER AT REX’S THAT WEDNESDAY. THE SAME NIGHT I MET YOU. MY HEART FELT AT REST WHEN I WAS TALKING TO HIM BECAUSE I KNEW HE UNDERSTOOD ME WITHOUT ME SAYING A WORD. HE SHOWS ME JESUS AND THAT MAKES UP FOR ANY FAILED TEST…WHICH WAS ENTIRELY HIS FAULT BY THE WAY.

  3. by the way what does cemotosnack mean?

    I WAS WONDERING WHEN SOMEONE WOULD ASK THAT QUESTION. IT’S THE NAME OF MY DOG THAT I LEFT IN ILLINOIS. WE CALLED HIM SNACK BUT HIS OFFICIAL NAME WAS CEMOTO SNACK…CEMOTO IS A LABEL FOR SOME SPANISH MOTORCYCLES THAT WE HAD. IF YOU LOOK ON THE PART OF THE BLOG THAT SAYS…”A BLOG…YOU’VE GOT TO BE KIDDING”, THERE IS A PICTURE OF HIM WHEN HE WAS A PUPPY AND THEN ANOTHER WHEN HE IS LAYING ON THE COUCH BESIDE DENIPIPE. I WANTED TO BRING HIM WITH ME, BUT HE WAS NOT GOOD AT DISCRIMINATING BETWEEN INSIDE AND OUTSIDE WHEN HE NEEDED TO RELIEVE HIMSELF THUS, I HAD TO LEAVE HIM BEHIND.

  4. Paige…my dear friend…I am willing to play your game because I love you…as well as the names I have read on these comments…and because one day you will visit me here in Cozumel…and Oh what fun it will be…!

    As for my dear friend (of course, that never changes) Jason…as many on this board will surely attest – as an assistant – I spent many nights in prayer and fasting over those who wanted to play in the snow instead of prepare for their “heaven test” (never heard anyone call one of Ed’s tests one of those – it was usually the other way around) –
    I was always concerned about the safety and well-being of each and every AIM student God blessed me with the opportunity to work. So, Jason, it was out of my deep care and concern that I needed to come down to Craig’s apartment and check on you young, impressionable, men…and when I saw you flying through the air…I thought to myself…”Is this really safe for Jason, Terry – and my fellow assistant, Craig – to be doing?” Therefore, being the loving assistant that I was…I tested it myself to make sure that you guys would be safe…after which I returned to my prayer closet for more fasting and memorization of Scripture.

    As far as studying for Ed’s test – once again…snow…children playing in the snow (as Aimers have been known to do)…through much trepidation I am sure that I pleaded with you to study…knowing full well the eternal consequences of failing an Ed test…however, I had to make sure you were safe. You all spent the night so that you would be safe and not out on those treacherous roads. Can we fault a man for caring?

    Sherry – thank you for all that you said – it does mean a lot to me…just know…I have helped many folk pass their “heaven test” – so don’t let Paige fool you.

    DENNIS…THANKS FOR PLAYING ALONG. REALLY. EVEN THOUGH YOU KIND-OF HAD NO CHOICE IN THE MATTER IT IS GOOD THAT YOU HAVE A GOOD ATTITUDE ABOUT IT. FROM YOUR EXPLANANTIONS I’M SEEING THAT YOU REALLY HAD OUR BEST INTERESTS IN MIND ALL THE TIME. YOU WERE AN EVEN BETTER ASSISTANT THAN I REMEMBER. I REGRET THAT I HAVE NOT GIVEN YOU THE RESPECT THAT YOU DESERVED.

    YOU’RE A GOOD MAN DENNIS…THANKS…WHAT IS THAT SHELF AT THE CHURCH FOR AGAIN?

  5. Well, well well…some of us were wondering what that noise was over there! We thought Dennis and Theresa were having a romantic night. Then again Craig below with Jason and Terry explains a lot! We wondered about those rides Jason. Some of us thought that was the case not just with you!

    Dennis, this is actually how I remember you. Techie stuff attached to your head! I think I even have a similar picture of you in my album.

    Paige, thought I would join in on the fun. Count me in the New York spot with Craig =)!! Now,I will have to pull out my album!

    WELCOME SHELLIE…I’M SURE THAT CRAIG WILL BE HAPPY TO HAVE ANOTHER NEW YORKER TO SUPPORT HIM. I HAVE NEVER SEEN DENNIS WITHOUT THOSE HEADPHONES ON HIS HEAD.

