You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Can I play?

jumprope.jpg 

The poor kid in this picture is just waiting for his turn to play. (yes, it’s blurry) I love it…all the adults are playing jumprope while he patiently guards their stuff. Way to go!

I am enjoying everyone that’s been coming to visit this site. So far I believe we’ve had 6 Portuguese (Paige, Tim, Angie, Michelle, Heather, Stephanie)…1 Ireland (Sarah)…2 Mexicans (Cheri, Dennis)…1 New Yorker (Craig), 1 Texan (Sherry)…and a Rex. There was also one guy that I didn’t know who didn’t know me. So far Portugal is winning so if we don’t want this to become a Portugal site you guys better start recruiting some folks.

I appreciate all that have stopped by. This has been so good for my heart already. I am looking forward to the fun we can have. I had an idea…I don’t know if any of you have ever played “hot seat”…maybe I made it up…but we did it at a retreat or somewhere. One person is selected to be in the “hot seat”. They have to sit in the middle of the circle while everyone goes around and says something nice about them. They are not allowed to say anything they just have to listen…it’s nice…but excruciatingly uncomfortable. Let’s play that.

Actually it will be a different version of that. I will select someone to be in the “hot seat”. I will post that they are it…and include a picture unless there are any objections. Then we will spend a day or two talking to that person. Only this doesn’t have to be just saying nice things…although that’s allowed. You can ask them questions…tell stories…etc. This will take some cooperation on your part.

 What I need from you guys is to know if you mind having your picture posted and if you mind being in the hot seat. I’m really being nice asking…because there’s not a lot to stop me from just doing it. (Is it illegal to put people’s pictures up without their permission?) I really will respect anyone’s wishes to not participate, but I think it will be fun. So unless you just totally object please play along.

Laughter is my favorite side effect of happiness. I spent quite awhile without my laugh and now that I’ve got it back I need you guys to help me keep it close.

 I will wait to hear what you guys think…and then stay tuned…for the first round of the “hot seat”.

Comments on: "Can I play?" (19)

  1. Sounds fun…and I can’t even think of any pictures you have of me…except that one at Blue Haven of me with 85 Chips Ahoy crammed in my face. Do you have that one? If not, then I am all good! xoxo

    THANKS FOR REMINDING ME OF THAT PICTURE…I’M SURE I DO HAVE IT…YOU SHOULD BE PROUD OF ANY SUCCESS YOU’VE HAD (NO ONE CAN PUT THAT MANY COOKIES IN THEIR MOUTH). I’M GLAD YOU’RE WILLING TO PLAY ALONG. THE GAMES WILL BEGIN SOON.~PAIGE

  2. Sounds like a great idea!

    🙂

  3. Stephanie de Oliveira said:

    Sounds like a good idea to me. I went for a long time without a laugh too. This will be fun.

    IF THIS SITE LIVES UP TO ITS PURPOSE THERE WILL BE MANY LAUGHS…I NEED THEM TOO STEPH.

  4. I want to play, too. But Paige banned me from the game. In fact, she is making me sit out – like the little boy in the picture. She will let me watch, but she won’t let me play. Someone take up for me … please!!! How about you, Tim, I did save you from The Bob.

    YES YOU WERE BANNED, BUT YOU WERE ALSO GIVEN A WAY BACK IN. SO IF YOU MAKE THE CHOICE TO STAY OUT…IT’S YOUR OWN FAULT. ACTUALLY, I WILL HAVE TO LET YOU IN FOR YOUR TURN IN THE HOT SEAT…BUT WILL PROBABLY NEED MORE BANDWIDTH FOR THE STUFF THAT WILL COME POURING IN. THAT LITTLE BOY WAS PROBABLY BEING PUNISHED FOR HOGGING THE ROPE…MY MEMORY IS FOGGY.

  5. Ok…I’m no longer lurking…count me in!!

    Mel and I are so glad to hear how you’re doing and how far you’ve come on your journey. So thrilled to celebrate along with you.

    You might have heard that I’m still in the book business. Some might say I’ve crossed over to the dark side….publishing. I’m been honored to interactive with some great authors.

    As I sit in presentations of upcoming new books with fresh voices I can’t help but think of people that I know personally who have fought nobly to get where they’re at and certainly have a grand story to share.

