You’re on BASE! Take some time to catch your breath … you are safe.

Tim you get the prize!!! (and Michelle you get second prize which is…i don’t know…that feeling you get when you get part of the right answer) The story is a little foggy in my head ,but this is what I remember.

They had just poured some fresh cement at the AIM apartments. I think Heather, Alan, Michelle, and I decided that we should write in it. I know Heather wrote her initials, Michelle wrote her name…but I’m so sneaky that I wrote “Pepperpot”…my nickname from High School.

 Rex happened to be at the apartments the weekend before mission term and he saw it. He made a comment about Michelle’s name and I made a comment about how it’s not a good idea to write your actual name. Rex’s next comment was…”Yeah…you’re really sneaky Pepperpot”. I almost died. I never expected that.

First day of mission term…our last day to drive…we are walking to the car and Heather is video taping our last drive to Sunset. We walk past another pad of concrete…you don’t know everything Rex…and she filmed yet another place we had written. The next scene on the tape is a group of us in the front of the AIM room trying to come up with an apology letter to the apartments. We had gotten in trouble. I do have to give Rex credit…he didn’t mention our names.

It was funny to laugh about later…but at the time I remember feeling really embarassed. He made a point of reminding us how much the apartment folks had done for us and then this is how we thank them. My mind tends to catastrophize things so I just knew we would be kicked out of the apartments or sent to jail. Instead we were sent to Portugal. (That’s something we need to look into…when I look back at the Portugal teams throughout the years…it almost seems like we were handpicked from the…”sent to the director’s office more than once” list.

Someone else needs to fess up….I know we weren’t the only people  to get out of line.

 Pepperpot

Comments on: "And the personal satisfaction goes to…" (12)

  1. Paige and Angie, Tim, Craig, Dennis and Theresa- to see your names here is so amazing for me. In my mind you were the heroes, like seeing Elijah and Moses, during the transfiguration. You were the greats, my superstars. I always wanted to grow and be someone that might live up to the example I saw in all of you, and still see in you. I have missed you greatly, and thank God that now we have a new way to reconnect.

    CHERI…THANK YOU. I’M ALWAYS AMAZED AT HOW PEOPLE SEEM TO ME UNTIL I’M IN THEIR POSITION. I USED TO THINK AIM ASSISTANTS HUNG THE MOON AND DID NO WRONG…UNTIL I WAS ONE AND REALIZED WE’RE JUST NORMAL PEOPLE. NOW I’M A TEACHER…YOU MAY HAVE HAD THIS THOUGHT YOURSELF…I DON’T FEEL LIKE THE KIND-OF TEACHER I HAD AS A KID… I THOUGHT TEACHERS WERE SO SMART…OH WELL.

  2. Cheri, I feel the same way about them, too … even if they all probably belong in a home somewhere! They are fun … aren’t they?

  3. Cheri…

    Thanks for adding my name to that list…(I married into it). I feel the same way…those guys are my heroes too! I thought maybe if I hung around these people…others would think I was like them.

    At the same time, having been around and watch you grow up…and to become the woman, daughter, mother and friend that you are…makes you one of my heroes. I love the way you love your dad…and I pray that I can have just a little of the relationship you share with your dad, with my children.

    I love you,

    Dennis

    I AGREE. ~PAIGE

  4. Cheri, that is too nice of you to say. I mean really? Dennis? (Just joking.)

    Thanks for adding me to that list. I feel like I never really got to know you and David as you intimidated me too much. You guys were (I’m guessing still are… though having kids can change you) really cool and all. Made me nervous to talk to you and reveal how uncool I was (still am… having kids didn’t change that).

    And about being sent to the director’s office. The guys on my team were sent once for a little altercation during camp adventure. I still claim innocence to over 50% of the charges. (Some stunts others pulled got tacked onto us) But the funny thing was… it was the last morning of camp adventure and the campers were asked if they wanted to say anything. Only one camper did and it was my camper. B.J. got up and thanked Bruce and J.T. and Scott and Tim for the great week and how he was for sure coming to AIM. The only other person to speak that morning was The Bob. And he got up to announce that Bruce, J.T., Scott and Tim needed to see him in his office immediatly after. Thankfully, Rex cut us off at the pass and pulled us into his office. He gave us a sound lashing and sent us out his back door to the hallway cause he didn’t think The Bob should talk to us at the moment… he was too mad. And we were directly sent to Portugal.

    YOU MADE A GOOD IMPRESSION EVEN BY BEING BAD…THAT SAYS A LOT. THANKS FOR SHARING THE STORY. I’M STILL WAITING TO HERE THE ONE ABOUT ANGIE.~PAIGE

  5. ummm, if I remember right, my name was the biggest! MAGGIE!!!!!

    DO YOU REMEMBER ANY DETAILS THAT I LEFT OUT. REX SAYS HE WASN’T REALLY MAD…DO YOU REMEMBER?

  6. Cheri Smith said:

    Dennis, Thank you so much for what you said…I always felt like if I could get a little of what I had around me to rub off, then I would be doing good. You may never know how much your love for my dad has helped me and meant to me. To be away from him when he was hurting so much, was very hard. It made it easier knowing that you were there loving him too.