  6. Paige… You can add another Mexican to your list. I have enjoyed reading your post–thought I would join in. The picture is exactly how I remember Dennis. I also remember having similar comments on my “Ed tests”.

    GOOD TO SEE YOU KARY. GOTTA LOVE THOSE TESTS. THEY WERE NOT THE BEST ESTEEM BUILDERS. GLAD YOU DECIDED TO JOIN IN.

  7. I love that I am getting to hear stories about Dennis “back in the day”. Since I just met him about 2 yrs ago…I am enjoying the stories of his antics…oh I’m sorry…of his deep concern for all the students he “assisted”.

    And D, seriously, with you and Rex as my teachers for the heaven test, I’m not worried at all…

    YOU CAN DO WHAT YOU WANT SHERRY BUT AT LEAST CHECK TO MAKE SURE IT’S NOT GOING TO SNOW ANYTIME SOON.

  8. My goodness, what to say about Dennis? I love that man!

    Great choice to put him on the hot seat first. I saw his picture yesterday morning and have been thinking about him ever since. And I still can’t think of how to narrow down all the thoughts and feelings of love and respect I have for him. But, it honestly feels like yesterday I spent the whole day with him. Thanks for that Paige.

    Dennis, I guess I’d have to say I’m especially grateful for the couple months I got to spend with you in Perm. I respected you before then, but I feel like, in Russia, my eyes were opened to see the gift that is Dennis Rowland Wilson. Your endurance, your dedication to knowing the Word, your deep love for that Russian church… your example still pushes me today. Thank you so much.

    And since then… Kim and I getting to hang out with you and Theresa watching NFL games after church… getting to study Ephesians with you and Rex at IHOP all those mornings. Your understanding of scripture, combined with your eagerness to help out this little-kid-preacher… you’ll never understand how God breathed life into me through you.

    On another note… Paige, do you remember the night in London on our way back from Russia? You and Jamie and Benjy ordered supreme pizza and mocked me for my personal pepperoni… until yours came with corn on it. And the discovery we made that night of the original “Who’s Line is it Anyway?” Good times!

    TIM I AM SO GLAD THAT YOU HAVE SUCH GOOD MEMORIES OF DENNIS. I KNOW IT CAN FILL YOUR HEART TO HAVE SUCH STRONG FEELINGS FOR SOMEONE THAT JUST THINKING ABOUT THEM CAN ALMOST PUT YOU IN THEIR PRESENCE.

    I REMEMBER LONDON BUT I DO NOT REMEMBER THE PIZZA OR THE WHO’S LINE IS IT ANYWAY? REFRESH MY MEMORY. ONCE I GET SOME DETAILS IT WILL PROBABLY ALL COME BACK TO ME.

    YOU ARE GREAT TIM…THANKS FOR SHARING ABOUT DENNIS.

    TIM CHECK OUT THE COMMENTS UNDER “PERSONAL SATISFACTION”…DO YOU REMEMBER SANDRA?

  9. Dennis “Rowland” Wilson – another bad case of mistaken identity. I don’t know this man…but Tim – I know…and my best memories of Russia were when you were working with me side by side…how cool was it to teach all day and get together for meals to talk about war stories.

    You have blessed my life…and your friendship and encouragement continue to do so to this day! Thanks, Tim.

  10. I think it’s time for a new contestant…don’t you?

    JUST A LITTLE LONGER…IS THE HOT SEAT GETTING TOO HOT? WOULD YOU LIKE TO PICK THE NEW CONTESTANT?

  11. can I play … yet?

    NOPE

  12. Rex…we have the power…(I still have my blue jacket somewhere)…we can play whenever and wherever we want!

    I THINK YOUR BLUE JACKET GOT THROWN OUT WHEN WE DID THE YARD SALE…SORRY MAN…I GUESS YOUR POWER ENDED UP IN THE DUMPSTER. THERE’S PROBABLY SOME KID WALKING AROUND THE NEIGHBORHOOD WEARING YOUR BLUE JACKET…DICTATING ORDERS TO ALL OF HIS FRIENDS WHILE THEY CALL HIM SENOR WILSON…ALL THE WHILE SAYING HE’S DOING IT FOR THEIR OWN SAFETY AND WELL-BEING.