    I know of several who have a universal longing to experience God, but have felt frustrated in their search for spiritual intimacy, unable to bridge the gap between knowing “about” God and personally “knowing” Him.

    I believe what you all (Rex, Angie, Craig Hicks, Heather Thornton and others) are doing here are tracing your journeys and offering a genuine, tangible reality of what intimacy with God looks like.

    So….I’m challenging you. Keep being undeniably honest and continue to vividly capture this experience. At some point….I would like to gather all this together and present it for publishing when the time is right. I’m truly serious. Angie and Heather both can share how I’ve been after them for some time to write. This is worthy and absolutely has to be shared! Let’s dream big dreams!!

    No pressure here…..but can I have a table of contents and 1st chapter on my desk…say around Jan 1st?? ;0)

    And….do I get 2 points – one for Ireland and one for Mexico??

    Love’s best,

    Stuart

    FIRST…YES YOU GET TWO POINTS…NOW THAT THAT’S OUT OF THE WAY….HI STUART AND MELANIE I’M SO GLAD, AND VERY SURPRISED TO HEAR FROM YOU. IF IT WERE UP TO ME STUART I WOULD HAVE THAT STUFF TO YOU BY TOMORROW, BUT THESE OTHER SLACKERS WILL NEVER MAKE A JANUARY DEADLINE. I APPRECIATE YOU GUYS AND THANK YOU FOR ALWAYS BEING SUCH A SUPPORT…GOD IS DOING AMAZING THINGS. BY THE WAY, DO YOU KNOW PATRICIA CORNWELL OR SUE GRAFTON…IF SO TELL THEM THEY NEED TO GET BUSY…WELCOME TO BASE.~PAIGE

  6. Actually, I’d like to hear what Rex knows about everyone that no one thinks he knows. Like your pepper pot story, Paige!

    ARE YOU TRYING TO TAKE UP FOR HIM SARAH? HE THINKS HE KNOWS MORE THAN HE ACTUALLY DOES. MOST OF MY STUFF SHOULD BE SAFE BECAUSE NOW HE’S MY PREACHER AND I THINK THERE’S A CONFIDENTIALITY RULE. ISN’T THERE?

  7. Oh dude, I don’t think any of us want Rex to start spilling the beans. Though I’d love to hear what he knows about the rest of you, I’d like to be in the dark as far as what he knows about me!

    TIM I’M WITH YOU. I WILL JOKE ABOUT IT, BUT WHEN IT REALLY COMES DOWN TO BARE METAL I’D LOVE TO KNOW EVERYONE ELSE’S STUFF, BUT IF HE STARTS TALKING ABOUT ME…THIS ENTIRE BLOG WILL BE DELETED.

  8. I like you, Sarah; and when I get my chance to “spill the beans”, I am going to start with Paige – giving times, dates and places – something like – say “CHAPTER LOCATIONS?”

    P.S. Hi, Heather … Stephanie … Stuart and Melanie. I have missed you.

    I THINK YOU ARE A BIG TALKER…BUT JUST IN CASE YOUR NOT…DON’T I HAVE SOME KIND-OF CONFIDENTIALITY THING.

  9. Paige, I love how you are able to put just the right spin on things to work them to your advantage. I guess I should be careful, I’d hate for you to pop my leg with a ruler the next time I see you! 🙂

    I AM GOOD AT TWISTING THINGS…AND I HAVE BECOME QUITE ADEPT WITH THE RULER SO STEP BACK…OR ELSE.

  10. Sarah, don’t let her intimidate you. I know some “good stuff”. She has this “confidentiality” thing – but with you I could just call it “consultation” – if you promise not to tell anyone else.

    I DON’T REALLY LIKE WHERE THIS IS HEADED…

  11. Hi to you Rex! You have been on my mind many times over the years…always with love and fond memories! Mike and I still feed off our time in AIM and all it meant to us. And all YOU meant to us! We talk a lot about all AIM built in us. We are all thankful how God used you in our lives Rex.

    Sorry to blog hog Paige!! Just had to give a little shout out there!

    THIS IS YOUR BASE TOO HEATHER…YOU CAN’T HOG SOMETHING THAT BELONGS TO YOU SO SHOUT ALL YOU WANT.

  12. BTW-that looks like me jumping rope in the picture! I would do that too…make a kid wait their turn…”sit down son! let me jump!”