    Tim, Okay really…cool? I know David pretty well and come on. NO really…I was intimidated by you…and David and well pretty much everyone. I have not had a cool moment in my life (do you remember the glasses?). Thank you for being around and an example. And usually good for a laugh.

  7. Paige! Yay! I am so happy to “find” you here. You are truly one of my favorite people in the world. Even through all these miles and years between us. I remember SO many things we could have been busted for! Most of them were just hilarious and embarrassing (remember when I fell down the icy stairs?) but a few things we did like real rebels!!! I love you Friend!

    HEATHER…WELCOME TO BASE…TELL ANY FUNNY STORIES YOU WANT…I NEED TO RELIVE SOME OF THAT GOOD STUFF. YOU SHOULD CHECK HERE OFTEN BECAUSE YOU AND MICHELLE WILL PROBABLY BE THE TOPIC OF MANY THINGS I WRITE ABOUT…YOU WERE MY LIFE FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS. I REALLY LIKE YOU AND AM GLAD YOU FOUND THIS PLACE. I THOUGHT ABOUT TELLING YOUR RUG STORY NEXT…OK? ~PAIGE

  8. Stephanie de Oliveira said:

    Oh my word Paige! It’s so great to see you blogging! And the memories…there are so many. Those were some of the happiest years of my life. I just wish I could go back to being that naive and ready to conquer the world. We have all been through a lot since then. I look forward to this being “base” and reliving some of those great times through your blog.

    And if you, Tim and Angie are talking about “Mia”, which by the way, was not “Mia” but “minha”, I have absolutely no recollection of that!

    STEPHANIA…SO GOOD TO SEE YOU. THIS IS GOING TO BE SO GOOD FOR MY HEART. I’M GLAD YOU’VE FOUND BASE. JUST CAMP OUT HERE AND REST FOR A WHILE…BUT FIRST YOU HAVE TO TELL ME THIS “MINHA” STORY…I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THEY’RE TALKING ABOUT.~PAIGE

  9. Wow, so I guess I’ve told the story too many times since moving to Mexico.

    …so we told Angie and Stephanie that as there aren’t many yards in Lisbon, the people take their dogs to the streets and let them poop on the sidewalk. Thus, it is a common curtesy to warn other passer-byers of poop in the path. You do so by raising a hand and saying “Minha”. (thanks Steph.) What they didn’t know at the time was that Minha is portuguese for “mine”. And the funny part is that after they learned portuguese, they didn’t put it together that they were still saying mine.

    So the rest of the story… they sent a video back to recruit the next AIM class which of course would have been Pepperpot and co. In the video they are walking down the street as Angie is talking to the camera. But in the foreground, you see Steph raise her hand and say “minha” to warn those who are coming up behind. Priceless.

    TICKET TO PORTUGAL $900…PASSPORT $65…AIM T-SHIRT $5…WALKING DOWN THE STREET CLAIMING A DOG’S POOP AS MY OWN…PRICELESS. THAT IS SO FUNNY. I KNOW I’VE HEARD THAT STORY BEFORE BUT HAD COMPLETELY FORGOTTEN IT. SORRY STEPHANIE…THE LAST THING I WANT IS FOR PEOPLE TO GET EMBARASSED ON HERE BUT IF WE CAN’T LAUGH AT EACH OTHER WHO CAN WE LAUGH AT. BESIDES I BELIEVE I WAS LEFT STRANDED ON A BUS ONE DAY BY THE TWO ELDER AIMERS THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN THERE TO RESCUE ME…RING ANY BELLS. I WOULD LOVE TO HEAR MORE OF THOSE WODERFUL STORIES TIM…THANKS. ~PAIGE

  10. Stephanie de Oliveira said:

    I don’t mind laughing about it now. But it has taken years of therapy!

    I KNOW A THING OR TWO ABOUT THERAPY MYSELF…GLAD YOU’RE UP FOR THE GAME. I REALLY AM GLAD TO SEE YOU HERE. ~PAIGE

  11. Sandra (nee Monteiro) now in South Africa said:

    Portugal wins one more. Not an aimer but an ex-Lisbon Church member sayng hello all the way from South Africa.

    I remember all you guys so well I left Lisbon in 1993 for South Africa with Candy de Oliveira…

    By the way “minha” means mine but only for a girl. In a boys case use ‘Meu’

    Its so good to see all of you guys again in Blogland.

    God Bless

    WELCOME SANDRA…YOU GET A POINT FOR PORTUGAL AND SOUTH AFRICA. SO GOOD TO HEAR FROM YOU. DID YOU RECOGNIZE THE PICTURE OF ZEZINHO IN THE JUMPROPE PICTURE? JOSE DE EGIPTO IS TURNING THE ROPE BUT YOU CAN BARELY SEE HIM. PLEASE CATCH US UP ON WHAT YOU HAVE BEEN DOING…AND HOW IS CANDY?

  12. Sandra (nee Monteiro) now in South Africa said:

    Yes I recognize everyone.

    Candy is fine she lives in Cape Town. She married Craig a New Zealander that she met whilst we attended SABC (Southen Africa Bible College) and they have 2 beautiful girls. Her husband is a missionary who works for International Bible School in Cape Town.

    I live on the opposite side of the country in Gauteng. Married a South African born Austrian and have 2 kids (a boy and a girl).

    I attend several small congregations in our area.

Leave a Reply