  13. Sandra (nee Monteiro) now in South Africa said:

    Guess I should re-post here. I have been lurking for a while and have been reading Tim’s and Angie’s Blog for a while.

    I was introduced to the Church by an AImer (Patricia) which I met on the bus to school of Aim’s 2nd Lisbon Team and met every aim team from 1986-1993.

    Candy (nee de Oliveira) is fine she lives in Cape Town. She married Craig a New Zealander that she met whilst we attended SABC (Southen Africa Bible College) and they have 2 beautiful girls. Her husband is a missionary who works for International Bible School in Cape Town.

    I live on the opposite side of the country in Gauteng. Married a South African born Austrian and have 2 kids (a boy and a girl). We attend several small congregations in our area.

    Manuel and Pam de Oliveira are missionaries in Mozambique.

    Their 2 other daughters live in the States. Marina is a Educatinal Psycologist in Tenesse and Bianca married a South African Ryan and they both attended York college in the US. They have a young toddler (boy) and live in Texas.

    SO GOOD TO HEAR THAT ALL ARE DOING WELL…THANK YOU FOR POSTING…YOU ARE WELCOME HERE.

  14. Sandra (nee Monteiro) now in South Africa said:

    Dear Dennis,

    I have never net you but am grateful for everyone that trained all the AIm teams.

    By sending these young people to he field the gospel preached and many were saved including myself.

    And sometimes it reminds me of the movie “Pass it forward’. Whilst at SABC we took several mission trips through Sothern Africa and I was then able to share the gospel with several others.

    Even as we speak the Lord is working wonderful miracles. We have a young Muslim lady (20 years) living with us. I have been a friend to her widower mother for years and because this young lady is studying Christianity she was shunned from her family so we offer a home. I am unsure of what the outcome will be but I pray and leave it in God’s hands. What is so amazing is that a year ago this young lady was studying to be a muslim teacher. She was in a traditional muslim school since she was 12 (She is now trying to finish Matric – like a GED here) and was fully covered in public (the kind that you only see the eyes) until last year.

    Aim is a great program and the seeds planted can strech far and wide as God wills…

    GOD HAS USED AIM TO TOUCH SO MANY PEOPLE…I THANK YOU FOR REMINDING US HOW BIG HE HIS.

  15. Sandra! I can’t believe you’ve been lurking without saying anything?

    Is Gauteng close to Jo-berg? What are you kid’s names? Do you have a blog with pictures? Sorry for all the questions… but you didn’t say how your sister and mom are doing. Did I meet your husband at SABS? (Where you two dating while I was there?)

    I didn’t remember that you found the church through an AIMer. What a great legacy.

  16. Sandra,

    Thanks so much for your kind words…the reason AIM was such a great program was because of all the different types of people God brought together for one purpose…to be like Jesus. I am so thankful that someone was like Jesus to you in Portugal…and even more thankful that you are in turn being like Jesus to so many – may God bless your work beyond imagination. Please keep us up to date on your work – its so exciting to hear what God is doing in other parts of the world. I long for the day when we are all in heaven and can meet each other and rejoice on the fact that we are finally home!

    God bless!

    Dennis

  17. A day late and a dollar short! Sorry!

    Dennis-you are one of my fondest connections from my AIM days. I always enjoyed our time together! Hanging out at your house, messing around too much. I loved the sweet mix of fun and down to business you were. We would goof our little hearts out and a look from you…we knew enough was enough. I love you Dennis. I think of you often, always with a smile. Always!

  18. Heather – thanks for the note – it means more to my heart than you will ever know. Those times with you in my group and with all the stuff we did at my house and wherever else have meant more to me than any other time I had at Sunset. You blessed me beyond belief…and I love hearing what God is doing with you and Mike today. I got on your blog the other day to see what ya’ll were up to…are all those children yours? Give me an update – you can email me at dennis@denniswilson.com.

  19. I will email you Dennis! But for now…yes all those children are mine! 5 of them. I am glad to be a happy thought to you! You are to me too!

  20. Can I play? Count me as a member of the Dennis Wilson fan club!! It’s a wonder I didn’t get kicked out of AIM because of his “wise” advice. Jason & I were dating before we ever entered AIM, & Dennis decided it would be best if we kept that little detail to ourselves. Rex found out in January that we had been engaged since September, and that was when we realized that maybe that had not been the best route to take. We were just being good little kids & doing what our revered AIM assistant told us to do Rex, I promise!!