    I’M NOT SURE IF YOU’RE KIDDING ABOUT THAT LOOKING LIKE YOU, BUT….IT IS YOU…THAT’S WHEN WE FIRST GOT TO PORTUGAL. POOR ZEZINHO HAD TO SIT ON THE BENCH.

  13. Cheri (Boyles) Smith said:

    Just to let everyone in on something I know…he forgets nothing…I don’t know how he does it, but he never forgets and loves to mess with you. Luckily, I lived in the same house with him, so I might have some ammunition. Unfortunately, everyone here probably has lots more on me. One of the downfalls of you all witnessing my formative years.

    NOT ONLY DOES HE REMEMBER EVERYTHING BUT IT’S LIKE HE CAN READ MINDS. CHERI…I DON’T THINK THAT I HAVE ANYTHING ON YOU…SO HERE’S A DEAL I WILL MAKE YOU…YOU PROVIDE THE AMMUNITION AND I’LL SAY DAVID TOLD ME. YOU ARE SAFE AS LONG AS I CONTROL THE DELETE BUTTON. THIS IS YOUR BASE…YOUR DAD IS STILL BANNED.

  14. Cheri Smith said:

    Paige,

    It sounds like a plan…we will join forces against the common foe. And I like anything that ends up being blamed on David. As for the reading minds, it really is a freaky thing, isn’t it?

    I’VE ALWAYS BEEN A STRONG SUPPORTER OF THE IDEA THAT TWO ARE BETTER THAN ONE.

  15. To Heather (and Mike): Thank you for giving me a shout … for saying (writing) such kind things … for remembering me with love. (That is a comfort to my heart.) One of the saddest aspects of these last several years was losing touch (mostly my fault) with the very people that were and are to me – my joy and crown. Please know that I do love you and yours. Rex

    P.S. Now … will you please make Paige let me play. 🙂

  16. TO CHERI, MY SWEET, BEAUTIFUL, INTELLIGENT, WONDERFUL, TALENTED, AMAZING, WISE, EXTRAORDINARY, FAVORITE #1 DAUGHTER – FOR WHOM I CHASED DAVID AROUND THE HOUSE, LETTING YOU KICK HIM IN THE HEAD (WHICH COULD EXPLAIN ALOT) … FOR WHOM I BOUGHT CRATES OF MCDONALD’S COOKIES … FOR WHOM I DELIGHTFULLY ENJOYED PIANO RECITALS … FOR WHOM I SENT EMAILS EVERY DAY WHILE YOU WERE IN MEXICO (MONDAYS WERE MY FAVORITE) … FOR WHOM I WAITED UP, ANXIOUSLY AWAITING YOUR RETURN FROM DATES … FOR WHOM I PLAYED GAMES WITH – EVEN INVENTED GAMES JUST FOR YOU … FOR YOU …

    can i play now?

    I COULD BE MISTAKEN BUT I DO NOT BELIEVE FUNERAL IS A GAME. BUT IF YOU BELIEVE IT IS…THEN WHY DON’T YOU PLAY FUNERAL AND LEAVE US ALONE.

  17. Cheri Smith said:

    now that is what i like to hear…although some of those views were a little skewed, but we have had lots of fun…now you know that i would cave and let you play if you promise to behave…but since i know you can’t behave…i love you – you rotten old man.

    CHERI DO NOT EVEN TALK OF CAVING YET BECAUSE, YOU ARE RIGHT, HE CAN’T BEHAVE…THE TRACK RECORD THERE IS NOT GOOD. SECONDLY, ALL HE HAS TO DO IS GIVE US SOME DIRT ON ONE ASSISTANT AND HE’S IN. THAT’S NOT THAT DIFFICULT OF A TASK.

  18. Cheri Smith said:

    very true, very true…you know he has all the good secrets.

  19. Rex, you bless me! I wish we could let you play with us on this but…I agree with Paige (et all). You just know tooo much!!

    About the picture, it just threw me of a little when you said all the “adults” we jumping rope while the kid sat. I just last year realized I am an “adult”! Upon closer inspection, sure enough, that’s me!! All that hair, geez!

    ISN’T IF FUNNY THAT YOU WOULDN’T RECOGNIZE IT…ONCE YOU KNOW IT’S YOU IT’S EASY TO SEE.

Leave a Reply