    Dennis, you (and Theresa!) had such a huge part in shaping who I am today. Most of my fond Aim memories involve the two of you & the late nights we spent at your place “studying”. I hope we can pick up right where we left off. By the way, whatever became of Zippy?

    YOU CAN PLAY ALL YOU WANT AMY. ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE STORIES TO TELL. DENNIS’ ADVICE DID NOT SEEM TO BE THE BEST DID IT…I TOOK HIS ADVICE ONCE…AND ALMOST FAILED ED’S CLASS BECAUSE OF IT. 🙂

  21. Amy – first let me say that you DIDN’T do what your revered AIM assistant told you to do…because obviously – Rex did find out. At least you waited till AFTER AIM to get married.

    It is so good to hear from you…we spent a lot of time together and I enjoyed every bit of it! Remember when we had group dynamics – with you and Jason and James and RaDonna…I kept trying to get ya’ll to really open up and have a good, “honest” conversation about your team…and ya’ll did it WITHOUT me!

    Keep in touch…when you and Jason need a trip down south to a tropical island – remember you always have a place to stay with us…and we don’t mind kids…the more the merrier.

    Zippy went to live with my sister when Theresa and I were in Russia – she was so depressed about us being gone that she committed suicide by jumping in front of a car. We miss that old dog!

    Tell that husband of yours I said hi…would love to hear from him too!

  22. In spite of how my best friend, Rex, has been mis-treated on this blog – by long time friends and even his daughter … I want to play. (Rex will get over it!!!)

    I don’t know Dennis – but I have heard Rex tell stories. (By the way – some of your names are mentioned in those in those stories.) He tells this one about a video with Dennis dancing and singing, “I wish they all could be California girls.” He always starts laughing and can’t finish the story. (But I know for a fact that he would pay good money for a copy of that video.)

    But most of the time when he mentions Dennis – it has something to do with “thanking God”. He always thanks God for Dennis when he prays. I can’t keep up with all of them – but he mentions – AIM – AIM assistant – trips – lunches – wedding – Rex – Carino’s – computers – IHOP – the Boom Boom church – chats – new job – and something about a little shelf at the back of the church.

    Rex loves Dennis and misses him.

    WRECKS…HMMM…I’M GRATEFUL FOR WHAT DENNIS HAS BEEN AND WILL BE TO REX. WAS DENNIS AN ASSISTANT OR AN AIMER WHEN THAT VIDEO WAS MADE…IF HE WAS AN ASSITANT YOU MAY HAVE JUST BOUGHT YOUR WAY BACK IN.

  23. You really expect Rex to remember is Dennis was an AIMer or an Assistant when that video was made? He is too old for this kind of pressure. But since his future on this blog is at stake – Dennis was an assistant!!

    WELL IF YOU WANT IN…YOU CAN BE IN…BUT IF YOU GET OUT OF HAND YOU ARE OUT…EVERYONE IS WELCOME ON BASE EXCEPT THOSE THAT SEEM TO HAVE THE POWER TO “TELL ALL” ON SO MANY. IT’S BEEN SAID BEFORE, YOU JUST KNOW TOO MUCH. YOUR INVITATION BACK IN IS BASED ON YOUR FAILING MEMORY…IT’S BEST IF IT KEEPS FAILING.

  24. That tape was history…it was in-between my AIM time and my Assistanthood. Sometimes one has to do things in order to become all things to all “kids” so that some might be saved.

    Lord willing the tape will never surface again…at least not until I am running for President!

    SO I GUESS “YOU TUBE” WAS AN EMPTY THREAT?

  25. (This is the one and only time I am using either of my surnames on a blog– but Paige, I’m not sure if you will remember me at all, but you certainly wouldn’t if I just stuck with “Su”!)

    So Dennis and Theresa Wilson were names I heard my whole life in Indiana, and though I certanly don’t know them well, I was both astonished and delighted to arrive in Lubbock and find out they were aim-related people. And every time I have seen them since, I say “hello” so enthusiastically they have grounds for questioning my sanity. And they always seem to know who I am, which is awfully nice (that could be because of how much I resemble my parents).

    So there’s my contribution to fun-having. 🙂

Leave a Reply

